Library Loot: June 27th–July 3rd

Library LootLibrary Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by Claire from The Captive Reader and Marg from The Adventures of an Intrepid Reader that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library. If you’d like to participate, just write up your post-feel free to steal the button-and link it using the Mr. Linky any time during the week. And of course check out what other participants are getting from their libraries!

I have an awful lot to read from the library at the moment, so I haven’t really picked up anything new because I want to get through the books I have to read. Otherwise I may fall into Library Overwhelm Mode because of lots of books I have to read. I’m sure that wouldn’t be fun and it would probably put me in a reading funk. I have NINE, yes NINE other books to read from the library, so I’m falling behind a little. Another reason why I am not currently accepting review requests.

However, I do have one book from the library that I ordered months and months ago to take part in a Group Read, but it never came until now, so I’ll be reading it still, at some point.

1. Poison Study by Maria V. Snyder (Study #1)

Poison Study

Plot?  

Choose: A quick death…Or slow poison…
About to be executed for murder, Yelena is offered an extraordinary reprieve. She’ll eat the best meals, have rooms in the palace—and risk assassination by anyone trying to kill the Commander of Ixia.
And so Yelena chooses to become a food taster. But the chief of security, leaving nothing to chance, deliberately feeds her Butterfly’s Dust—and only by appearing for her daily antidote will she delay an agonizing death from the poison.
As Yelena tries to escape her new dilemma, disasters keep mounting. Rebels plot to seize Ixia and Yelena develops magical powers she can’t control. Her life is threatened again and choices must be made. But this time the outcomes aren’t so clear…

Why?

I’ve heard quite a lot of good and bad about this book and it looked like the type of book I’d really like to read, so when it came up as a Group read I was really excited to read it. However after the delay it means I’ll be reading it on my own, but I don’t mind. I still get to read it. Hopefully it will be an enjoyable read and look out for my review soon!

2 Comments

Filed under Library Loot

2 responses to “Library Loot: June 27th–July 3rd

  1. This is one of those books that I need to make time to get from the library and read.

    • nerdybookreviews

      Ahhhh, I have lots of those, but this one was only pushed up the list when it became part of a group read. Shame my library ordered it from the prison service which take forever to deliever books because of all their checks.

Thanks for dropping by, I really appreciate every single view. If you're a fellow blogger I'll return follows/comments. Unfortunately this is an award and tag free zone because of time constraints, but I appreciate the thought.

