Talent on Tuesday (5)

Talent on Tuesday posterA weekly book meme hosted by Nerdy Book Reviews as a chance to express your opinion on authors you think have talent. Share a quote/cover/excerpt whatever you like to let us know about great authors out there. It can be something you’re reading or an author you love, but let us know why you think they have talent! Please link back to Nerdy Book Reviews, and if you don’t have a blog, feel free to participate in the comments section.

This week I’ll be taking at a book I’m currently reading which looks to have great premise. Graceling by Kriston Cashore.

GracelingIn a world where people born with an exceptional skill, known as a Grace, are both feared and exploited, Katsa carries the burden of a skill even she despises: the Grace of killing.
Feared by the court and shunned by those her own age, the darkness of her Grace casts a heavy shadow over Katsa’s life. Yet she remains defiant: when the King of Lienid’s father is kidnapped she investigates, and stumbles across a mystery. Who would want to kidnap the old man, and why? And who was the extraordinary Graced man whose fighting abilities rivalled her own?
The only thing Katsa is sure of is that she no longer wants to kill. The intrigue around this kidnapping offers her a way out – but little does she realise, when she takes it, that something insidious and dark lurks behind the mystery. Something spreading from the shadowy figure of a one-eyed king…

Quotation:

“This girl she would hurt; this girl she would torture if it would stop her from taking Katsa’s thoughts.”

I’ve heard lots of good things about the book and I’ve just begun reading. It’s really good so far and I hope that it will only get better. It’s been said by Publishers Weekly “Cahsore will slake the thirst of Twilight fans” and there is lots of other great hype surrounding this book.

It’s also part of getting down books of my tbr list, so hopefully the sixth months or so I’ve been waiting to read this book will be ones where I should have picked it up sooner!

What do you think has talent? Post your links in the comments!

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Talent on Tuesday (5)

  1. I. Love. This. Book. Seriously, Kristin Cashore is one of my favorite authors of ALL TIME. In fact, she could rival J.K. Rowling – that’s how much I admire and respect her. I loved Graceling and I thought Fire was even better! I can’t wait till you finally read this Olivia – I know you’ll love it! 😀

    ~Keertana
    Ivy Book Bindings

    • nerdybookreviews

      I’ve just started reading it and I am enjoying it an awful lot. I’m so happy to hear that you LOVED this, because I do value your opinion. WOW! That’s quite immense… I don’t own Fire, but I may be investing in it, upon finishing Graceling. 😀

  2. I think I need to find out what kind of awesomesauce is inside this book and join other readers, and soon — just put in a library request for it!

    • nerdybookreviews

      I think you do! I hope you enjoy it as much as I am. This reminds me that I need to actually pick it up and read it! haha.

      • My request went through fairly quickly — it’s already in transit! If I don’t get around to picking it up by the end of the week, I should have it next week! Looking forward to reading this one (:

        • nerdybookreviews

          Ahh that’s good to hear. I have literally tonnes of library books I need to read, so I can’t get anything more out really, otherwise I’ll never get through. You library sounds sufficiently organised too, unlike my own! It’s getting very good, I’ve just started reading again and I’m adoring it! 🙂

        • Me too — I haven’t counted yet, but I won’t be surprised to find if I have near 20 library books out. (I just picked up more books yesterday, ahh.) I try to read through my library stack until I have a few left, but it never works out!

        • nerdybookreviews

          20?! Wow. I have about 11 I think with two of those read. No, I generally do get there because I just abandon a couple and give up, but I’m trying to stop doing that. Hopefully I’ll get through about 5 this month! 🙂

Thanks for dropping by, I really appreciate every single view. If you're a fellow blogger I'll return follows/comments. Unfortunately this is an award and tag free zone because of time constraints, but I appreciate the thought.

