Leeds Christmas Market

Leeds Christmas market

This weekend I took a trip to the Leeds German Christmas Market and I’ve been a little Bah Humbug until now, but it certainly got me more into the Christmas spirit of things. And they’re was so much gorgeous looking and tasty food and things on offer, along with lots of pretty decorations and trinkets.

They had some really cute nutcrackers that reminded me of when I was a little girl and I used to watch the Barbie movie and lots of baubles and other Christmas decorations that made it so pretty!

dougnutsSee, lots of tasty looking food. I had an after-eight doughnut that had this bright green icing on and all this melted chocolate inside. It was divine.

I also had a strawberry one with custard inside. Don’t worry, I didn’t eat it on the same day!!

These are just some of the many treats they had on offer, they also had strawberries and marshmallows coated in chocolate at another store and then there were sweet stalls where I bought a huge liquorice wild cherry wand, that I have to say was very tasty.

stall

They also have these huge decorated ginger biscuits in all different shapes that they’re pretty famous for.

And they had all these nuts with different toppings, such as Nutella and alcoholic ones with baileys and Ameretto. I had some Ameretto topped ones and I’m not usually a nut fan, but they were addictive.

Then obviously they had the traditional Frankfurt sausages, but I didn’t eat any of those, not really my thing. And they had different burgers and these crispy potatoes that looked really nice and pancakes. They was literally tonnes of food on offer for you to try and they were all in these little wooden stalls with all the Christmas decorations up.

It was such a festive event. This is my first year of visiting the market, but I know I’ll be going back next year since it’s a yearly event. 

So in light of my trip to the Christmas market, I’ll say Happy Christmas to you all!

9 Comments

Filed under Rambles

9 responses to “Leeds Christmas Market

  1. It reminds me of a winter wonderland carnival that is always set up near my house every year. The food sounds absolutely drool-worthy! An after eight doughnut is exactly the sort of excuse I’d need to go to these things. 😉

    Glad you had fun!

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      It was certainly a fun experience. And I had a lovely cup of hot, apple flavoured mulled wine. Yummy.

      It was so drool-worthy. I could have bought lots, but I had to restrain myself.

      Exactly. Who wouldn’t want one?! haha.

  2. Aahh, it looks like you had so much fun! I wish we had things like this in the US! 😦 I’m so glad you had a great time, Livvy! 😀

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      I did. It was a brilliant day. Yes, definitely a shame! 😦 Guess its because we’re so close to Europe and Germany. Thank you! 🙂

  3. After eight doughnuts? They sound divine! We had our Christmas market really early over here for some reason, it’s already been and gone, but I hope it comes back again before Christmas, I normally can’t resist the delicious smells wafting over from the stalls. Thanks for sharing this great post with us Livvy! 🙂

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      Yes. After Eight doughnuts. How much better can life get?! Oh, that sucks. Well I hopped over to Leeds, since it’s one of the closest really to me. 🙂

  4. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves (20) | Nerdy Book Reviews

Thanks for dropping by, I really appreciate every single view. If you're a fellow blogger I'll return follows/comments. Unfortunately this is an award and tag free zone because of time constraints, but I appreciate the thought.

