Stacking the Shelves (17)

Stacking the Shelves

Stacking the Shelves is a meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews.

Just before I went on holiday and whilst I was on holiday, I got an influx of request. Funny, that my site says I’m not accepting, but any how a couple I actually wanted to read and had made offers previously. So I have plenty to read again.

Books Received for Review.

Legend UnleashedTears of Min Brock

I received requests to review both of these. I’m really excited about Legend Unleashed, it sounds really good and M. Latimer-Ridley are lovely! I’ve been following their blog for a while and it’s so quirky. I can’t wait to pick that book up. Tears of Min Brock sounds equally exciting, so I’m looking forward to that too.

Daughter of the SpellcasterMad Scientist's DaughterRenegade

I actually request Daughter of the Spellcaster by mistake since I thought it was the second book to one of the other books I was reading, however it doesn’t matter since I have the first book to this too. The Mad Scientist’s Daughter I requested after reading Cassandra Rose Clarke’s other novel The Assassin’s Curse which was really enjoyable. Then after reading a brilliant review of Renegade I decided to request that too.

Gifted:

Firelight

One of my friends gave me Firelight to read which is great since I already have the second book, so I’ll be looking forward to reading this.

Bought:

Daughter of Smoke and Bone

So I’ve heard tonnes about Daughter of Smoke & Bone and I’ve been in two minds about it, but I bought it for my kindle with the release of the second book and all the excitement, I thought it best to finally get down to reading this.

Review posted since last time:

Link me up with your StS.

24 Comments

Filed under Stacking the Shelves

24 responses to “Stacking the Shelves (17)

  1. Yayy, such an amazing haul this week, Olivia! I received The Mad Scientist’s Daughter this week as well and I really enjoyed Renegade, so I hope you like that one. I’ve heard a LOT about Firelight, so I’m curious to see what you make of it since I’ve been on the fence about that for awhile. Daughter of Smoke and Bone is amazing. It has its flaws, but somehow, the unique idea, incredible storytelling voice, and just the writing make it work. I’m reading the sequel now which is very different, but which I’m enjoying just as much so far, so I hope you join the throng of Laini Taylor fans soon! 🙂

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      I know, you convinced me to read Renegade! Thanks for the that.

      I’ve heard some okay things about Firelight, but more positive things about the second novel, so I’ll be going into the book with mixed thoughts.

      Well I’ve heard lots about Daughter of Smoke and Bone so hopefully I will enjoy it and I don’t think any book is flawless. Hopefully I will join Laini Taylor fans.

      Thanks for dropping by! 🙂

  2. I’m really curious about The Mad Scientist’s Daughter as I loved Clarke’s YA release. I’m looking forward to your thoughts on that! I hope you enjoy Daughter of Smoke and Bone too. It was one of my favourite books from last year. 🙂

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      I’m exactly the same. I like that she’s doing a different genre too.

      Well, I hope I enjoy Daughter of Smoke and Bone too, since I’ve heard so much about it! 🙂

  3. velvetmorning82

    This is exactly what happend with me with Daughter of the Spellcaster. I am reading now the first to catch up! 🙂 I still dont get why all the fuzz with Renegade i might read this in the future 🙂

  4. Great haul! I haven’t heard of the first few but I also got Renegade which I’ve heard is good and I am still yet to read DoSaB – but I have a copy and feel like I should read it now that book 2 is coming out!

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      Exactly how I feel about the book since I just bought it! And I hope we both enjoy Renegade. Thanks for stopping by.

  5. The Mad Scientist’s Daughter sounds interesting and I also saw a wonderful review on Renegade. I see you’re reading Rebecca. I read it and thought is was a little dated and not in a good way. Overly descriptive writing and I found myself skimming through a lot. I did love the black and white movie. Really good and suspenseful, Hitchcock really knows how to create suspense. Enjoy your reads. 🙂

  6. I’ve heard a lot about DoSaB, hope you enjoy.
    Happy reading,
    Brandi from Blkosiner’s Book Blog

  7. I hope you like Daughter of Smoke and Bone! I really want Renegade!

  8. Awesome haul! And the cover of Renegadr is so gorgeous, I’ll check it out! Happy reading! 😉

  9. I’m listening to Daughter of Smoke and Bone at the moment. I know I was a bit skeptical about the book too but so far it’s been pretty amazing. Hope you enjoy it!

    Have a great week. 🙂

  10. Yay for Daughter of Smoke and Bone Livvy! I really think that you will like this book! I can’t wait to see what you think! Also I’ve seen The Made Scientist’s Daughter everywhere! I think I’m going to request a copy too as I loved The Assassin’s Curse! Hope you enjoy all your books! 🙂

  11. I got Renegade too! I already read it and I loved it! The romance was a tad wonky but otherwise, it was super good! I hope you love it. 🙂

    My Stacking the Shelves

  12. Ah thanks Livvy, you’re lovely too!! 😀
    Daughter of Smoke and Bone is really good, though I hadn’t heard book two was out, I’m off to pop over to Amazon for it! Yay!

Thanks for dropping by, I really appreciate every single view. If you're a fellow blogger I'll return follows/comments. Unfortunately this is an award and tag free zone because of time constraints, but I appreciate the thought.

