Top Ten Tuesday (10)

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an weekly meme created and hosted at The Broke and the Bookish.

This week it’s the Top Ten Books I Wouldn’t Mind Santa Bringing Me. I think it’s far too early for Christmas, but I’m already eating the chocolates out of my advent calendar, so I guess I can stretch myself to a Christmas book list.

santa-reading283746234

That list is probably an accurate length of how long my book ‘wishlist’ is, if not longer, but I’m having to strain myself in narrowing it down to ten. Here goes…

Angel FireDarkfeverFinnikin of the rockFire

InsatiableLegend

Looking for AlaskaThe Gathering StormLone WolfThe Raven Boys

Paranormal.

Darkfever by Karen Marie Morning (GR) – I’ve heard a lot about these books, and they are from one of my favourite genres the Urban Fantasy/Paranormal which is definitely the genre I read when I need to cheer myself up. I can’t believe I haven’t read these books yet because they sound so interesting, so I’d love to get a hold of this for Christmas.

Insatiable by Meg Cabot (GR) – Meg Cabot was one of my favourite authors when I was younger and whilst she’s not always the genre I read now with her being a more chick-lit author for the young-adult genre, I still really find her books classic. However, here she’s touching on vampires which sadly is a weakness of mine and I can’t help but want this book because I still love Meg Cabot!

Contemporary.

Looking For Alaska by John Green (GR) – I’ve heard lots about this author, particularly from his recent book ‘The Fault in Our Stars’ but a friend recommended me this book saying they thought it would be my thing, and even though contemporary isn’t my favourite genre, I feel like I want to read it after the recommendation from a good friend.

Lone Wolf by Jodi Picoult (GR) – I’ve really enjoyed the couple of books I’ve read by Picoult which were ‘Picture Perfect’ and ‘Handle with care’ and this one really caught my interest. She always creates lots of intricate plots with different view points that really are emotional and moving and her novels tend to be pretty weighty and interesting. Picoult is also one of the rare authors of her genre from the adult section I actually read.

Historical.

The Gathering Storm by Robin Bridges (GR) – I would never have noticed this novel if it wasn’t for Savindi over at The Streetlight Reader and she really made me want to pick it up. It’s a historical novel and it has fantasy elements in and this is two of my favourite things and Savindi really sold me the novel, so I can’t help but want it especially since it’s set in Russia, somewhere that I’m desperate to learn more about!

Fantasy.

The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater (GR) – The first Stiefvater book I read and only one to date was ‘Shiver’ and whilst I enjoyed it, I wasn’t blown away and this one has caught my attention at a better novel by her, so I want to try this one to see the different to her Wolves of Mercy series and see whether I’ll enjoy her other books better or I just don’t get along with her as an author because after all the brilliant reviews about her, I feel she deserves a second chance.

Fire by Kristin Cashore (GR) – I really enjoyed Graceling which is the first novel and I’ve been meaning to get my hands on ‘Fire’ ever since because I’m incredibly eager to see the adventure of the Graceling Realm continue and Graceling held lots of promise.

Finninkin of the Rock by Melina Marchetta (GR) – I genuinely don’t think I’ve heard a negative thing about this novel and when scrolling through some people’s books on Goodreads, ya know, stalking shelves, my usual hobby (JOKES) I found this book and it’s premise sounds incredibly interesting and it’s been on my wishlist ever since!

Angel Fire by L.A. Weatherly (GR) – Over a year ago now I read the first book on holiday, I taken it to Italy and stayed up late into the night, even though I was getting up stupidly early to visit Venice and it made me stupidly tired. However, this was one of those books that I was one more page, one more page and I have just never gotten around to purchasing the second and it’s a book I keep picking up and putting back down on the shelf without buying, so if Santa brought it me, I’d be a very happy girl.

Dystopia.

Legend by Marie Lu (GR) – When I first saw this book I wanted to read it and I’ve heard many good things, and lots of different takes, but I first started my dystopia or what I knew of dystopia with ‘The Hunger Games’ and then I saw how big the genre was and this book really captured by attention, so for about a year now I’ve really wanted to read it and it’s really intriguing me with what is behind the cover.

What’s your Top Ten?

28 Comments

Filed under Top Ten Tuesday

28 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday (10)

  1. Oh an awesome list Livvy! Well done sticking to 10 books I know I would have a super hard time doing this! Meg Cabot has been my all time favourite author for ages too, Insatiable is a book I still need to read too! And yay for Darkfever, I’m not a urban fantasy fan but this was my favourite series ever! I hope you get a lot of the books of this list for Christmas! 🙂

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      I know, I nearly put more than ten in, but I resisted. It was so incredibly hard not to though. Still, it is a book we should read together sometime as a read along maybe. Well that’s really exciting to know. I hope I get my hands on these! 🙂

  2. Oooh great list! I still need to read Fire and The Raven Boys. If you read Insatiable, let me know what you think! I was actually kind of disappointed with it 😦 I hope you like it a lot better! It was fun, but just totally different from what I was expecting.

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      I will let you know. That’s certainly a shame because I have heard mixed thoughts on it, but I guess I’d rather read it for myself and find out! 🙂

  3. I love love love the Fever series! I do hope you get that from Santa. I am just now listening to Shiver via audiobook and I have to say, while it is an ok book, The Scorpio Races was brilliant and I’m hoping The Raven Boys (which is on hold for me at the library) is also. I think you should give Maggie Stiefvater another chance.

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      Highly unlikely, since nobody ever buys me books. They say I have too many. So maybe if I get any money, I’ll be able to put it towards the series.
      I think I should too after I’ve heard about The Scorpio Races and The Raven Boys is much better than the Wolves of Mercy series. I have to agree with you on Shiver being an ok book, rather than anything astounding.

  4. Great list! I’d love to read most of those too! 😀 My TTTs are at LKHill and Musings on Fantasia. Happy Tuesday! 😀

  5. Great picks! I have heard some good things about several of these and Angel Fire is definitely one of the more enjoyable angel books since it is quite different. I wish the 3rd one, Angel Fever would hurry up an come out already! My TTT.

    Vyki @ On The Shelf

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      Ahhh, well if there is to be a third one I shall definitely be picking up the second book as soon as I possibly can. Thanks! 🙂

  6. Such a good list! I really liked Fire and Legend and hope you do too. The Raven Boys and Looking for Alaska are highly regarded as well. Hope all of these books make their way to you this year!

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      So do I, but somehow I very much doubt it to be honest. I’m very excited to hear that you liked them! 🙂

  7. Wow, great books! The Fever series is amazing, and I love all of Maggie Stiefvater’s books. Hope you get all of them!

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      Thank you. I’ve heard lots about the Fever series so I really need to get my hands on them soon! 🙂

  8. I started the Fever series very recently and think it’s brilliant so far. I rarely have the time to squeeze in adult books because of my blog, but these are definitely worth it I reckon! I felt the same way about Meg Cabot when I was younger but haven’t read anything by her in the last 2 or 3 years or so. I will need to give her another try. 🙂 Ooh and The Raven Boys and Finnikin are two of my absolute favourites! I hope you can get your hand on them soon! I love this list, Livvy. 🙂

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      Well that’s good to hear. I’m lucky that I never restricted myself because I love both young-adult and adult books and tend to switch between the two a lot.
      No, I haven’t read a book by her recently either which is why I’m looking at reading Insatiable.
      Ahhh well I definitely need to think about getting my hands on these books! Thank you! 🙂

  9. I love Fire it’s a great book, great list!

  10. AHH! SO much awesome! Finnikin, Fire, The Raven Boys, Darkfever, and Looking for Alaska are all amazing. ESPECIALLY Fire. And Finnikin. And Darkfever. I hope you get these books, Livvy, because they are SO GOOD! 🙂

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      Well that’s always good to hear. That’s why they made the list of top ten because they sound so good and I’ve heard so much god stuff about them. I’ll have to make sure I snag them myself or do some pleading (again unlikely) haha. 😀

  11. I LOVE that cover of Fire!!! I still need to read Angel Fire too.

    Check out my TTT.

    Sandy @ Somewhere Only We Know

  12. I want to read Legend as well, hope you get it soon.
    Happy reading,
    Brandi from Blkosiner’s Book Blog

  13. I’ve loved the John Green books I’ve read so far but have yet to pick up Looking for Alaska, though I definitely need to. The Raven Boys is one I’m really looking forward to reading! Hope you get most (or all!) of the books on your list =)

  14. This list is awesome Livvy! I love so many of the books here: Fire, Legend, Finnikin, The Fever Series is amazing!! I hope you get these for Christmas. 🙂

Thanks for dropping by, I really appreciate every single view. If you're a fellow blogger I'll return follows/comments. Unfortunately this is an award and tag free zone because of time constraints, but I appreciate the thought.

