Blaze of Memory

Blaze of Memory

Title: Blaze of Memory

Author: Nalini Singh

Series: Psy-Changeling #7

Genre: Paranormal-romance, Adult, Were-shifters

Published: November 3rd 2009 by Berkley

Plot:

Dev Santos finds a woman with amnesia-and all she can remember is that she’s dangerous. Stripped of her memories by a shadowy oppressor and programmed to kill, Katya’s only hope is Dev. But he could very well be her next target.

Review:

This book became a hard one to judge. Throughout reading I was adamant this book would be a three stars and the ending entirely changed everything! I was holding back the sobs, which I didn’t expect to be. It shows that despite Singh having written 7 books previous to this on in the Psy-Changeling series, she still manages to throw a spanner in the works!

Despite the tear-jerking moments I felt that the book was a little drab in places, it lacked some of the excitement that the last few books Singh has given us, held. It lacked the spark to take of and make me race through this book without thought. It wasn’t until around 200 pages in where I really started to turn the pages.

However it is probably what you expect to find in one of Singh’s paranormal-romance books, the sexy man, the woman who has to make her own journey, a game of cat and mouse and the capture. However we do get more than this because there are sub-levels we have yet to explore from previous novels, especially with the Forgotten which was exciting.

‘Blaze of Memory’ did seem to fall flat with the involvement of secondary characters because we didn’t have not nearly as many interludes as the previous novel into exploration of other characters. I felt this allowed us to focus more on the two characters, but it was probably what drew out the read for me.

The guy on the cover is not how I imagined our lead male, Dev, not at all! He’s not nearly as masculine and brooding, so he’s not my bar for the main character. In my head he was much better, so I didn’t allow the cover to influence me on this lead.

After reading ‘Branded by Fire’ I almost feel sorely let down, but in some ways I feel like Singh had a large mountain to climb in living up to her previous book. Nevertheless, don’t not read this book because it’s invaluable to the series.

I’d tell you to read this book and the whole Psy-Changeling series which is just fantastic, but don’t be prepared to be blown away by this particular novel. It’s just above average and leading to excitement for the future, but for me it’s more of a filler novel than anything.

My rating:

3.5 books

More stalking available here:

Let me know what you think!

Leave a comment

Filed under 2009 Publication, 3.5 Books, Adult, Berkley, Nalini Singh, Paperback, Paranormal Romance, Wereshifters

Thanks for dropping by, I really appreciate every single view. If you're a fellow blogger I'll return follows/comments. Unfortunately this is an award and tag free zone because of time constraints, but I appreciate the thought.

