Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone

Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone

Title: Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone

Author: J.K. Rowling

Series: Harry Potter #1

Genre: Fantasy, Young-Adult

Publication: 1997 by Bloomsbury Publishing

Plot:

Harry Potter thinks he is an ordinary boy. He lives with his Uncle Vernon, Aunt Petunia and cousin Dudley, who make him sleep in a cupboard under the stairs. Then Harry starts receiving mysterious letters and his life is changed for ever. He is whisked away by a beetle-eyed giant of a man and enrolled in Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. The reason: Harry Potter is a wizard!

Review:

What can I say? I have adored this series since I first picked up the books about the age of 6 or 7. I was a very advanced reader and I remember hearing all the rave about these books. To be truthful, the first time I read this book it took me over a year to read it because I have lost it, but then when I actually sat down to read it, I was stunned that I’d allowed myself to lose it. From the first moment I started reading it I fell in love and became immersed in the world of Hogwarts. After re-reading again recently with a group of friends I can say the magic is still there. This book has to be one of the best additions to the young-adult and children’s genre of the 21st century and I can only say that Rowling really creates a magical world! This should definitely be what our literature is remembered for and if Harry Potter doesn’t become a classic, I don’t know what should!

I think re-reading the books brings a very new experience to the books. You certainly see things from a new angle and witness things that make you smile. I think you can still appreciate the books no matter your age and whether it’s for the first time or the hundreth, the magic is forever there.

This book for me has everything! We get the humour and quirky aspects that Rowling’s characters bring and the dynamics of their relationships bring a smile to your face. Then we get all the adventure and magic of their journey and it becomes highly exciting. There is not one point where the story drops to be dismal or disappointing. We witness a real journey for these characters and their friendship is highly endearing to watch. I truly cannot help but fall in love with the story and the characters.

The characters? We get such wonderful characters. Harry Potter, Hermione Granger, Ron Weasley are our three protagonists with Harry at the centre of all our attention. We witness how very different they are, but this draws them together as friends and their friendship becomes one of very firm grounds. It has to be my favourite part of the series that it stretches across all of the books and never fails. Then we have the likes of Snape, Dumbledore, Hagrid, even the Dursleys and Malfoy. The characters have real sustenance and honestly at times Rowling makes me almost forget these characters are not real people.

How can we not love these three? For me, I think they’re pretty perfect for the characters.

One point of contention I do have is the name. It is and will always be ‘Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone’ never  will it be ‘Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone’ which is America’s attempt to Americanise Harry Potter. I am very proud of Harry Potter for its British heritage and it certainly thrills me that we have the setting for it in England. Another reason why I cannot help but love Harry Potter because of its origins. It truly makes me appreciate the story more.

We get a fantastic plot along the way and if you enjoy fantasy and magic then this book is certainly for you. For anybody to say they dislike these books it’s surely a crime. However I’d suggest getting all the books to read—even if the last ones do get quite hefty—before you start reading because you’ll not one to stop reading once you start! Nevertheless do not allow that to deter you because they are engaging the whole way through!

These books to me are probably my most cherished possession and I look after them dearly. I often find the Harry Potter series to be a place of comfort for me to go and reside in. If I’ve had a bad day, I usually stick on the films, but reading the books brings so much more pleasure and thrill to me.

Harry Potter takes you through a descriptive tale that stretches your imagination while you follow a tale of friendship, love and good versus evil. It’ll never leave a dull moment and if you’ve watched the films, you’ve only more to gain from reading the books.

My Rating:

5 books

More stalking available here:

Let me know what you think!

4 Comments

Filed under 1997 Publication, 5 Books, Bloomsbury, Fantasy, J.K. Rowling, Paperback, Young Adult

4 responses to “Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone

  1. I have to admit, it would be kind of strange to have Harry Potter in America. But yes I love the British Setting 🙂 Of course I love your review for it and that you’re re-reading the books again! The books are definitely my cherished possessions as well. Last year in one of my staff meetings we were asked if our house was on fire what are three things that you would grab and my answers were: My Laptop, My Purse and my Harry Potter Books lol.

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday (3) |

  3. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday (5) |

Thanks for dropping by, I really appreciate every single view. If you're a fellow blogger I'll return follows/comments. Unfortunately this is an award and tag free zone because of time constraints, but I appreciate the thought.

