Stacking the Shelves (14)

Stacking the Shelves

Stacking the Shelves is a meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews.

Here it’s chance to share the books you’ve acquired this week and what you’re excited about. So it will be a weekly Saturday occurrence to see what we’re ‘Stacking the Shelves’ with! Here is a combination of my past two weeks of books since I didn’t post a StS last week.

And BIG news this week, I bought myself a kindle with a pretty blue case!

photo (1)

This is my new kindle. I haven’t really had much time to read on it since I bought it and I’ve only read a few pages of one book. I’m not sure if I like it at the moment and I’m finding it hard to adjust, but here it is in its pretty blue case.

photo 

Books Bought:

Under the Never Sky

I saw somebody mention this as being cheap on The Book Depository and I’ve never bought a book on there before, so I snapped up Under the Never Sky when I saw it and I’m excited to read after all the good news I heard!

E-Books Bought:

AngelfallThe Night Circus

Half-BloodBeautiful Disaster

Anna KareninaOn Dublin Street

I got lots of random e-books too for free, but I’m not adding all those, they could be rubbish for all I know and there are tonnes. Still, the books I have here are Angelfall, Half-blood and The Night Circus all that I’ve heard lots about! So I’m excited to try out these on my new kindle! Then I have Beautiful Disaster which I’ve already read and you can find my review here. I also bought Anna Karenina since I wanted to see the film, but unfortunately my local cinema aren’t showing it and On Dublin Street after hearing some great things about it from friends!

Received for Review:

A Thousand BayonetsCaptured HeartFade

I’ll see where I head with Fade since I’m not sure how I’ll feel about this yet. I also got Captured Heart which I’d like to thank Entangled Publishing for. Finally, I have A Thousand Bayonets from the author after getting invited by my friend Matt at Genius Book Reviews to host a joint giveaway of a A Thousand Bayonets which you should look out for in the near future!

Gifted by a Friend:

Seraphina

My friend sent me a e-version of Seraphina which is also on my kindle, so I’m excited to start this since it’s yet another book I’ve heard tonnes of good things about!

Review posted this week:

What did you get this week?

27 Comments

Filed under Stacking the Shelves

27 responses to “Stacking the Shelves (14)

  1. Ooooh, girl!!! Half-Blood and Beautiful Disaster are on my ‘favorite reads’ shelf. I love those two! I have the Night Circus as well, but I haven’t read it yet. Haha! I bought Under the Never Sky from TBD too, but I haven’t received it yet. Will probably showcase it on my next haul post. I’m not into that cover, though, think the original print is wayyyyy prettier, but I couldn’t resist buying it. And who knows, maybe I’ll like it when i receive it. Congrats on your ereader! I want one too.. I’m tired of reading on my PC, but I’m kind of sceptical. There is a new version coming out every once in a while and I’d like to get the best of the best, but nowadays they seem to get old like within three months or less. And that’s the thing with every gadget invented. The pros and cons of living in the era of technology. Yay *rolls her eyes*. Great haul! And thank you for stopping by 🙂 Hope you enjoy Half-Blood and Beautiful Disaster as much as I did and good luck on reading the rest of the books! Have a lovely day, x

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      I didn’t quite enjoy Beautiful Disaster as much as some, but I can see why people liked it. I got Under The Never Sky last week, but I didn’t do a StS. Still I’m really looking forward to reading it! I have to agree with you about the cover, but it was cheap so I’ll take it! 🙂
      I know the feeling and I wanted a new one, but then I thought about it and the old one is just as good and it’ll do what I need it to so I don’t need all the fancy gadgets. The kindle fire I fear would be a distraction and the battery life is crap in comparison to the other readers.
      Thank you! I can’t wait to start Half-Blood since it’s my first of her books so I hope I’ll like it.
      x

  2. Great HAUL! New Follower! Visit my STS! Thanks! 😀

    Have a Great Weekend & Happy Reading!
    Michelle @ Mom With A Kindle

  3. Yay new kindle! lol I have to get one soon too! Reading from my computer is killing me! Plus I can’t just take it with me all the time because the battery sucks! LOL
    But don’t worry, you’ll get used to it soon! 🙂

    I need to read Under the Never Sky soon, I heard lots of good things too! And EEK! Angelfall is SO AWESOME! I love that book, but I have to tell you that the sequel doesn’t even have a release date yet, so be warned! I can’t wait for that one! 😀
    Thanks for stopping by My StS!! 🙂

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      You’re right, I’m already starting to adjust! Yeah, they have really long battery lives which is great and they’re small. I bought mine out of practicality rather than true want.

      Me too! I was sooooo excited to get them both and now I can’t wait to read them. Oh dear, well I might read Under the Never Sky first then! haha. 🙂

  4. I really want ‘Under The Never Sky’! Really looking forward to your review!

  5. Oooo, lots of awesome goodies there! Especially the Kindle – congrats! I hope you enjoy your books! 🙂

    Lisa @ Lost in Literature
    My Stacking the Shelves

  6. Yayy! I’m so glad you bought a Kindle, Olivia! I love it and use it SO much, so you’ll definitely be able to read more books now! 🙂 Angelfall and Seraphina are two of my favorite books EVER and I just LOVE them so I hope you enjoy them! On Dublin Street is also an excellent romance so I can’t wait to see what you think of all of these! Happy Reading! 😀

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      I hope I will! I’ve already read one book, but I found my reading a bit slow going, so we’ll see how it goes, but I am starting to adjust.
      Well that’s always GREAT to know. I can’t wait to start both of them when I have time! 🙂
      That’s the e-book I read and I loved it, so I’ll be posting my review of that shortly.
      Thank youuuuu! 😀

  7. Great new books this week! Congrats on the new Kindle! Angelfall is suppose to be amazing, I can’t wait to hear what you think of it!

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      Thank you, I’m starting to adjust more now which is good. I have heard the same as you so I can’t wait to start it.

  8. Ooh that might have been me, I bought Under the Never Sky from TBD, it was under $5, yay!

    And I have been hearing good things about Angelfall and The Night Circus – enjoy your new Kindle!

  9. Congrats on the kindle, I love mine.

    Brandi from Blkosiner’s Book Blog

  10. Congratulations on the new Kindle Livvy! It took me a while getting used to my kindle too, but now I have to take it with me everywhere! Also some great books too! I can’t wait too see what you think of Angelfall and Half-blood! I absolutely loved Seraphina, so hope you do too! Happy reading! 🙂

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      Thanks. Well, I’m starting to adjust to it more, I’ve read a whole book on there now! 🙂
      I’ve heard lots about all three so I can’t wait to start reading them! 🙂

  11. Oh I found it VERY difficult to adjust at first! I even considered giving my kindle away as I hardly ever used it, but then NetGalley came along and I didn’t have much choice but to ease into it. It took a while, but I got there! 😉 Give it some time.

    I’m so excited to see you bought Angelfall and Halfblood. The first is especially good! I can’t wait to hear your thoughts. Amazing haul, Livvy! 🙂

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      I’m glad I’m not just abnormal then! Yes, useful for NetGalley. Oh, I won’t be giving it away since I have too much invested in it now.
      Yes, I’ve heard lots of brilliant things about Angelfall and Halfblood is my first Armintrout so I’m looking forward to that! Thank you. 🙂

  12. Congrats on the Kindle Livvy! I know you’re going to fall in love with it. I really enjoyed Under the Never Sky far more than I thought I would. Hope you do too. Angelfall was really good too. On Dublin Street is HOT with a capital H!! But it’s a great story too. I hope you like it too. I’ll look out for your review. 🙂

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      Thank you. I’m starting to like it a little more. Well, I’m more excited for that now! On Dublin Street was definitely HOT, I’ve finished it and really enjoyed it! 🙂 Hopefully my review will be up this week at some point. 🙂

  13. Congrats on the Kindle. Hope you enjoy Seraphina, I did! 🙂

Thanks for dropping by, I really appreciate every single view. If you're a fellow blogger I'll return follows/comments. Unfortunately this is an award and tag free zone because of time constraints, but I appreciate the thought.

