Author Interview: Catherine Lanigan

Catherine Lanigan

About the Author:

Catherine Lanigan is the bestselling author of over thirty published titles, including the novelizations of Romancing the Stone and The Jewel of the Nile, as well as over a half dozen anthologies, including Chicken Soup for the Soul: Living your Dream, Chicken Soup for the Writer’s Soul, Chocolatefor a Woman’s Heart, and Chocolate for a Woman’s Spirit.

Ms. Lanigan’s novels are sold globally and have been translated into over a dozen languages. Several of her titles have been chosen for The Literary Guild and Doubleday Book Clubs. Her novel The Christmas Star won the Gold Medal Award Top Pick from Romantic Times Magazine and has also won the Book of the Year Romance Gold Award from ForeWord Magazine as well as Book of the Year Romance from “Reader’s Preference.”

Ms. Lanigan is a frequent speaker at literary functions and book conventions and conducts hands-on writing workshops and seminars. As a cancer survivor, she is invited to speak on raising awareness for early detection and inspires audiences with her real stories of angelic intervention from her Angel Watch series. She has been on numerous radio programs including “Coast to Coast” and on television interview and talk show programs such as “Montel.”

Author Interview:

Nerdy: What made you want to become a writer?

Catherine:  I have wanted to be a writer all my life. Ever since I was the age of six when I began to read “Brenda Starr” comic strips, I dreamed of being a journalist, though I didn’t really think I could write a book. I read a great deal as a child and my teachers encouraged me to write. However, in my freshman year at college, my creative writing professor told me that I had no talent at all and to give up my dream. He told me I would never earn a living as a writer and that I should change my major. I was devastated and believed his assessment for over fourteen years, when I finally gave it a real try and now, I have nearly 40 published books under my belt.

Nerdy: What gave you the idea for the story THE GOLDEN FLUTE?

Catherine: Lilli and Zane’s adventures as kids is based on my original romantic adventure novel about them, “At Long Last Love”. While I was writing that book, I envisioned a series of adventures and treasure hunts with them when there were not yet in their teens.

Nerdy: Did the story require a lot of research on the historical aspects or was it more imagination on your part?

Catherine: I have always heavily researched my books, as a history major, it’s my favorite part of writing. I spent years and am still researching legends and history for more adventures for Lilli and Zane.

Nerdy: Did you set out for the budding romance between Lilli and Zane when you first planned for the story?

Catherine: Yes. Absolutely. Though their romance will always be a soft undercurrent in the story, they are BEST friends. In the future, they will come to each other’s rescue time and again. They cannot be separated.

Nerdy: Do you have more plans for Lilli and Zane?

Catherine: I have over a dozen story ideas for the trio. I want to take them to famous and not-so-famous spots on earth to uncover ancient legends and history.

Nerdy: What was your favorite part of writing “The Golden Flute”?

Catherine: The entire book! But probably coming up with Teddy’s character.

Nerdy: Do you have a favorite quote from the book?

Catherine: “I believe you, Teddy.” Which was said by the little red haired girl to Teddy at the end of the book. I like it because it is the summation/validation of all they have gone through and Teddy just wants someone to value him.

Nerdy: Is there a particular book you’ve read that’s inspired you?

Catherine: Thor Heyerdahl’s “Kon Tiki”

Nerdy: What would be the one piece of advice you’d give to aspiring authors.

Catherine: Read every kind of book you can imagine. Never stop. And develop a very tough skin in order to deal with all the rejection you will get from the rest of the world.

*

Catherine Lanigan is recently venturing into YA books with the publication of The Golden Flute: Adventures of Lilli and Zane.

My personal review is available here.

Check out Catherine Lanigan’s personal website here.

Due to misplaced emails this author interview is being brought to you a week later than planned. Sorry for the inconvenience.

Leave a comment

Filed under Author Interviews

Thanks for dropping by, I really appreciate every single view. If you're a fellow blogger I'll return follows/comments. Unfortunately this is an award and tag free zone because of time constraints, but I appreciate the thought.

