Bonds of Justice

Bonds of Justice

Title: Bonds of Justice

Author: Nalini Singh

Series: Psy-Changeling #8

Genre: Paranormal-Romance, Futuristic, Adult, Were-shifters

Published: July 6th 2010 by Berkley

Plot:

Max Shannon is a good cop, one of the best in New York Enforcement. Born with a natural shield that protects him against Psy mental invasions, he knows he has little chance of advancement within the Psy- dominated power structure. The last case he expects to be assigned to is that of a murderer targeting a Psy Councilor’s closest advisors. And the last woman he expects to compel him in the most sensual of ways is a Psy on the verge of catastrophic mental fracture.

Review:

WHAT HAS SHE DONE?!

As of late, the Psy-Changeling series has fast become one of my favourite paranormal-romance series and I’m happy to inform you I still am. However I think this book lacked something for me! It really did not fill up to Singh standards. I’m also missing the Changeling input that we had a distinct feel of in the first 6 books.

My problem with this book was I didn’t connect with the characters. I felt like I was drifting through and I never really understood the connection between the two. I could see the connection and why it was there, but I could fathom the actual reasoning of it. It continued to bewilder me even until the end.

Max was a great male lead, but I felt like he was too closed off and always focused on protecting Sophia. I never particularly loved him when we first met him and I think only his intelligence and ability to work as a good cop was what made me like him.

Sophia I just didn’t understand in concept of the Psy. She was meant to be unfeeling and silent even with her conditioning breaking, she seemed totally normal most of the time except for when she was witnessing the break down of her shields. Also she had this very bizarre problem with Vaughn and this was never explained.

This book is well written, interesting with lots of new leads and excitement. Don’t doubt that the book is worth a read. The general consensus seems to be that most people enjoyed this book. Although there are a few that seem to orientate themselves to my opinion that they lacked the connection to the characters in this instalment.

I believe there is a tendency to rate a book in a series you love highly because you can’t bear to see the series shamed, but ultimately this book dropped in my expectations. I was quite frankly bored of the relationship between Max and Sophia. It didn’t hold enough passion to engage me, and I’m hoping that Singh will be able to redeem herself.

The title personally drew me. “Bonds of Justice” it sounds so exciting and even kinky, but for me this book failed to deliver on both fronts. For me, I only found this excitement in the last 50 pages of the book and when I read 290 pages without that, it can become quite dry.

Overall it was a good addition to the series, but it lacked the sparkle of some of Singh’s previous works.I will definitely be continuing to read the series and Singh still has my faith.

My Rating:

3 booksMore stalking available here:

  • Goodreads
  • Author’s Website

Let me know what you think!

Leave a comment

Filed under 2010 Publication, 3 Books, Adult, Berkley, Futuristic, Nalini Singh, Paperback, Paranormal Romance, Wereshifters

Thanks for dropping by, I really appreciate every single view. If you're a fellow blogger I'll return follows/comments. Unfortunately this is an award and tag free zone because of time constraints, but I appreciate the thought.

