Blackbirds

BlackbirdsTitle: Blackbirds

Author: Chuck Wendig

Series: Miriam Black #1

Genre: Adult, Fantasy, Thriller

Published: April 24th 2012 by Angry Robot

Plot: Miriam Black knows when you will die. She’s foreseen hundreds of car crashes, heart attacks, strokes, and suicides.
But when Miriam hitches a ride with Louis Darling and shakes his hand, she sees that in thirty days Louis will be murdered while he calls her name. Louis will die because he met her, and she will be the next victim.
No matter what she does she can’t save Louis. But if she wants to stay alive, she’ll have to try.

Review: After seeing some very positive reviews I was determined to like this book, for the first quarter of the book I hated the language, the violence, but I stuck with it. I’m so glad I did because once I finished this book I really enjoyed it.

Miriam is one of the strongest female leads I’ve seen in a while. She stuck to her character traits. She was sarcastic, full of bad habits (smoking, drinking, swearing), didn’t care about people (in general) and was the ‘lowlife’ of society and yet I still managed to love her! Her character came a full cycle around from start to end and I really saw the journey. The story is told through her, but it’s in a third person narrative which worked really well! This enabled Wendig to take us out into the tales of the other characters and develop the secondary characters.

Louis was not a character I really expected to swoon over. He latched onto me and didn’t let go! For me, he was the ultimate strong, caring man who was tormented by his past, but believed in the good of people. He was the ‘swoony’ male of the story for me and his character despite the horror, gore and action of the story brought an essence of romance that I really wasn’t expecting. It wasn’t overly in your face and soppy, it worked naturally into the flow of the book.

There were some things I strongly disliked about this book however:

  • The explicit language became too much for me at times in particular reference to certain words that I find offensive. However it was part of the character’s traits and I learned to get along with it.
  • The gore. Some of it made me shudder, but it was definitely part of the book.

They were a core essence to the book and despite how they turned me off the book at times, it didn’t take away from the thrilling journey the book could give you!

This book really has an effective mixture of fantasy and reality, because it has some brutal scenes that reflected the harsh reality and then we were thrown into dream spaces and visions that really heightened the fantasy side. It was an enjoyable mixture that worked really well.

I can defiantly say I’m excited for the future of Miriam Black and the series that Chuck Wendig will be taking her on. Nothing about this book is predictable and the ending was simplistic and effective. It undermined every great ‘plan’ I expected and worked fantastically well!

This book hasn’t been out long and I did receive it as an ARC from Netgalley but never managed to get around to reading it until after the date. However, I would urge you all to go flock and buy this now! If you enjoy a horror/fantasy story, this one is really for you! It’s got a kick-ass female lead all the way until the end.

*This was provided to be by the publisher via NetGalley*

Rating:

More stalking available here:

Let me know what you think!

Leave a comment

Filed under 2012 Publication, 4 Books, Adult, Angry-Robot, Chuck Wendig, E-book, Fantasy, Thriller

Thanks for dropping by, I really appreciate every single view. If you're a fellow blogger I'll return follows/comments. Unfortunately this is an award and tag free zone because of time constraints, but I appreciate the thought.

