Top Ten Tuesday (4)

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an weekly meme created and hosted at The Broke and the Bookish.

This week we’re looking at Top Ten Book Romances That You Think Would Make It In The Real World.

To be truthful, I don’t read thatmany books that have romances in my opinion that are so strong and realistic. I may read quite a lot of books that feature elements of romance, but quite a few tend to taper into just a brief get together where they’re just blossoming as a couple at the end of the book. So… the likelihood I’m going to reach 10 is slim to slight.

1. Eve and Roarke from J.D. Robb’s In Death series.

These too without a doubt would last in the real world. Whilst they may live in a more “realistic future setting” they have a real relationship with problems and they sort through them. The pair both push each other and really drag the issues out of one and other. It’s so clear to see the love they have for each other as it evolves over the whole series and develops in a realistic fashion. If they with all their problems that connect and balance each other out, couldn’t work in the real world, I don’t know who could!

2. Cat and Bones from Jeaniene Frost’s Night Huntress series.

These two yet again have their problems, but Bones was relentless after Cat and hasn’t ever truly given in with her. They make me all jumpy and squeal-ly excited when I read about them because they work.

3. Hermione and Ron from J.K. Rowling’s Harry Potter series.

I’d pick Harry and Ginny, but for me they didn’t quite have the traumatic, developed and blossoming relationship Hermione and Ron had. Over the years their relationship is strained with closeness, but there is always the man in Ron who stands to defend Hermione’s honour and he’s rather cute. Then he finally kicks his butt into gear and realises he loves Hermione and it’s nice. They just balance each other out and off all the Harry Potter characters I think they really work as a couple, I can see the dynamic there.

4. Meggie and Doria from Cornelia Funke’s Inkheart trilogy.

Meggie was level-headed and Doria really cared for her by the end of this trilogy and she settled for something “sensible” rather than “wild and adventurous” which really makes me think these two could work in the real world. It’s a shame they never gave the films chance to explore more options to the trilogy, but I think Meggie had a good ending to her story!

I have literally drawn to a halt… how useful. I think I need to read more. Oh dear! Or find more romances that will last, because truthfully half of the happily-ever-afters in YA and paranormal-romance, I don’t quite believe will work!

What do you think?

7 Comments

Filed under Top Ten Tuesday

7 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday (4)

  1. Thanks for stopping by my TTT! Ron and Hermione are a great choice! I agree that the development of their romance made you feel like they would really make it.

  2. You are so correct about Hermione and Ron. I’m sad I forgot about them. Great list!

    Come check out my top ten!

  3. I haven’t read the others but I totally agree about Ron and Hermione! 🙂 I thought about putting them on my list..I ended up doing way more classic fiction than I expect to!

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      A lot of people seemed to put them on or thought about it. It seems they were the best HP pair! 🙂 Yes, you certainly did end up with lots of classic fiction! 😀

  4. I predicted that Hermione and Ron would make a lot of people’s lists, and it looks like I thought right! Harry was the hero, but Hermione and Ron win the couples department.

Thanks for dropping by, I really appreciate every single view. If you're a fellow blogger I'll return follows/comments. Unfortunately this is an award and tag free zone because of time constraints, but I appreciate the thought.

