Back from the Welsh Land

Hey guys,

I’m officially back from my holiday from WET Wales. I kid you not. Monday was nice. Tuesday rained in the afternoon, massive downpour. Wednesday. We do not even discuss the state I was in by the end of the day. It took two days for my jacket to dry out which was beneath my waterproof jacket which is no longer waterproof and I had to dry out all my money in my purse, not fun. Thursday was mainly dry with several sharp showers. We had sun at the end of the day—enough for me to get burnt. And Friday was nice and sunny with a shower. So however much I enjoyed Wales, it was very, very WET!

Let’s take a look at my caravan first:

            P7300831P7300836

That was the living room, which was very pretty. How anybody can be expected to see with the TV so small, I don’t know though. And the twin beds had to be pushed together because I fell out the first night.

Overall the caravan was nice and quaint.

Let’s take a look at Welsh land countryside I visited which was beautiful!

P7300845P7310864P7310871P8010886P8030891P8030927

The town’s I visited:

P7310855P7310875P7310879P7310883

P8030898P8030928P8030930P8030931

These are pictures of Llandudno and Llangollen. Both were beautiful towns that had a very old world, Victorian feel to them which I loved. Llandudno had the pier and lots of hiking up the hillside, whilst Llangollen had the pretty canal and the horse drawn boat ride I took.

I rode a tramway in Llandudno up part of the hillside.

P7310863

Then I visited a house in Llangollen that belonged to the Ladies of Llangollen in the 18th century who were two lesbians 13 and 29 who eloped together and had this “unpretentious” cottage to live which was surrounded by some very beautiful gardens.

P8030900P8030901P8030902

It had some really neat wood carvings too!

P8030903P8030904

So there is a run down of my time in Wales, which involved eating cake to cheer me up, reading lots of books to keep me entertained, doing lots of walking to keep me fit and sight-seeing a little!

Finally, to finish off a picture of me looking like a giant pea—I’m in need of a new coat, so don’t laugh at me please—in the rain, dressed like an idiot and just generally freezing my ass off! What was I doing, I couldn’t say, BUT I did have a smile on my face! haha. And YES, I’m wearing shorts, which was on the day I attempted to climb Snowdon on the Wednesday. :L I was actually thoroughly soaked and still in absolute downpour at this point…

P8010888

I’d say take a trip to Wales to visit the beautiful countryside, but try and pick a week with nice weather and if you’re going to climb Snowdon, take the proper gear! I’ve learnt my lesson about not taking all my walking gear, it ended in disaster.

See you soon!

Livvy x

14 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

14 responses to “Back from the Welsh Land

  1. Looks like you had a wonderful vacation, Livvy! I love the pictures from the towns of Llandudno and Llangollen and also the “unpretentious” cottage! Ha! What they considered unpretentious back then is like a mansion now! Lol! Welcome back. 🙂

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      I did, despite the weather the lands of Wales were beautiful! 🙂 Yes! That made me laugh when I was reading about it being “unpretentious” to me it certainly is a mini mansion. Thank you, Rachel! 🙂

  2. It’s SO pretty! Gosh, I need to visit Europe ASAP! I’m so glad you had such a wonderful vacation Olivia! 🙂 You’ve convinced me that I need to visit the Welsh Land as well! 😉

    ~Keertana
    Ivy Book Bindings

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      I know! You need to get to Europe ASAP! I’d suggest the Rhineland in Germany as a fabulous place to go too! I loved it there! 😀 Thank you, Keertana! 🙂 You do, but try for some ‘good’ weather! haha. 🙂

  3. Sounds you had a nice trip despite the yuck-weather — the pictures are gorgeous! I love the buildings, too. Well-kept ‘old’ architecture has an alluring quality. Very pretty 🙂

  4. Aww Wales does look like a beautiful place to visit, it’s a shame that you had to visit when it was chucking it down! At least you had a great time, when it wasn’t raining! 🙂

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      Yes, it is! But I think that’s just part of Wales! haha. It certainly is beautiful and there was plenty to do! 😀

  5. Awesome trip (rain and all). My stepfather was Welsh, and his family is actually descended from rulers (Kings, maybe? I don’t remember) of a town there (Loughor) and ruins of the castle still stand. I’ve always wanted to visit – he would have loved to go there. So cool!

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      Thank you! Really? How interesting. I’ve never heard of Loughor, but I’m sure it would be interesting to visit! 🙂

  6. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday (3) |

Thanks for dropping by, I really appreciate every single view. If you're a fellow blogger I'll return follows/comments. Unfortunately this is an award and tag free zone because of time constraints, but I appreciate the thought.

