Frankenstein

Frankenstein

Title: Frankenstein

Author: Mary Shelley

Genre: Gothic, Classic, Horror, Literature

Publication: 1st published 1818

Plot:

Mary Shelley began writing Frankenstein when she was only eighteen. At once a Gothic thriller, a passionate romance, and a cautionary tale about the dangers of science, Frankenstein tells the story of committed science student Victor Frankenstein. Obsessed with discovering the cause of generation and life and bestowing animation upon lifeless matter, Frankenstein assembles a human being from stolen body parts but; upon bringing it to life, he recoils in horror at the creature’s hideousness. Tormented by isolation and loneliness, the once-innocent creature turns to evil and unleashes a campaign of murderous revenge against his creator, Frankenstein.

Review:

Classics are generally not my cup of tea, but I have to say, I devoured this in 3 readings over two days. It would have been less, but I just haven’t had the time. However, I found Frankenstein to be an absolute engaging, delight to read. I have heard people say they found it boring and I can understand the perspective, although, I myself found the book very entertaining and morally important.

At the base of Frankenstein for its moral tone, I thought first appearances and judging somebody on how they appear to be the most important and profound to today’s society. Since although trifling with scientific experiments and playing God, are still current with genetic variation and such current problems, but when we look at stereotypes and the view of the world, I really thought Frankenstein touched at the heart of this issue. My sympathies ended up lying with the monster, who as I child I thought was Frankenstein, but I have now found out, that is in fact the scientist. The monster was so full of despondency and a craving for companionship that it tore my heart out. I could relate to the loneliness and I felt that Shelley touched on an issue that in today’s society where people are pushed out and it really hit me hard.

The writing is incredible! I found myself looking in the dictionary for certain words because I didn’t understand them and I loved this aspect. I think with age I’ve come to appreciate Classics more because of the writing ability and I enjoyed the point of having to search for the couple of words I hadn’t seen before. I found that we got good descriptive detail that created a vivid description in my head.

I thought the novel was of a decent length to keep me entertained and it was pacey because we were always witnessing something new and following a new path. At moments I will admit I found myself a tad confused, but I easily picked the story line back up. At just around 200 pages, this is a ‘short’ book for me and I think the perfect length to stay enjoyable. I didn’t find that the descriptions fell into being flowery or overlong, and that’s refreshing after recently reading a very long flowery narrated novel.

In addition to this, I was feeling like I didn’t want to read for a few days before I picked up this novel and it’s brought me back into being motivated to read. So I believe it was all about finding the novel to suit the mood and this certainly gauged my attention from the very first moment.

Victor Frankenstein I can say I didn’t like, he ignored his family, was self obsessed with his work and I felt like he just was too whiny for me. However because I felt like the way in which the story was written that the events were a recap from Walton, through Frankenstein that we didn’t witness too much of this for it to drag. I liked the set up of the three volumes and the letters to start and conclude the story that gave us an all around setting position from one place. It worked well and to say Shelley was at the tender age of 19, she has certainly got a fabulous novel.

Classics have never been my favourite genre, but after my venture with ‘The Picture of Dorian Grey’ at the start of the year and ‘Frankenstein’ as my first two proper classics I’ve read, I can safely say I will continue to read more of them.

I’ve heard someone say “this story can be summed up in two pages” and for me, I felt like ever part was equally important. At the end of this, I’m happy to say I fell deeply in love with Frankenstein and that it’s certainly a work of wonder for a classic. Pick it up and read because you never know what you may find.

My Rating:

5 books

More stalking available here:

Let me know what you think!

3 Comments

Filed under 1001 Books, 1818 Publication, 5 Books, Classic, Collins Classics, Gothic, Horror, Literature, Mary Shelley, Paperback

3 responses to “Frankenstein

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday (5) |

  2. I said almost identical words about Victor too! I found him too infuriating to fully enjoy the book which was a shame. Fantastic blog by the way!

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      Thank you! 🙂 He is a little melodramatic as a character and studying it for English makes him grate on your nerves!

Thanks for dropping by, I really appreciate every single view. If you're a fellow blogger I'll return follows/comments. Unfortunately this is an award and tag free zone because of time constraints, but I appreciate the thought.

