The Immortal Rules

The Immortal Rules

Title: The Immortal Rules

Author: Julie Kagawa

Series: Blood of Eden #1

Genre: Young-Adult, Vampires, Dystopia

Published: April 24th 2012 by Harlequin Teen

Plot:

In a future world, Vampires reign. Humans are blood cattle. And one girl will search for the key to save humanity.
Allison Sekemoto survives in the Fringe, the outermost circle of a vampire city. By day, she and her crew scavenge for food. By night, any one of them could be eaten.
Some days, all that drives Allie is her hatred of them. The vampires who keep humans as blood cattle. Until the night Allie herself is attacked—and given the ultimate choice. Die… or become one of the monsters.
Faced with her own mortality, Allie becomes what she despises most. To survive, she must learn the rules of being immortal, including the most important: go long enough without human blood, and you will go mad.
Then Allie is forced to flee into the unknown, outside her city walls. There she joins a ragged band of humans who are seeking a legend—a possible cure to the disease that killed off most of humankind and created the rabids, the mindless creatures who threaten humans and vampires alike.
But it isn’t easy to pass for human. Especially not around Zeke, who might see past the monster inside her. And Allie soon must decide what—and who—is worth dying for.

Review:

This book has had an awful lot of hype surrounding the story, and I had a lot of expectations riding on this book after I’d heard about it. It DID NOT disappoint me in any way! It is an OH MY GOSH book.

I have to start with the vampires of this book. They are not the sparkly, insta-love, friendly vampires. They have fangs, they are all grit and raw action and they have no morals. I adore them! Humans are literally blood cattle and nothing changes that view, not even our main girl becomes all preaching of humans being the greater population. They are the food and they stay that way! The vampires stick to their nature and for that alone this story could rock into the five stars! These vampires really are REAL vampires. You can’t get anymore gritty than these.

Then we have the rabids, they remind me of zombies and are similar in a way. These are epitome monsters that don’t hold back. If you watch ‘The Walking Dead’ they remind me of those zombies because these rabids are not something with a thought, they are following a desire for blood and they will kill.

Allie, she was nice, maybe a little annoying for the first part of the story and then she rocketed into ‘wowdom’. She became a realistic, gritty character who faced hardship, had real emotions and I just all around fell behind her and supported her. Kagawa has made a realistic teenage protagonist that isn’t dumbed down. She is an independent thinker who is kick ass enough as her own female lead without a guy to lean on.

Zeke. He was sweet, a little naive, but brave and kind. You couldn’t help but feel he was cute and get a little enamoured with him, but he didn’t have enough substance for me. We had a real connection to him and his love built for Allie and was entirely realistic. It was heart-breaking and emotional to read, but utterly realistic! Zeke overall was an easy character to like and he was everything a leading male should be, but ultimately I fell for Kanin in the first few chapters of the story. He was intelligent, witty, tormented and he had this aura that screamed masculinity.

Kagawa doesn’t hold back on the gore and brutality of a dystopia world that I think some dystopia authors can lack and I think this is part of the excitement of her story because it makes it RAW and powerful!

This book is descriptive without it taking away from the fast pace of the plot. There is plenty of action to keep your entertained and angst is certainly in buckets full. But it’s not cheesy. I found myself near tears at certain points, but I am rather emotional. Not only is it descriptive, but it doesn’t fall into simplifying language, it really attempts to stretch one as a reader, which I think is vital for young readers of today.

Without a doubt I can say, this is a refreshing addition to the young-adult genre. This is definitely the type of book young people should be reading. It’s exciting enough to keep them interested and of a great quality that makes it one of the best books I’ve read in a while. To me, this holds in the ranks of Harry Potter and I only hope the story can continue to be so fantastic in the rest of the series to come!

It’s fantastic and I cannot help but gush!

My Rating:

5 books

More stalking available here:

Let me know what you think!

7 Comments

Filed under 2012 Publication, 5 Books, Dystopia, Harlequin Teen, Julie Kagawa, Paperback, Romance, Vampires, Young Adult

7 responses to “The Immortal Rules

  1. mollyspring

    I’m very excited for this book!

  2. Great review Olivia! So glad you enjoyed this one. Can’t wait to see what happens next. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday (5) |

  4. Great review! I just received book 2, and I haven’t really thought of reading the series yet, but your review has convinced me I need to read it soon! 🙂

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      Ooooh, I’m so glad I could do that because I loved the series and I really want to read book 2. I’m jealous! 🙂

Thanks for dropping by, I really appreciate every single view. If you're a fellow blogger I'll return follows/comments. Unfortunately this is an award and tag free zone because of time constraints, but I appreciate the thought.

