Library Loot (August 29th–September 4th)

Library Loot

Library Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by Claire from The Captive Reader and Marg from The Adventures of an Intrepid Reader that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library. If you’d like to participate, just write up your post-feel free to steal the button-and link it using the Mr. Linky any time during the week. And of course check out what other participants are getting from their libraries!

 

Soooooo, it has been an awfully long time since I took part in Library Loot, I’ve picked up a couple of books since I last participated, but I’ve been trying to reduce the number of books I’ve had on loan from the library. Literally I gave up hope and took two of them back un-read because I never thought I’d read them. It always makes me sad when I do that, but hopefully at some point in the future, I’ll take them out again.

For my Library Loot, I’ve only picked up one book. A classic. Now I don’t usually tend to enjoy Classics, but I’ve heard lots and lots of positive opinions on this book. So that and it being part of the “Gothic” literature genre, which is creeping up to be one I’m liking more and more, I just had to pick the book up.

Rebecca by Daphne Du Maurier

Rebecca

“Last night I dreamt I went to Manderley again”,

With these words, the reader is ushered into an isolated gray stone mansion on the windswept Cornish coast, as the second Mrs. Maxim de Winter recalls the chilling events that transpired as she began her new life as the young bride of a husband she barely knew. For in every corner of every room were phantoms of a time dead but not forgotten a past devotedly preserved by the sinister housekeeper, Mrs. Danvers: a suite immaculate and untouched, clothing laid out and ready to be worn, but not by any of the great house’s current occupants. With an eerie presentiment of evil tightening her heart, the second Mrs. de Winter walked in the shadow of her mysterious predecessor, determined to uncover the darkest secrets and shattering truths about Maxim’s first wife the late and hauntingly beautiful Rebecca.

I got this one a while ago from the library, but I’ve never had the opportunity to highlight it. I love Kenyon’s Dark-Hunter’s series and Nick always makes a quirky and interesting character, so I’m looking forward to the take on his own story. Whilst I’m still making my way through the Dark-Hunter series, I thought it might be enjoyable to take a look at it from a different angle for the moment to keep some refreshment in the series.

Infinity by Sherrilyn Kenyon

Infinity

At fourteen, Nick Gautier thinks he knows everything about the world around him. Streetwise, tough and savvy, his quick sarcasm is the stuff of legends. . .until the night when his best friends try to kill him. Saved by a mysterious warrior who has more fighting skills than Chuck Norris, Nick is sucked into the realm of the Dark-Hunters: immortal vampire slayers who risk everything to save humanity.

Nick quickly learns that the human world is only a veil for a much larger and more dangerous one: a world where the captain of the football team is a werewolf and the girl he has a crush on goes out at night to stake the undead.
But before he can even learn the rules of this new world, his fellow students are turning into flesh eating zombies. And he’s next on the menu.

As if starting high school isn’t hard enough. . .now Nick has to hide his new friends from his mom, his chainsaw from the principal, and keep the zombies and the demon Simi from eating his brains, all without getting grounded or suspended. How in the world is he supposed to do that?

14 Comments

Filed under Library Loot

14 responses to “Library Loot (August 29th–September 4th)

  1. Infinity sounds pretty good, but I’m probably just going to read the manga adaption of it coming out this fall (so excited!!!).

  2. Those all look really interesting! Thanks for sharing them! 😀

  3. I read Rebecca in high school and I would love to re-read it!

  4. Yay for Rebecca! I haven’t heard too much about Infinity, but I hope you like it, Olivia! 🙂 Wonderful loot this week! 😀

    ~Keertana
    Ivy Book Bindings

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      Thank you! Infinity is a spin-off from the Dark-Hunter’s series, so I hope it’s enjoyable. Although not many people like the MC Nick, but I quite do…

  5. Kelley

    Hmmm, Infinity sounds interesting, as long as Nick’s attitude isn’t TOO annoying. I assume you’ll be posting a review eventually? 🙂

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      I don’t really mind Nick too much. Yes, I’ll be posting a review when I get around to reading! 🙂

  6. I do enjoy Rebecca, it’s a really interesting story with a lot of layers to it!

  7. Both are on my tbr list. Enjoy!

  8. I’m not much of a classics reader to be honest, but I’ve heard great things about Rebecca. I hope you enjoy it! Infinity sounds good too. I actually have the second (or third?) book in that series but not the previous books so I haven’t read it yet. I’m looking forward to seeing what you think! 🙂

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      Me either, but Rebecca looks really good which is why I want to read it. Yes, I loved the Dark-Hunter series which is geared to adults, so this one should be good! 🙂

Thanks for dropping by, I really appreciate every single view. If you're a fellow blogger I'll return follows/comments. Unfortunately this is an award and tag free zone because of time constraints, but I appreciate the thought.

