Stacking the Shelves (15)

Stacking the Shelves

Stacking the Shelves is a meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews.

Here it’s chance to share the books you’ve acquired this week and what you’re excited about. So it will be a weekly Sunday occurrence to see what we’re ‘Stacking the Shelves’ with!

Books Bought:

The Casual Vacancy

Anybody who dares to disrespect this book, moan about swearing/sex or adult please leave now. This is most definitely not Harry Potter, but I applaud Rowling for branching out in diversity and showing us what an amazing author she is. The Casual Vacancy is a different read so far, but it’s still my baby.

E-Books Bought:

Samantha Young

After really enjoying On Dublin Street by Samantha Young, I thought I’d check out one of her young-adult books, so I’m trying Smokeless Fire which sounds awesome!

For Review:

EntangledEverKnife Sworn

I actually requested Knife Sworn by accident because I want to read the first book whilst this is the second, but I clicked request and got approved before I could decline the request. Still, I’ll give it a read and hope I understand. Then I got Ever and Entangled, we’ll see how these go. I wasn’t going to request Entangled, but I heard great things from someone, so they convinced me to request.

Review posted:

What did you get this week?

17 Comments

Filed under Stacking the Shelves

17 responses to “Stacking the Shelves (15)

  1. Oh I can’t wait to hear your thoughts on Casual Vacancy I hope you’re enjoying it so far! Also the cover to Ever is gorgeous! I hope you enjoy all your books Livvy! 🙂

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      It’s a little slow, but I think I’m getting there.
      It does, but I haven’t heard entirely great things. Still, I can hope! Thank you, Jasprit! 🙂

  2. I am so curious about the ‘Casual Vacancy’! Looking forward to reading your review..I have read some less than positive ones already…it’s not surprising because it’s not Harry Potter which I think is not a good reason to dislike something!

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      Oooh, don’t get me ranting. They don’t like it because it’s not Harry Potter and not child-friendly and the change is scaring them. They think Rowling should only write one thing and are horrified that she can change. It might be slow going, but it’s a good book! 🙂

  3. Eeeeeeek! You got The Casual Vacancy!! 😀 Ohh are you reading it already? How is it so far? I think I need it! 😉

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      I am reading it already. It’s a little slow and definitely entirely different to Harry Potter. There isn’t a lot of action and it’s definitely character driven, but I’m loving the plot complexity. I just need to get reading it! 🙂

  4. What a nice selection of books. I am trying to stay away from NetGalley until I catch up on the huge pile of review books I already have. Since school has begun, my reading pace has slowed to a crawl and I keep getting farther and farther behind. My new book posts are at Inside of a Dog and at Ms. Martin Teaches Media. Stop by if you get a chance and happy reading!

  5. Yay for The Casual Vacancy!(: You received a ton of books for review this week too, so while I haven’t heard of them, they look fabulous! I hope you enjoy all your novels, dear! 😀

  6. I’m looking forward to your thoughts on The Casual Vacancy! I read the first 50 pages or so and decided to stop. I knew it would be a difficult one for me to like (the premise doesn’t interest me a single bit) but I still had to give it a try. It’s J.K. Rowling, after all. 😉 Great haul this week, Livvy!

  7. Congrats on all the new books especially Casual Vacancy which has been really popular this week for obvious reasons. Happy reading! If you would like to check out my Stacking The Shelves post you can do so here. 🙂

  8. Love the covers for Entangled and Ever. hope you enjoy and happy reading!
    Brandi from Blkosiner’s Book Blog

  9. I hope you enjoy Entangled, I did 🙂

  10. Looking forward to your thoughts on the Casual Vacancy, I bought it but my mother has whisked it away from me and is holed up in her room reading it. I’m hoping I’ll get it back eventually!! 😀
    Completely agree with you, really applaud J.K for writing the book she wanted to write and not what was ‘expected’. Time and time again, she’s said it’s an adult book and not one for children and yet people are still complaining it’s not suitable for children-she did warn everyone!!

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      I wouldn’t be able to cope if somebody took it away from me. It’s going a little slow at the moment, but I’m not really in a reading mood; so I hope to get into it soon.
      Exactly, she did and I am totally not downgrading her for that. Whilst some of the book has had a negative perception, it’s still a great venture for her.

Thanks for dropping by, I really appreciate every single view. If you're a fellow blogger I'll return follows/comments. Unfortunately this is an award and tag free zone because of time constraints, but I appreciate the thought.

