Top Ten Tuesday (6)

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an weekly meme created and hosted at The Broke and the Bookish.

Top Ten Series I haven’t finished:

In Death Series1. In Death by J.D. Robb

I adore this series, but it’s soooooo long and I’m only on book 17, so I’m slowly slogging my way through it to try and catch up to it. I believe we are in the high thirties now with the amount of books there are. Still, definitely one to watch out for.

dark-hunters2. Dark-Hunters by Sherrilyn Kenyon

I borrow these books from my library along and read them intermittingly when I feel in the mood since and I don’t have enough time to read them all one after the other and I like to read different things. Another excellent paranormal-romance series.

dark carpathian3. Dark-Carpathians by Christine Feehan

I also adore these books, but they are very similar styles and I find it hard to read them all one after the other. Another very sexy paranormal-romance series that I have picked up.

 

wolves of mercy falls4. The Wolves of Mercy Falls by Maggie Stiefvater

I read the first book and wasn’t completely enamoured with it, so it didn’t prompt me to rush onto the next two. I know I will at some point since I’m interested by the direction, but just not engaged enough yet with the story to read the next two.

BlackDaggerBrotherhoodSeries5. Black Dagger Brotherhood by J.R. Ward

J.R. Ward is one of my “sure thing” authors and I really love her, so I haven’t read all of these books purely because I’m savouring them and I need to buy the latest one and I don’t want to read any more without having another book to follow.

mortal instruments6. The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare

I’ve read the first one City of Bones and really loved it, but once again I read so many different books and series that I get distracted.

morganville7. The Morganville Vampires books by Rachel Caine

Getting a feeling of reoccurring paranormal series that I read? This is why I have soooo many unfinished ones because I just read so many I never stick to finishing one? These are another series with a very sassy protagonist and a super hot, fan girl moment love interest who I would want to be my boyfriend and I say this without any doubt.

psy-changeling8. Psy-Changeling series by Nalini Singh

Again another series I borrow from the library. I slowed with this one because the last couple of books I didn’t like so much, so it put me off reading the next few. However, I feel like those ones will be better so I intend to get back into reading them shortly!

Skulduggery-Pleasant9. Skulduggery Pleasant by Derek Landy

I adored the first two books in this series and found them quirky and humorous and I just keep meaning to read the next few books and never do. I have no reason, except again time.

alex-rider10. Alex Rider series by Anthony Horowitz

I first started these when I was younger and I’ve lost count of which ones I’ve read so I need to re-read most of them and finally finish the series, but I do remember quite enjoying the different genre for me that follows a male protagonist involved in lots of action. I was a little bit more of a tom-boy when I was younger so this kind of thing really appealled to me.

It is safe to say, those ten are only the tip of the iceberg with series I read, I could name several more just to be a few, the House of Night series, Nightwalker series, Blood of Eden…

What about you this week?

20 Comments

Filed under Top Ten Tuesday

20 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday (6)

  1. I really want to start reading the Black Dagger Brotherhood series, but I’m trying to carve out a huge chunk of time as I can imagine once I start reading them I won’t want to read anything else! The Wolves of Mercy Falls made my list, I need to re-read Shiver, but I’m excited to see how the series pans out!

    My Top Ten

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      They do need a lot of time, but I’d say they are totally worth it. And they will take up all your time! 😀
      Still, I’m undecided on Shiver at the moment, but I hope you enjoy them.

  2. I’ve only heard of the Wolves of Mercy Falls Series and The Mortal Instruments series, but the other series that you mentioned sounds cool :). And I love how you have “sure-thing” authors. It made me smile when I read that because I remember you asking me if I had a sure thing author when I was going through my reading funk phase.

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      Yes, I have very few “sure-thing” authors because some books are really hit and miss, but Ward has never failed to entertain me.

      A series I think you’d like out of them would be Skulduggery Pleasant!

      🙂

  3. I’ve read all of these series bar the last two. Most of them I’m casually reading. My favourite is probably the In Death series. The Black Dagger is hit and miss for me, mostly miss to be honest.

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      Awww, shame you don’t like BDB since I love it. But, In Death series is brilliant. I know the feeling of reading these casually since there are so many books it’s hard to just sit and read them all.

  4. 9 of your 10 series are ones I’ve never read! I keep thinking about picking up Shiver, but I’ve heard really mixed things about it, so am not sure if I really want to bother with it. Considering my lack of free time, if I ever DO get to it, it won’t be for a long time.

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      Well, I do tend to read a lot of paranormal-romance adult books, but quite a few I get aren’t the biggest of all that series, still I love reading lots of different one.

      Shiver was okay, but I’ve heard better things about her other books The Scorpia/o(?) Races and The Raven Boys so maybe start with them?

      I know the feeling about time! 🙂

      • I’ve actually read Lament by her, and LOVED it. But then again, I’m a giant faerie book fan, and Lament was nothing if not a faerie book. I have The Raven Boys on hold at the library and am just waiting for my turn to come up! I’m pretty excited about reading that one.

        • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

          Ahh right, I’ve seen that one around. Well, if you like her writing you’ll probably like Shiver, it was just a little slow. 🙂 Hope you enjoy that one too!

  5. Wow a lot of these series you have here are LONG!!!! That In Death stack you have there is awesome!

    My TTT

  6. I really loved both City of Ashes and City of Glass but never continued since I loved the original trilogy, so I’d suggest you read those two and then pick up The Infernal Devices which is MUCH better. I never read the last Alex Rider book, but the other books were just all SO good! I haven’t heard of many of the other series you mentioned and so many of them just seem WAY too long, so I’d be thrown off by their series’ size itself, but I wish you the best of luck in getting to all of them! Wonderful list this week, Olivia! 😀

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      I will definitely follow your advice then since I know you have good taste in books! 😀

      I’ve heard good things about The Infernal Devices, but I just wanted to read the first series first I guess and finish it.

      Why haven’t you read the last one?! I wouldn’t just be able to stop. I did enjoy the first few Alex Rider books, but I need to start reading them again since they’re so good!

      Well, quite a few of them are pretty long, but they are REALLY good books which is why I become addicted. I joke you not, I read too many series that are 20-30 books in length, but I just can’t help myself. I should sit and finish one series at a time, but I can’t.

      Thank you Keertana and I will need all the luck I can get to finish these series! 🙂

  7. I haven’t read any of your series but J.D. Robb. You think you’re behind! I’ve only read Book 1 but I loved it and would like to read more! Others you listed are on my tbr.

    Here’s my Top Ten

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      You should definitely read more of the books because they are really great! 🙂

      Well, I hope you enjoy reading.

      Thanks for stopping by.

  8. I just love the Morganville series! Hope you pick them up again sometime. I think Shiver is the best book in the Mercy Falls trilogy so if you weren’t sold on the first book I’d stop there.That J.D. Robb series is long – I can see where that would be intimidating to try to catch up. Happy reading!

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      I definitely will be because Morganville is a series I love reading I just need time.

      Oh right, well it was around a 3.5 rating for me, so I might try the next two and just see how it goes. It’s only two books after all and I own them.
      I
      t definitely is long, but at the same time, I feel like it’s soooo worth reading because I adore it so.

  9. I totally agree with you on the ‘Shiver’ series..well written but it’s very sloooowww paced!
    BTW love how you formatted this post!

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      Definitely and really flowery and emotional, I’ll have to finish it at some point.
      Awww, thank you! 🙂 I was a little quick with getting it up and wondering how it worked, but it seemed to fit.

Thanks for dropping by, I really appreciate every single view. If you're a fellow blogger I'll return follows/comments. Unfortunately this is an award and tag free zone because of time constraints, but I appreciate the thought.

