Library Loot: June 13 to 19

Library LootLibrary Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by Claire from The Captive Reader and Marg from The Adventures of an Intrepid Reader that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library. If you’d like to participate, just write up your post-feel free to steal the button-and link it using the Mr. Linky any time during the week. And of course check out what other participants are getting from their libraries!

 

 

I’ve only got three books this week from my library, but I do have a stack of five more upstairs to read, so I’m limiting myself. Posting these might actually encourage me to read the books too because sometimes I never get around to reading the odd one (but don’t tell, haha.)

1. Portrait in Death by J.D. Robb (In Death #16)

Portrait in Death

Plot: After a tip from a reporter, Eve Dallas finds the body of a young woman in a Delancey street dumpster. Just hours before, the news station had mysteriously received a portfolio of professional portraits of the woman. The photos seemed to be nothing out of the ordinary for any pretty young woman starting a modeling career. Except that she wasn’t a model. And that these photos were taken after she had been murdered. Now Dallas is on the trail of a killer who’s a perfectionist and an artist. He carefully observes and records his victim’s every move. And he has a mission: to own every beautiful young woman’s innocence, to capture her youth and vitality—in one fateful shot…

I’ve fallen in love with the “In Death” series and I’m just slowly making my way through them, so I’m onto number 16. So it’s just the next one chronologically to read!

2. Sebastian by Anne Bishop (Ephemera)

Sebastian

Plot: Long ago, Ephemera was split into a dizzying number of magical lands-connected only by bridges that may take you where you truly belong, rather than where you had intended to go. In one such land, where night reigns and demons dwell, the half-incubus Sebastian revels in dark delights. But in dreams she calls to him: a woman who wants only to be safe and loved-a woman he hungers for while knowing he may destroy her.And an even more devastating destiny awaits him, for an ancient evil is stirring-and Sebastian’s realm may be the first to fall.

My librarian saw that nothing was really catching my eye today, so she decided to recommend this to me as one of her favourite paranormal-romance books, so we’ll see how this goes.

3. Killing Me Softly by Nicci French

Killing Me Softly

Plot: Alice Loudon has a devoted boyfriend and a challenging job as a research scientist. Then one morning, on her way to work, she exchanges a lingering look with a devastatingly attractive man. As a lover, Adam Tallis is more passionate than Alice’s wildest imaginings. Soon, there isn’t anything or anyone she wouldn’t give up to stay by his side.

I was just drifting around my library (sadly it’s rather small) and I saw this sticking out, picked it up and it sounded quite good. Hopefully it will live up to some thrilling expectations. I haven’t really looked at reviews, so I’ll just hope it’s good!

6 Comments

Filed under Library Loot

6 responses to “Library Loot: June 13 to 19

  1. Love the In Death series! Although I’ve only just finished #7. Still plenty ahead to look forward to! 🙂

  2. Ooh interesting picks – I’ve been meaning to read something by Robb forever!

    • nerdybookreviews

      She’s one of my favourite authors in the context of the “In Death” series. Although I’ve tried some of Robert’s straight up romance and I couldn’t get along with the story. However, I’ve heard some of her books with plots other than romance are good. Thank you, I hope they turn out to be interesting!

  3. Cat

    I generally like Nicci French’s books – hope you will too. Happy reading!

Thanks for dropping by, I really appreciate every single view. If you're a fellow blogger I'll return follows/comments. Unfortunately this is an award and tag free zone because of time constraints, but I appreciate the thought.

