The Globe Theatre: The Taming of the Shrew

Taming_of_the_Shrew_(globe)

Last Friday I visited the Globe Theatre in London and what a wonderful experience it was! I truly adored the theatre and the experience. I went to see ‘The Taming of the Shrew’ and admittedly I’ve never read it but I wasn’t going to say no to such an opportunity. However, I think reading it now would pose to be something wonderful after adoring the play. I did purchase myself a lovely cushion to perch my backside on for the duration of the (around) three hours in which I sat through ‘The Taming of the Shrew’ because I don’t think my poor backside could cope with hard word for all that time.

         globe inside

I sat over on the right of the stage up on the top right of the stage, so I was nice and dry when it started raining. Poor fellows in the pit had to pull on their rain gear. globe outside

I urge you all to come to Britain and take a visit to the lovely globe because not only is it a landmark to remember, but dropping in to watch a play also really shouldn’t be passed by!

‘The Taming of the Shrew’ was definitely hilarious, witty and easy to keep up with. Shakespeare can be daunting, but I found the production of this play to be all the more easy going and enjoyable.

shrew 3shrew 4shrew1_0shrew2

 

The costumes certainly added to the whole experience and they were really fabulous. This is the cast above that were partaking in the play on my journey and this is definitely what I saw. It made me last most of all when Petruchio struts about naked with a pan on his head. He was certainly a character and one that I won’t forget quickly. His counterpart Katerina, was feisty and entertaining and they really drew me into the performance.

Without a shadow of a doubt, one of my favourite theatre experiences to date.

13 Comments

Filed under Rambles

13 responses to “The Globe Theatre: The Taming of the Shrew

  1. How fun! I so wish I could visit The Globe! Living on the other side of the world makes it kind of tough! Thanks for posting these! They’re so fun for those of us can’t be there in person! 😀

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      That is definitely a shame, but if you ever get a chance to visit the UK, take some time to visit there too! 🙂

  2. Oh wow, Livvie, how wonderful that you got to attend a play at such a historic place. For some reason I had no idea it was open air. That’s a bummer for the people on bottom! Did the actor actually prance around naked?!! Oh my word! That is not something I would forget for a long time. Let’s hope is wasn’t to cold for bits to be embarrassing, if you get my meaning! Lol! Nice to see you had a great time. 🙂

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      Really?! How odd.. Well, go on a dry day and your fine or a wet day, sit in the stands. haha. Yup, well he had something to cover his bits and pieces, but his butt was naked! Some of the guys were groaning at the sight saying we don’t need to see this. haha. I just laughed 🙂

  3. I’ve never been to the Globe theatre or read The Taming of the Shrew yet either 😦 It sounds like you had an amazing time Livvy! I will definitely have to give it a try someday! And I’m glad you were comfy throughout the performance with your cushion! 🙂 Thanks for sharing your experience with us!

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      I did have an amazing time. And I’ll have to get around to reading The Taming of the Shrew soon. 🙂

  4. That is SO awesome that you got to go to the globe! Very cool you saw Taming when you went!

  5. This sounds like an amazing experience! I’d love to see a play at the Globe Theatre!

  6. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves (16) |

  7. Wow, that definitely sounds like loads of fun! I loved ‘The Taming of the Shrew’. I’ve not read all Shakespeare yet but to date, that’s definitely my fave! I’m not so big into the doom & gloom anyway so give me comedy anytime 🙂

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      I actually haven’t read this Shakespeare play, but I did adore it! 🙂 I’ve only read the doom & gloom of Hamlet which I really enjoyed weirdly. But I will have to read this one now! 🙂

Thanks for dropping by, I really appreciate every single view. If you're a fellow blogger I'll return follows/comments. Unfortunately this is an award and tag free zone because of time constraints, but I appreciate the thought.

