Top Ten Tuesday (1)

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an weekly meme created and hosted at The Broke and the Bookish.

So I decided to sign up for Top Ten Tuesday (I felt like I was missing out—and it always looks so pretty!).  I’m quite excited for this weeks Top Ten because I think I’ll actually be able to do it! (Some of the other Top Ten lists I’ve seen have left me thinking WHAT?!) haha.

Without further ado, I’ll move onto my Top Ten Most Vivid Worlds/Settings In Books!

Harry Potter Books

1. Harry Potter. How can this not be my number one?! J.K. Rowling depicts a magical world right beneath the noses of us “muggles” and intertwines it with realistic settings making it descriptive and entertaining. I don’t think any book has quite drawn me in the way Harry Potter has. We might be in the real world, but we’re also transported to the magical world of Hogwarts and Hogsmeade, amongst so many other magical settings. Along with the fact that it all takes place in my home country of England makes me just fall in love with the Harry Potter world just a little bit more.

Abhorsen_Series

2. Abhorsen Triology. This has to be one of my favourite young-adult fantasy books and it’s the only series I’ve read by Garth Nix (as of now), but I truly adored it! The world is fantastic. We have this wall that separates the ‘normal’ world and then across the wall where there is lots of dark magic, kingdoms, and the necromancers. We get a mixture of the old medieval world and the modern world so close, whilst having magic and darkness right over the wall. There are the seven gates to death and the journey the necromancers take through them and the different trials within each one—it’s just fabulous. One of my favourite moments is in the glaciers across the wall where they have flying machines powered by magic. Everything is so vivid and different.

 

In Death Series

3. In Death. Set in New York in 2058 onwards, the In Death series might be a more ‘modern’ world or ‘realistic’ but with the latest technology and new medicines, it seems like a fantastic world to be part of. Robb provides all the grit and gore of the downtown areas that are deprived while still creating the wonder of the high class and rich. I really feel like I get absorbed into the world of J.D. Robb’s books!

 

The Immortal Rules

4.  The Immortal Rules.

Well?! I adored this book and the world was pretty rough and ragged. After all it is a dystopia novel, so we can’t expect happily ever after worlds. There is a thing called a Vampire City which is ruled and dominated by the vampires. The people are blood cattle and those surrounding are left to forage for themselves unless they give blood to the vampires. Those outside are scavengers searching for food, books are not allowed! How can this ever happen? Everything is dark and sinister. Then on the outside, everything is abandoned, and it reminded me of the Walking Dead TV show on FX with the abandoned cars and desolate landscape. It was truly a well thought out world.

 

Inkheart

5. Inkheart.

  Inkheart starts in the normal world and then we transgress across into the world of the book, Inkheart. The concept itself is entirely awesome. Here we have a real medieval type of fantasy world, with castles and warriors, but then we have the silvertongues who can bring creatures and people to life by reading aloud from a book. We have the shadow and all the dangers of this book world and there is so much world building about Inkheart designed that we are drawn into the world of a book from the ‘real’ world and then can draw ourselves out again through the silvertongues is amazing. The film is equally enjoyable as it’s own entity.

Hunger Games Series

6. The Hunger Games.

Another dystopia world. I felt like we didn’t get enough of our world at times from these books, but the idea of the 13 districts and the capitol. It just begins as a fabulous world all on it’s own. Then we have the different conditions for each district and all the lavish goods off the capitol. To top of these fabulous settings, we have the Hunger Games itself, my favourite setting has to be in Catching Fire and the Hunger Games we witness there! These books really have an awesome world—but one I wouldn’t want to witness in the future.

Sebastian

7. Sebastian.

Whilst I couldn’t quite say I loved the book, the world blew me away! Different landscapes that make up a world and conjoin by bridges that link everything up. The landscapes are created by a landscaper who has control over them and the good and evil of the world reflect the landscapes. We have demons and water horses that drag people into their depth and drown them and there are tonnes of creatures. I love how the land manipulated and changed to its inhabitants. Then we had the Den of Iniquity which revolved around Sebastian which is just a fabulous place on its own, but saying any more will spoil the story!

king arthur

8. Dragon’s Child.

I picked this one for it’s historical setting and the idea of King Arthur having two wives—which will be developed into across the series I believe. However we really get the old feel of the history and the roman buildings and battle times. I appreciated the surroundings and real drawn in feeling to the historical setting that I think some authors fail to do in historical romance. We got the battle front, but M.K. Hume also took the time to work on building the home of ‘Arthur’ as a child and the surrounding woods and then when he visits King Uther and the palace and all the feelings of the surroundings and decaying room of the dead King Uther. It’s all very sinister and I loved every moment of it!

The Little White Horse

9. The Little White Horse.

I picked this up first for the reason of the quote on the front. “I absolutely adored The Little White Horse.” J.K. Rowling. The name had me picking up this book, and whilst it wasn’t quite a different world, and it’s a long time since I read this book. I remember the interwoven ideas that surrounded this and the whole “is it real, is it not” and all the whole mystery that surrounded the old house and setting, The Little White Horse is a classic childhood story for me!

BlackDaggerBrotherhoodSeries

10. Black Dagger Brotherhood.

Finally, The Black Dagger Brotherhood is my favourite paranormal-romance series and whilst it is set in Caldwell and the normal world, the fact that we go across to the other side where the chosen are and visit a world of white and we have so many aspects to Caldwell and really get transported to each scene, it managed to make my top ten vivid worlds and settings.

WOW! I’m proud of myself for all that. Took some time and thought, but I think we’re there. What are you top ten Tuesdays? Post me your links! And your thoughts!

22 Comments

Filed under Top Ten Tuesday

22 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday (1)

  1. Totally there with HP & The Hunger Games! I should have included the In Death books in my list!! Love them ❤ I always almost forget it's set in the future because it's not wacky with the new technologies, etc they put in there!

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      Yes! You should definitely have! I still haven’t gotten around to reading number 16. I really need to. It’s not, but it’s all realistic which makes it so believable and achievable! 🙂

  2. I totally agree with you on your #1..Who wouldn’t want to a be wizard? I am sad because there are no movies to look forward to anymore or new books in the series! As for the Hunger Games, I love the books but definitely wouldn’t want to live in that world…unless I had Katniss’s skillz..which I don’t LOL

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      I know right. I always hoped to get a Hogwarts letter as a child and had to give up realising it was only a magical world. haha.

      I know! However we do have J.K. Rowling bringing out a new book which is exciting even if it is completely different. I think it’ll be nice to read something new from her. I just hope it lives up to all the hype. I put my pre-order in at my local Waterstones and I’m highly excited for it’s release!

      No, I wouldn’t want to live in the world either, but it is a fabulous world! haha.

      • I think if I was in it the book would be the ‘the hungry and lame’ and it would be two chapters long ;>

        Me too! I sat by my chimney for a long time and used to cheer anytime I saw an owl..but alas! 🙂

        I am totally jazzed about that as well and so is my Hubby! We are planning to sit together and read at the same time..just like we did with ‘Deathly Hallows’

        • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

          Ahhhh. I’m sure it wouldn’t! haha. 🙂

          Really? Awwww. I know the feeling, but I’ve never seen owls around here. Bats, yes. Birds, yes. I even HEAR the cockeral at stupid o’clock in the morning, but owls, no.

          Really? Ahhhh, that’s cute! haha. Well my pre-order is in and now I save myself ten pounds, I’m very happy. See with Deathly Hallows I raced through the book and snatched it away from my mum everytime she tried to pick it up and read whilst I was on a break. Then she read it after. haha.

          She’ll probably still be after stealing this one after me. I don’t see why she doesn’t buy her own!

  3. HP made my list too Olivia! I forgot to add Inkheart, but I love the world Cornelia Funke created as well! It’s one of my childhood favorites and while I haven’t seen the movie, I’m glad you enjoyed it. Great list! 🙂

    ~Keertana
    Ivy Book Bindings

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      I saw. Ahhh, I love Inkeart. You should really check out the movie, it’s quite fab! 🙂

      Thank you.

  4. I really like all the time and thought your put into your list from including pictures to very well written, in depth answers. I see a lot of books on here that I want to re-read, especially Inkheart.

    One of my good friends LOVES the In Death series, so I keep meaning to check it out. I am glad to hear the world building is in depth in those books.

    My TTT

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      Awwww, thank you!

      Inkheart I think I might have to re-read myself, or at least watch the film again. haha. Although, it’s not quite the same experience!

      I ADORE it. You should really check it out, because I love every aspect of the books and you get a variety of different settings that are all fabulous!

  5. I’m so glad to see the Abhorsen books on a few blogs today. I love that series so much, but didn’t include it in my list. Your list is awesome! I like that it has a bit of diversity. 🙂

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      Ahhh, I think it’s a geat series. I have to agree about loving it.

      Sad to hear you didn’t include it on your list!

      I was aiming for diversity, so I’m glad to hear that! 😀

  6. I’m sorry that I didn’t get a chance to comment on your post yesterday! But yay for including Harry Potter:). I’ve never actually read the Inkheart series nor the Immortal Rules series. I’ve heard good things about both of them though! Also I want to check out the Garth Nix series, I’ve heard good things about his books too. Great list Olivia :). Did you see The Dark Knight Rises yet?

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      Yes! haha.

      If anything out of the three you’ve mentioned, I’d suggest the Garth Nix series FIRST, then Immortal Rules and then Inkheart, but don’t got without the Abhorsen trilogy, I LOVED it!

      Thanks for commenting!

      Yes! I adored it. I liked the ending too and the whole elusiveness to it. And I had a niggling feeling about the villain the whole way through and I was like DON’T DO THAT when Batman stormed in to face Bane and gave her a gun. Very much loved it! 😀

      • Thanks! I’ll keep that in mind when I get around to reading everything lol. Honestly there are so many books to read and so little time!

        I’m glad that you enjoyed The Dark Knight Rises! I’m seeing it in IMAX this weekend, so I’m super excited for that!

        • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

          Do! haha.

          There are, I have about 200 myself to read that I won and I always buy more! 🙂

          Ahhh, that should be great! I’m not sure we have an IMAX near here.

  7. I’ve been debating on doing Top Ten Tuesdays, too — the prompts always looks fun! Maybe I’ll join in next week.

    I loved it when Rowling introduced Hogsmeade. I think the overall environment of the HP series feels very festive to me, which I love, and getting to explore Hogsmeade shops with Harry was fun — even Hogwarts (Room of Requirement, yeah!)

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      They do! If you do, I’ll be sure to stop by! 🙂

      I have that feeling too about HP! It just seems to create its own atmosphere that’s really festive and awesome–I lack a better word to describe it. haha. Everything about the Harry Potter world is fantastic and Diagon Alley!? Fred and George’s shop. So many fantastic places to visit and see!

      • I love Diagon Alley! (And I love the part where Harry mispronounces it when traveling via Floo Powder.)

        It really is festive — sort of winter holiday-ish! I thought it was appropriate when the films came out in fall or winter, but then I think they started coming out in the summer? Ah, I still like watching the movies over winter break, though.

        • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

          That is certainly amusing!

          Yes! They did start bringing them into summer. I think to gain a wider audience. Even though they feel fesitive, I still watch them all year round, but I think there is a greater magic at winter time! 🙂

  8. I am a fan of several of your picked series. I loved Hunger Games and I adore the In Death series. I think Dallas and Roarke have an amazing relationship, and I enjoy that the series skips the ever present Love Triangle.

Thanks for dropping by, I really appreciate every single view. If you're a fellow blogger I'll return follows/comments. Unfortunately this is an award and tag free zone because of time constraints, but I appreciate the thought.

