Liebster Blog Award 2012!

Liebster Award

Personally I just blog away in my own little world and I never expect much back, so when Keertena tagged me in this after getting nominated I was very surprised and a little bit surprised. My blog is far from amazing, but all the same I’m very grateful.

What is the Liebster Blog Award you may ask? Well, the Liebster Blog Award is an award given to bloggers who currently have under 200 followers. The award winners are to (a) share eleven facts about themselves (b) answer eleven questions asked by the blogger who tagged them (c) come up with their own set of eleven questions to ask bloggers and (d) tag eleven bloggers who they think are worthy of this award.

11 Facts about Me.

1. I have a die hard crush on Ian Somerhalder, Chris Hemsworth, Eminem and Robert Pattinson.

2. I’m a HUGE Harry Potter fan.

3. When the Harry Potter films first came out I had a HUGE crush on Daniel Radcliffe and used to carry a picture card of him everywhere.

4. I have a PG tips monkey (teddy bear) that I’ve had since I was three who’s had her arm bandaged, head sewn on, but she still sits on my bed and if I’m feeling sad I cuddle her close when I sleep still.

5. History is my favourite all time subject and I know quite a few random facts. I’d love to have met Joan of Arc and asked her about her visions and Elizabeth the 1st of England who I believe is one of England’s greatest monarchs (all three of the greatest were women: Queen Victoria, Elizabeth 1st & 2nd).

6. I have a little bit of a book buying addiction and never seem to read the books I own, but those from the library or borrow them from friends.

7. My favourite genre to read is probably paranormal-romance and my friends tease me relentlessly about this.

8. I’d love to be Eve Dallas from the “In Death” series by J.D. Robb if I could be any fictional character because she has a kick-ass personality, a loving husband, a huge house and she’s just all around awesome.

9. Chocolate is my favourite food and I’d eat it all day if I could.

10. My favourite TV programmes have to be Merlin, Vampire Diaries, Doctor Who and Outnumbered.

11. My aim in life is to visit every continent by the time I die, and a large amount of the world. So far I have visited: America, Germany, France, Portugal, Amsterdam, Scotland, Italy, Turkey, Cyprus, Isle of Wight, Bulgaria, Minorca and Majorca.

11 Questions and Answers.

1. If you could bring one book character to life, who would it be and why?

That’s a really hard one. I’d probably say Hermione Granger from Harry Potter because I’d want to be her best friend. haha. I dressed up as her on World Book Day as a child, so she’s always been like my ‘idol’ from the book world, so getting to meet her would certainly be pretty awesome. Failing that, I’d pick one of the drool worthy males from one of the many paranormal romance books I’ve read, probably Bones from Jeaniene Frost’s ‘Night Huntress’ series. He’s so hot and protective, it’s very appealing. Although I’m sure he’d be entirely faithful to Cat, so it wouldn’t really be any fun. *Sigh*

2. If you could pick one book to live in, what would it be and why?

Harry Potter without a shadow of a doubt. I’d love to go to Hogwarts and everybody seems happy and friendly so hopefully there would be no trouble. I’d love to be in Gryffindor or Ravenclaw. I just love the whole wizarding world and the magical elements that Rowling created and Harry Potter is a vital part of my childhood that will never change so I don’t think I’ll ever grow out of my love for it.

3. What is your favourite classic novel and what makes it your favourite classic?

I don’t really read classic novels as such… I’ve only just started reading them as of this year and I’ve read two (unless you’d like to count Hamlet by Shakespeare), but ‘Frankenstein’ and ‘The Picture of Dorian Gray’, I loved them both, but I’d have to say ‘Frankenstein’ really stood out to me because it really challenged some of societies ideas for me. I thought ‘Frankenstein’ was quite profound for the 19 year old Mary Shelly to write and I really enjoyed reading the book. It was a pleasant surprise and I devoured it in 2 days which is quite the record for me. I think the Gothic novels are certainly something I will continue to read as Classics.

4. What is your favourite book-to-movie adaptation?

I don’t think I have one because in general I like the books much more than I do the films. I always find something to pick at in the film that’s in the book.

5. Do you usually read the book first or see the movie?

I always insist on reading a book before a film and get really mardy when I’m forced into watching the film first because somebody wants to see it. Like ‘My Sister’s Keeper’, ‘The Lovely Bones’, ‘The Time Traveller’s Wife’ and the ‘Percy Jackson’ series I have yet to read after watching the films. It lowers my motivation to read them. So wherever possible I like to read the book first.

6. What was the motivational factor that pushed you to blog?

I felt like I could share my reviews with more than just those on Goodreads and it might be a cool thing to do. I thought blogging looked rather interesting and I never realised how much hard work it actually is. However I do enjoy it immensely!

7. Do you listen to music while you read? If so, what kind of music?

Generally I do listen to music, but there is nothing specific. Sometimes I even tune the music out if I become really immersed in a book, it just aids me in really getting into the world of the book. The music I listen to is whatever I have on my ipod which is mainly rock, indie, alternative music with a little bit of pop music. Some of my favourite bands are Neon Trees, Paramore, You Me At Six, Fall Out Boy, Bowling For Soup, Maroon 5, 30 Seconds to Mars, Razorlight, Coldplay, Framing Hanley, Kids in Glass Houses, Death Cab for Cutie, All-American Rejects and All Time Low to name a few. Music is a very big part of my life along with reading.

8. If you like an author do you read all of his/her books? Why or why not?

It really depends on the author and the type of books they write. Generally I like an author and read a series of their books or a couple of stand alones, but I’ll probably never read everything. With the likes of J.K. Rowling I intend to read her new book, but I only read the Harry Potter series and ‘The Tales of the Beedle and the Bard’ and not all the extras that came with the Harry Potter books because I prefer straight novels. Also with J.D. Robb I don’t read any of her work under Nora Roberts because she writes mainly straight romance, and I don’t really like that. Generally I judge a book on the book rather than the author.

9. Do you a judge a book based primarily on its cover, synopsis, author, or reviews before picking it up?

Mostly I’ve never heard about the reviews before I pick up a book, so usually the cover is something that attracts me and whereabouts the book is in a book store for genre. If it was in the autobiography section I’d probably never see it because I don’t go over there. When I see a book cover I like I generally buy the book after skim reading the synopsis to see if I’ll like the book. However, I have to admit the cover tends to be the seller. Nevertheless if I’ve read the author before or really like a certain author, I’m more likely to pick up a book by them because I like them and that excites me too.

10. What qualities do you look for in a character for them to become one of your favourites?

They have to be strong or overcome a hurdle to strengthen themselves. I don’t like reading about doormats and I like to see intelligent characters. Generally a sense of humour is good, but not necessary for me to like the character. I think to see solid foundations and somebody who really believes in what they’re doing so I can follow along with them!

11. In case of a zombie apocalypse or the end of the world, what book would you take with you if you could?

Can I only take one? That would be my immediate reply. I’d want to box up half my book collections I’m sure and if it’s only one, does that count as a series? I’d probably have to take ‘Lover Eternal’ by J.R. Ward because I got me some vampires, paranormal-romance and a really hot, drool worthy main character. Rhage is my favourite character of the Black Dagger Brotherhood series.

11 Questions to Bloggers.

1. Does a book have to have a happy ending for you to like it?

2. Do you use your local library? If no, why not?

3. What got you into blogging?

4. If you could only ever read one book again, what would it be?

5. Do you find that you associate music and books or that you separate the two as entirely different entities?

6. How do you feel when you hear your favourite book is getting turned into a film?

7. What’s your favourite genre of books? Why?

8. You’ve been told you’re moving to an alternate universe and there is the possibility to take one character from a book with you. Who would it be and why?

9. How do you treat your books? Are you protective or do you not care?

10. What got you into reading? And how long have you been reading?

11. Is there a book you really want to read and you haven’t read it yet?

11 Tagged Bloggers.

1. Reading Between Classes

2. The Little Death

3. Domus Libri

4. The Captive Reader

5. The Book Addict’s Guide

6. Genius Book Reviews

7. The Streetlight Reader

8. A Little Blog of Books and Other Stuff

9. Books that Bleed

10. Realms of an Open Mind

11. Melanie’s Book Addiction

11 Comments

Filed under Blog Awards

11 responses to “Liebster Blog Award 2012!

  1. Thank you so much for the tag! I’m honored 🙂

  2. Lisbeth Avery

    Thank you so much for the tag! 😀

  3. Thank you so much for the award and for the compliments. It means a lot <3. Congrats to you to for everything you are doing over here : D

    • nerdybookreviews

      You’ve worked so hard, you deserve it all! You’re welcome. Thank you too. I’m surprised you haven’t received dozens of awards by now, you’re fabulous! haha.

  4. Pingback: Liebster Blog Award 2012 « Domus Libri

  5. Thanks for the tag!! Going to work on answering and making some new questions 🙂

  6. Pingback: Liebster Award! « Books That Bleed

  7. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday (3) |

Thanks for dropping by, I really appreciate every single view. If you're a fellow blogger I'll return follows/comments. Unfortunately this is an award and tag free zone because of time constraints, but I appreciate the thought.

