Top Ten Tuesday (11)

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an weekly meme created and hosted at The Broke and the Bookish.

This week it’s the Top Ten Favourite New-To-Me Authors I Read In 2012.

New

2012 has been a big year for me, I took to Goodreads and I started up my blog, Both very daunting things which have lead me to meet lots of wonderful people and I’ve been enlightened to lots of wonderful new authors!

Andrez Bergencassandra rose clarkeElizabeth-Weinjulie-kagawa

mlatimerirdley

katie-mcgarryMaria-S_melissa marrsuzanna collins

So this year I’ve been introduced to new debut authors and older authors that I’ve only just discovered and I’m so excited for some of the titles that I have to read.

Julie Kagawa – this women is all kinds of awesome. I fell in love with The Immortal Rules and I have the Iron Fey series to read, so I’m looking forward to that.

Melissa Marr – I’ve seen this woman around, I mean she’s pretty famous, but it’s only by chance that I won a copy of Carnival of Souls which introduced me to her.

Suzanne Collins – Yeah, I got myself into the whole Hunger Games hype after my friends pestered me to read the books (yes, pestered me, the book collector/geek/nerd/bookaholic was pestered to read a book!!) Admittedly I’m glad I did because I really enjoyed the books and I liked reading books before I watch a film.

Maria V. Snyder – I spelt the woman’s name right… I think. I continually mix the ‘n’ and the ‘y’ up and wonder why I never find her on the internet. Still, Poison Study. Yes, I love you Yelena and Valek. He just shouldn’t be sexy, but he is.

M. Latimer-Ridley – Well, these two ladies I stumbled across on WordPress and I have fallen in love with their book. I’m really excited to see more of their work and their blog is just fabulous, so I’m so glad I found these guys. One of my favourite gems of the year.

Andrez Bergen – I remember he sent me a request asking me to review his book and I was new to blogging and I thought “what the heck” let’s give this thing a try. And surprisingly I really enjoyed the novel and he’s a great guy which makes the reading experience all the better.

Katie McGarry – I loved Pushing the Limits and it was a brilliant debut. I’m looking forward to more and she certainly sold me a contemporary novel, which certainly aren’t my thing.

Elizabeth Wein – This women weaves absolute magic with her words. The emotion she pours in is just so beautiful. Words cannot express. Just go. FIND HER.

Cassandra Rose Clarke – Another awesome debut author with ‘The Assassin’s Curse’ she was starting off a series that looks like it’s going to be really great. I can’t wait for more from her.

Daphne du Maurier – Rebecca is a book I’m currently reading and although it’s taking a while, I really love her writing style and think this is a ‘classic’ that I can genuinely fall in love with. I will definitely be wanting to try more of her books!

What is your TTT?

17 Comments

Filed under Top Ten Tuesday

17 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday (11)

  1. Great list! Julie Kagawa is allll sorts of awesome! Hope you love The Iron Fey series!

  2. Katie McGarry and Suzanne Collins were both on my list as well. Pushing the Limits is one of my favorite contemporaries and I can’t wait to read Dare You To! Great picks. My TTT.

    Vyki @ On The Shelf
    Check out my Giveaway!

  3. Wow. So unbelievably flattered to be on your list, you have no idea. Thank you so much, Livvy. 🙂

  4. stuckinva

    Rebecca is on my TBR list…I picked it up in October after seeing it on a lot of Halloween reads TTT, but it wasn’t what I *wanted* to read, so I think I only made it about 3 pages in before putting it down for something else.

  5. So many authors on your list that I want to read but haven’t! I own Poison Study, and have e-galleys of Assassin’s Curse and Pushing the Limits that I just haven’t gotten to yet. Need to get on that!

    My TTT post 🙂

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      Oh, you must certainly try them because I do love all of my list! 🙂 Those three are particularly brilliant! 🙂

  6. Yay for Melissa Marr! I’ve been a fan of hers ever since I randomly picked up Wicked Lovely in the bookstore all those years ago. 🙂

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      I have yet to try Wicked Lovely. I really enjoyed Carnival of Souls though.

      • Carnival of Souls is quite different from the Wicked Lovely series. Of course, both have definite darkness to them, but obviously there’s no faeries in CoS. And after the end of the Wicked Lovely series, I had had enough. I tried to read a couple additional short stories that went along with the series but found I was just kinda tired of it. Maybe I just liked certain characters better than others.

  7. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves (20) | Nerdy Book Reviews

Thanks for dropping by, I really appreciate every single view. If you're a fellow blogger I'll return follows/comments. Unfortunately this is an award and tag free zone because of time constraints, but I appreciate the thought.

