Waiting on Wednesday (13)

WoW

Waiting on Wednesday is a meme hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine. This meme highlights some of the books whose releases bloggers are most anticipating this year.

This week I’m hotly anticipating…

Then You Were Gone

Then You Were Gone by Lauren Strasnick

Expected Publication: January 8th 2013 by Simon Pulse

Goodreads

Two years ago, Adrienne’s best friend walked out of her life. One week ago, she left Adrienne a desperate, muffled voicemail. Adrienne never called back.

Now Dakota is missing. She left behind a string of broken hearts, a flurry of rumours, and a suicide note.

Adrienne can’t stop obsessing over what might have happened if she’d answered Dakota’s call.

And she’s increasingly convinced that Dakota must still be alive.

Maybe finding and saving Dakota is the only way Adrienne can save herself.

Or maybe it’s too late for them both.

I was drawn in when this was compared to Thirteen Reasons Why which I absolutely adored, so I hope this one will turn out to just as heart-wrenching!

What are you waiting for?

21 Comments

Filed under Waiting on Wednesday

21 responses to “Waiting on Wednesday (13)

  1. Gosh I have to admit that this one sounds terrifying. I’ve been reading so many raw and gritty contemporaries lately, so I know this will fall into that category, but the tone of the synopsis itself has an undercurrent of fear to it which frightens me. Still, this sounds incredibly original, so I’ll probably add it to my shelves after I see what you have to say about it! Wonderful pick this week, Livvy! 🙂

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      It really does.
      When reading it I was like, damn, I need to get my hands on this book soon it sounds so interesting and whilst I don’t do contemporaries that much, certain ones like this do capture my attention and the relation to Thirteen Reasons Why gripped me more. 🙂

  2. This sounds very gripping! I quite enjoyed Thirteen Reasons Why, so I’m glad for that comparison. And it doesn’t hurt that the cover is cool. 😉

    Great pick, Livvy!

  3. I’ve been interested in this one as well! Great choice 🙂

  4. Yes, I loved Thirteen Reasons Why, too. This one sounds fascinating. Great pick!

  5. This one sounds really interesting. Definitely an emotional one! I haven’t read Thirteen Reasons Why, but I’ve been meaning to, and I’ll pick this one up too. Thanks for sharing!

    My WoW

  6. Great pick! It sounds awesome.

  7. This sounds really good! I hadn’t really heard of it before. Can’t wait to get my hands on it. Great pick.
    Em @ A Beautiful Madness
    My WOW

  8. Wow, this sounds really good! I hadn’t heard of it before, but now I’m off to add it to my to-read list. 🙂 Great pick!

  9. This sounds interesting. I am going to have to check into this one and Thirteen Reasons Why. Great pick..

    Jenea @ Books Live Forever
    http://booksliveforever.com/?p=4411

  10. Fun pick! Thanks for sharing!

    Christina @ Ensconced in YA
    My WoW

  11. veganyanerds

    This sounds really good and there is something really striking about the cover

Thanks for dropping by, I really appreciate every single view. If you're a fellow blogger I'll return follows/comments. Unfortunately this is an award and tag free zone because of time constraints, but I appreciate the thought.

