Eve and Adam

Eve and Adam

Eve and Adam by Michael Grant and Katherine Applegate

Genre: Science-fiction, Young-Adult, Romance

Expected Publication: October 2nd 2012 by Feiwel & Friends

Sixteen-year-old Evening Spiker lives an affluent life in San Francisco with her mother, Emma-ose, a successful geneticist and owner of Spiker Biotech. Sure, Evening misses her father who died mysteriously, but she’s never really questioned it. Much like how she’s never stopped to think how off it is that she’s never been sick. That is, until she’s struck by a car and is exposed to extensive injuries. Injuries that seem to be healing faster than physically possible.

While recuperating in Spiker Biotech’s lush facilities, she meets Solo Plissken, a very attractive, if off-putting boy her age who spent his life at Spiker Biotech. Like Evening, he’s never questioned anything… until now. Solo drops hints to Evening that something isn’t right, and Emma-Rose may be behind it. Evening puts this out of her mind and begins her summer internship project: To simulate the creation of the perfect boy. With the help of Solo, Evening uncovers secrets so big they could change the world completely.

My Review:

The expectations I had for this novel were high! The premise of Eve and Adam leaves one undoubtedly excited and when I got hold of this I couldn’t wait to start. However, when I started reading things just seemed to trickle down hill from there. I wouldn’t label this book as bad or rubbish, it just didn’t blow my mind like I expected it to. There were no little intricacies or details of the genetics. The explosions of action were rather sedate and expected almost. At times I even felt like the plot was a little too predictable. However, this story does manage to be well-written, enjoyable and engaging. It hooks you from the first moment to keep reading on, for whilst it may not have a accelerating, heart-wrenchingly fast speed, it does have a unique direction and one that has left me wanting to read the sequel.

Evening is the main character who predominantly narrates the story. There are interludes of Solo and then even Adam when he appears, but not nearly enough to ramp up the pace. Evening’s narration seems to follow at a more sedate pace and is far less interesting than that of her male counterparts. If only we’d witnessed more changing of perspective to Solo and Adam, I think the novel would have stood to substantially gain more excitement. For in the first part of the novel much of Evening’s narration is spent character building and learning about her. This isn’t a bad thing, I just felt like there was too much focus on this and not enough on the plot which seems to take a back seat in this story.

The character building I would say is worthwhile because the connection that Evening and Aislin—her best friend—form is one that’s easily understood and allows you to fathom much of Evening’s actions throughout the novel to aid her friend. I think it holds a strong point for the novel and it’s something I could reflect into the real world the type of friendship they have is unwavering and problematic, but a friendship nevertheless.

The cover states “Eve and Adam” which is very interesting for Eve is the first named and actual the name Evening takes on from Solo. The relationship between Eve and Solo is interesting to witness. It takes a very rocky road and was rather unpredictable. At times I was unsure in which direction Evening was going to take and it frustrated me, but at the same time, finding the romance a little unpredictable was engaging for the plot was a little more predictable at points.

“Stop projecting your feelings on me,” Solo says.

It’s a breathtakingly effective put-down.

However, the cover and the title are rather misleading because we have very little focus on Adam really in this novel. He is present, we just know very little about him and the sequel which is to be “Adam and Eve” makes things even more frustrating for the novels direction sounds very changeable.

Moving on to focus on the plot, there is very little information on the genetics of the story. I can understand the apple on the front with the jigsaw pieces and we even have Evening focus on an apple for the first part of the story, but overall, I felt there was a lack of the “science-fiction” element in this story and much more could have been done to push it into the story without overfilling the storyline with biological terms none of us understood. Things were rather just seemingly placed and happened. And whilst Evening claims to adore genetics and be smart, there seems very little evidence of this, throughout the story.

“Genetics. I like genetics, the rules, the order. My best friend, Aislin, says it’s because I’m a control freak.”

Nevertheless the plot pushes on and there are unexpected moments at the end where things move on more at the end in several different directions that I found entertaining. It would have been much better if the whole novel had contained this kind of anticipation and excitement the first half lacked.

Another point in favour of this book is that the romance doesn’t overshadow the plot and it is there enough to keep you interested and smile, but not too much that it becomes sickly or annoying. Be prepared for the fear of a love-triangle if you don’t like them because I know at moments it looks as though there may be a love triangle in this story, but really when you look closer into things, it doesn’t look quite possible. I hope the foundations of the relationships in this novel will be developed more in the sequel, which I will be looking forward to hoping it invigorates me much more than Eve and Adam.

3 books

More stalking available here:

Let me know what you think!

* Quotes are taken from and uncorrected proof copy and may change in the final draft.

Thank you to NetGalley and Macmillan Children’s Publishing for providing me with a copy of this in exchange for my honest review.

17 Comments

Filed under 2012 Publication, 3 Books, E-book, Feiwel & Friends, Michael Grant and Katherine Applegate, Romance, Science-Fiction, Young Adult

17 responses to “Eve and Adam

  1. That is one of my pet peeves when a complicated premise is introduced and not fully explained!

  2. I think this is one of my favorite reviews of yours, Olivia! It’s so well-written and you bring up SO many good points! Seriously, the science-fiction elements of this were so down-played! :/ Plus, like you, I’m hoping the sequel will be better! *fingers crossed* Anyway, wonderful review! 😀

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      Awww, thank you!! That means I’m only getting better. They were, it was annoying. They label it science-fiction and then don’t give us ANY! Well very little. Yes, definitely am too. I’m glad to hear you liked my review, I’m striving to make them better!

  3. Hmm, bummer that there were some things about this one that let you down! I haven’t had a chance to read it yet – SO many books to get through and SO little time! – but I’m betting I’ll have the same issues you did when I do finally read it. Great review!

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      Thanks. Definitely a bummer that it let me down because I was soooooo excited for it. Ahh well–I’ll be looking out for a sequel. I know the feeling about soo many books, it’s crazy!

  4. I’m sorry that you didn’t really enjoy this one! I have a review copy, so I’ll still be reading it, but definitely with lowered expectations now. I’m sad that it doesn’t talk a lot about genetics! I was really looking forward to that part. =( And the fact that there’s not much Adam in this book… is kind of interesting, I suppose. Considering his name is in the title, wouldn’t you think that it would be basically about him and Eve? Anyways, I hope that I can enjoy this one more than you did! I hope you like the sequel more than this one!

    Fabulous review! ❤

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      Definitely still read it, since I think it has lots to offer. So was I! Yes, you would definitely think so. Whilst he may be “there” of sorts–which you’ll realise–we don’t really get him in the centre of things. Maybe with the sequel being “Adam and Eve” we’ll get more of him then.
      Thank you and I hope you do enjoy this one more than me! 🙂

  5. Sorry that this one wasn’t all you wanted it to be. I hate it when that happens with a book. Glad that there was some enjoyment from it nevertheless.
    Brandi from Blkosiner’s Book Blog

  6. I’m really pleased that I decided not to grab a copy from NetGalley. I’m not sure that I want to read it now, especially after the flood of mixed reviews. I’m sorry it failed to blow you away, Livvy! It seems like a lot of people have had similar reactions to this book. Thanks for the helpful review. 🙂

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      Yeah, it’s not nearly as good as I thought, but I am glad I read it. I haven’t seen all that many besides Keertana’s which had a similar view to me. No problem at all! 🙂

  7. Great review Livvy. Pity the story is only okay.

  8. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves (13) |

  9. Pingback: Adam hosini | Seigneux

Thanks for dropping by, I really appreciate every single view. If you're a fellow blogger I'll return follows/comments. Unfortunately this is an award and tag free zone because of time constraints, but I appreciate the thought.

