The Hunger Games

The Hunger GamesTitle: The Hunger Games

Author: Suzanne Collins

Series: Hunger Games #1

Genre: Dystopia, Young-Adult, Romance

Released: October 31st 2008 (Scholastic Inc.)

Plot: Katniss is a 16-year-old girl living with her mother and younger sister in the poorest district of Panem, the remains of what used be the United States. Long ago the districts waged war on the Capitol and were defeated. As part of the surrender terms, each district agreed to send one boy and one girl to appear in an annual televised event called, “The Hunger Games.” The terrain, rules, and level of audience participation may change but one thing is constant: kill or be killed. When Kat’s sister is chosen by lottery, Kat steps up to go in her place.

Review: WOW.

This book has left me stunned for words. It sounds simplistic and sometimes even predictable from the blurb but is nothing of the kind. It’s intense and the tension is incredibly unbearable. I found myself flipping page after page just to get to the next and discover what would happen.
The relationship that developed between Peeta and Katniss is exciting and you’re really placed into the mind of Katniss and the feelings she’s experiencing.

A good book to me is one that you retain lasting emotions and makes an impact on you, even just for a short amount of time. For me, this book was more than just a good book, it was amazing! It has had a profound effect on me and dystopia novels really make you look at the world we live in. I generally refrain from reading dystopia novels because of the intensity they bring and the everlasting effect they leave, but I couldn’t avoid this book.

It may seem predictable in the sense that it’s from a first person perspective and Katniss should survive, but there are so many twists, turns and unpredictable routes that leave you on an edge at every step.
For the first part of the story, the pace is rather slow and sedate with the tension ever mounting. This is our chance to connect with the characters and establish a relationship. Suzanne Collins does this really well making the characters likeable and realistic so you can relate. The first person perspective aids this and when you witness everything through the eyes of Katniss, if leaves you incredibly torn.

Several chapters into the second part and this is when I could not put the book down. To put it down was a physical pain to not know what would happen next. This was the type of book I happily stayed up all night reading to reach the end, which it has been a while since a book has made me do that.
The final part makes you think the conclusion is nigh, but the tension is ever present. The story was so exciting it gave me a real adrenaline rush when the pace picked up and things began to get wild.
I had mixed expectations when going into reading this book, one friend had raved about the fantastic plot line and excitement, while another told me it was too predictable. I found my vision clouded with a slightly critical eye, but once I past the first part, I could no longer view the book harshly. For me, when my opinion was changed around from expecting the expected to find something unexpected, this left me speechless. I admit parts are as predicted and everything isn’t perfect, but the book is well rounded and a good piece of literature.

A review for this book is hard to put into words with the feelings it has left behind. A novel I would recommend to every person out there. Not only are the plot, characters and dynamics of the story thrilling, the book is well written and the evolution from todays society is clear to see!

I think the heroine is believable and I cannot imagine the horrors and everlasting effects this kind of trauma would leave. For me, I read lots of romance mixed with different genres, but it was oddly refreshing to see it take a back seat to the plot of the story and Katniss’s role in the games. This story contains real, deep political issues that Katniss as a persona and Peeta both challenge in simple and obvious ways and it’s highly effective.

This books raises the question of our own humanity and how far will we let reality stretch. Definitely a book not to assume the worst of before reading.

Rating:

More stalking available here:

Let me know what you think!

2 Comments

Filed under 2008 Publication, 5 Books, Dystopia, Paperback, Romance, Scholastic, Suzanne Collins, Young Adult

2 responses to “The Hunger Games

  1. “dystopia novels really make you look at the world we live in. I generally refrain from reading dystopia novels because of the intensity they bring and the everlasting effect they leave”

    Couldn’t agree with you more and I try to avoid it aswell.
    Great review

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      Thank you. I forgot all about having said that until you raised the point, but it still very much lives with me for the more “gritty” and dystopia novels that border or realism! 🙂

Thanks for dropping by, I really appreciate every single view. If you're a fellow blogger I'll return follows/comments. Unfortunately this is an award and tag free zone because of time constraints, but I appreciate the thought.

