On Dublin Street

On Dublin Street

On Dublin Street by Samantha Young

Genre: Romance, Contemporary, Adult

Publication: Published August 31st 2012

Four years ago, Jocelyn Butler left her tragic past behind in the States and started over in Edinburgh. Burying the grief, ignoring her demons, and forging ahead without any real attachments has worked well for her so far but when Joss moves into a fantastic apartment on Dublin Street, her carefully guarded world is shaken to its core by her new roommate’s sexy older brother.
Braden Carmichael is a man who always gets what he wants. And what he wants is Jocelyn in his bed. Knowing how skittish Joss is concerning any kind of relationship, Braden proposes a sexual arrangement that should satisfy the intense attraction between them without it developing into anything ‘more’. An intrigued Jocelyn agrees, completely unprepared for the Scotsman and his single-minded determination to strip the stubborn young woman bare… to the very soul.

My Review:

I was enthralled from the very first moment. I’m not usually a plain romance girl, in fact, I’m probably never a plain romance girl. There are the odd exceptions, generally in young-adult, but I much prefer to read about vampires swooping in, or some sword wielding hero in a land long forgotten, or petticoats and top hats. Modern day romance is far from being my thing. However, I turned a corner with this book that has certainly made me think that I need to make more exceptions for good romances. Although, this book had a lot more depth than just a hot man and a swoony romance. It had heart-breaking sentiment and a truly stunning twist of emotion and friendship that really kept me reading and had a few tears flowing. Still, I’d label it romance despite the depth of the back story.

I think that’s what really drew me in to label this a “good” romance the fact that we had a well developed back story with some really heart felt issues. There could have been so many problems with this story, but I think Young always managed to reign the plot in at the right moment and whilst it wasn’t perfect the storyline was plausible and really just unfortunate for poor Joss. Her harsh life seemed to only get worse, even when she was escaping, but she did mature as a character and flourish. The problems she faced were dealt with in a proper manner and not just brushed aside. I felt Young didn’t just try and fix the problems with short term solutions that wouldn’t work and she made it more believable which made this contemporary work.

Because reality has no authority there. My imagination controls everything.

Joss was a girl with a lot of issues that she wasn’t dealing with at the start, but then her “hero” swoops in and he’s not perfect. He’s cliché, predictable, but he’s oh so sexy. He wins points every time on how hot he is. I really couldn’t get enough of this man and I would clearly read this book again to just swaddle myself with his presence. He was strong and commanding and he never become overly obsessive and Christian Grey on Joss’s ass, but he was firm and he didn’t allow her to shy away from her problems. He learned to understand her and push her in a healthy way. For me, it was what made his character so likeable the fact that he worked for the benefit of Joss and he never gave up. He happened to be crude and crass at times, but I still managed to fall for this man.

“Asshole.” “Just for that, I expect you to wrap that dirty mouth of yours around my cock tonight.” He narrowed his eyes on me.
I couldn’t believe he’d just said that to me in a fancy restaurant where anyone might overhear. “Are you kidding?” “Babe,” he gave me a look that suggested I was missing the obvious, “I never kid about blowjobs.”

Then we have Joss’s friendship. I think these were what really sold the whole package deal of this novel to me. She pushes everybody away, but slowly across the novel we notice the cracks and how people seep into her life and she forms these friendships that are so abhorrent to her because she’s scared. She’s so scared and it’s endearing. I found connecting with her character to be so flawless. The friendships she created reminded me slightly of my own dysfunctional but entirely normal and I think Young’s novel is so effective because she touches on society and the heart breaking realisms that we deal with. She doesn’t shy away from the problems but storms ahead and deals with them effortlessly.

“Rhian, we’ve talked about this. Normal people don’t like to be called names. For some reason, they tend to take is personally. And you are a tad bitchy, by the way.
“Normal people are so sensitive.”

On another note, this was my very first e-book and after having a few problems assimilating to using my new kindle, I eagerly devoured this novel and I think I can only say that goes in its favour. I’ll be keeping this book as a rainy day read. Definitely check this one out, because I think Young has some real potential and Braden is just hot with a capital ‘H’!

4 books

More stalking available here:

4 Comments

Filed under 2012 Publication, 4 Books, Adult, Contemporary, E-book, Romance, Samantha Young

4 responses to “On Dublin Street

  1. Yayy! I’m so glad you enjoyed this one, Olivia, and I agree – Braden is HOTT! 😉 I love your review and especially how in-depth you went about Joss’ character as it was so complex and truly made this novel astounding for me. Fantastic review, dear – I swear, you just keep getting better and better! 😀

  2. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves (15) |

  3. Oooh I’m so thrilled you loved this Livvie! I love it when you said: ” I really couldn’t get enough of this man and I would clearly read this book again to just swaddle myself with his presence.” Me too! This wasn’t just an average romance, but a story with depth. Plus as you said Braden is just HOT. Congrats on getting your kindle sorted, I promise, it’ll hold a special place in your heart after a while. 🙂

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      It certainly was. I know *fans self* haha. Thank you, haven’t read much recently on it, but I hope it’ll come in useful shortly for holidays and such not.

Thanks for dropping by, I really appreciate every single view. If you're a fellow blogger I'll return follows/comments. Unfortunately this is an award and tag free zone because of time constraints, but I appreciate the thought.

