Waiting on Wednesday (14)

WoW

Waiting on Wednesday is a meme hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine. This meme highlights some of the books whose releases bloggers are most anticipating this year.

This week I’m hotly anticipating…

Venom

Venom by Fiona Paul

Expected Publication: October 30th 2012 by Philomel

Goodreads

Cassandra Caravello is one of Renaissance Venice’s lucky elite: with elegant gowns, sparkling jewels, her own lady’s maid, and a wealthy fiancé, she has everything a girl could desire. Yet ever since her parents’ death, Cassandra has felt trapped, alone in a city of water, where the dark and labyrinthine canals whisper of escape.

When Cass stumbles upon a murdered woman—practically in her own backyard—she’s drawn into a dangerous world of courtesans, killers, and secret societies. Soon, she finds herself falling for Falco, a mysterious artist with a mischievous grin… and a spectacular skill for trouble. Can Cassandra find the murderer, before he finds her? And will she stay true to her fiancé, or succumb to her uncontrollable feelings for Falco?

Beauty, love, romance, and mystery weave together in a stunning novel that’s as seductive and surprising as the city of Venice itself.

This definitely looks and sounds like a brilliant book. I adore Venice; it’s such a beautiful city and the Renaissance era is a fantastic one. I truly hope that this book lives up to expectations.

What are you waiting for?

12 Comments

Filed under Waiting on Wednesday

12 responses to “Waiting on Wednesday (14)

  1. Sounds great. Love the cover.

  2. I agree Livvy, this sounds like a great read! The cover is gorgeous, and the premise also has me intrigued. I think I may have to meet this Falco guy with his mischievous smile soon! It’s good to know the release date is only around the corner! 🙂

  3. Nice pick this week. Makes me think of Assassin’s Creed. 🙂

  4. This one has definitely grown on me. I wasn’t that interested when I first saw it, but the more I see it, the more excited I get about it! Great pick!

    My WoW

  5. Squee! Venom! It’s really high on my wishlist/TBR pile. Great choice! ^.^ If you would like to check out my Waiting On Wednesday you can do so here. 🙂

  6. I loveee the cover of this one and I’ve seen it around a LOT! I was actually offered an ARC of this, but I wasn’t too interested in it, so I’ll wait to see what you make of it before picking it up. Wonderful pick, Olivia! 😀

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      So have I, which has made me wonder. I think I’ll check it out when it’s out (well when I have the time). Oh, well that was lucky even if you didn’t want it. 🙂

  7. I keep seeing this one on the shelf and thinking the cover is intriguing 🙂

  8. Sounds really good, Livvy. Romance, mystery and a gorgeous setting. Ticks all the right boxes. Great pick. 🙂

Thanks for dropping by, I really appreciate every single view. If you're a fellow blogger I'll return follows/comments. Unfortunately this is an award and tag free zone because of time constraints, but I appreciate the thought.

