Guardian of the Moon Pendant

Guardian of the Moon Pendant

Guardian of the Moon Pendant by Laura J. Williams

Series: Highland Secrets #1

Genre: Fairies, Fantasy, Romance, Young-Adult

Published: July 25th 2012 by Laura J. Williams

The MacAlpin women are of a fierce clan, born from a rare bloodline that harbors a dark and powerful secret – a mystical heirloom called the Moon Pendant. It is the key to controlling the MääGord standing stones, a magical Portal into the Otherworld, the realm of the Fae.
Anabel and Izzy MacAlpin are two sisters, polar opposites, living separate lives.

Anabel’s life is going precisely according to her plan, a ring on her finger from her steady beau, Edgar, and medical school in the fall.
Izzy’s life is filled with scars and wounds from her past. Dubbed the “spare child” by her family and treated poorly, she rebelled, and now lives life by her own rules.

These two sisters’ worlds are about to explode when one of them must go to Scotland and fulfill her duty as the Guardian of the Moon Pendant, by recharging this magical heirloom with four elementals, air, earth, water, and fire, and then finally close the Portal.

My Review:

This book wasn’t quite what I expected. I find it hard to summarise my feelings in their entirety since I liked the idea of the plot, but in places it was rushed and others it was dragged out unnecessarily. The two main characters Anabel and Izzy were both self-centred creatures absorbed in their own whiny and self-pity.  I found there was little redemption or progression in their characters. On the plus side, this was a short read and it was easily readable. It did hold quite a lot of promise for me to begin with, but then it seemed to drizzle of the further I got into it.

I’m going to start with the two protagonists Anabel and Izzy. We had an alternating perspective from both Anabel and Izzy’s view point, but I didn’t really enjoy either narration because they both had similar whiny character traits where they complained about the other. Not only that, but the narration often followed the same events from the different view to create a repetitive and dragging sensation in the middle part of this novel where several switches left to the events being repeated. I felt like Williams had put this in to flesh out the novel rather than to add to the enjoyment and flow, for me it brought me out of the novel and stilted the reading experience.

Anabel was a girl looking to get into medical school and was already engaged. She didn’t seem to have a very strong relationship with her fiancé Edgar and yet they were engaged, to me it seemed ridiculous. Then she meets Blane… And he’s oh so wonderful, Scottish and sexy. I did not get this at all! I kid you not, I thought he was a 40 year old man when we first met him. Williams’ visual descriptions left a lot to be desired because at no point did I visualise any of the potential love interest for Anabel or Izzy as young and I don’t think this was the desire effect! So the very fickle love Anabel has for Blane develops and Edgar is pretty much forgotten. To be truthful, I see there being very little point to his character other than to add a tad of emotional distress to Anabel’s tale which she doesn’t really need when adding the conflict of her sister, her forbidden love for Blane and the struggles with the moon pendant.

My hopes and dreams of becoming a wife, mother and doctor flashed before my eyes. How could I possibly finish any of these tasks – four deadly tasks – in four days?

Izzy is very much the whiny, “poor me” girl of the novel. She may have had problems, a crazy boyfriend and a dislike for her sister, but I did not feel the need for her to bring it up every five seconds. It really grated on my nerves and on occasions I found myself skimming this part of the narration. She pretended to be “bad-ass”, but I didn’t really feel the vibe, other than smoking and I can hardly call that “bad-ass”. At times she seemed to overshadow Anabel’s narration and push herself into being the main protagonist of the story, when for me, the story seemed to be wanting to focus on Anabel as the guardian. There was very much a struggle that Williams didn’t really dissolve with the two characters for who could be deemed the protagonist.

Then what, Braveheart?” snipped Izzy. Her body leaned forward, pressing against her coiled restraints, digging deep into her bare skin. “You’re gonna throw us down into the dungeon and eat our flesh?”

The plot had a good idea, and I liked the fairy aspect and the tasks that had to be completed as part of the Guardian of the Moon Pendant in order to close the portal and prevent the fairies and demons entering this world, but I think the execution of it was messy and stilted. I was confused at times as to what was happening and found that some parts lacked detail and description to really create visual images in my head. And whilst I like a little allowance for creativity, Williams really lacked for me on the descriptive front. Then there were moments of cluttered action where points become elongated and boring. This novel really had one extreme or another.

Overall the ideas this story is based on sound good and they seem to be heading in an interesting direction, but it just wasn’t for me. I don’t think I’ll be checking out the sequel to this novel, however don’t ignore this book because if you like a fun read that lacks a bit of detail, you might find yourself enjoying it!

2 books

More stalking available here:

Let me know what you think!

7 Comments

Filed under 2 Books, 2012 Publication, E-book, Fairies, Fantasy, Laura J. Williams, Romance, Young Adult

7 responses to “Guardian of the Moon Pendant

  1. Beautifully reviewed, Livvy! I like that you addressed both sides, but I do think this book wouldn’t be for me either. The repetition of certain scenes from different views? Yeah, I definitely won’t have the patience for that. The premise sounds interesting though so it’s a shame it didn’t quite work out.

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      Thank you! Yes, that really annoyed me. I always like to try and cover both angles, so I’m glad to hear I managed that! 🙂

  2. Wonderfully written review, Livvy. I can understand your disappointment with this book, it sounds like it had pacing issues and a lot of repetition really bothers me as well

  3. I don’t think I’d like reading the same scenes from each of these girl’s POVs. Maybe I wouldn’t mind that if it was between a boy and a girl with a romance but this sounds like just the one would be enough. Especially when the both the girls are sort of unlikeable. I won’t be reading this. Thanks for the honest review, Livvy. 🙂

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      No, it was a little annoying. It just really wasn’t for me, which is a shame, but I didn’t find anything about the girls that I liked. It was frustrating because I wanted to, but couldn’t. No problem! 🙂

  4. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves (14) |

Thanks for dropping by, I really appreciate every single view. If you're a fellow blogger I'll return follows/comments. Unfortunately this is an award and tag free zone because of time constraints, but I appreciate the thought.

