Waiting on Wednesday (19)

Waiting on Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday is a meme hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine. This meme highlights some of the books whose releases bloggers are most anticipating this year.

What Am I Waiting On?

the program

The Program by Suzanne Young (GR)

Expected Publication: April 30th 2013 by Simon Pulse

In Sloane’s world, true feelings are forbidden, teen suicide is an epidemic, and the only solution is The Program.

Sloane knows better than to cry in front of anyone. With suicide now an international epidemic, one outburst could land her in The Program, the only proven course of treatment. Sloane’s parents have already lost one child; Sloane knows they’ll do anything to keep her alive. She also knows that everyone who’s been through The Program returns as a blank slate. Because their depression is gone—but so are their memories.

Under constant surveillance at home and at school, Sloane puts on a brave face and keeps her feelings buried as deep as she can. The only person Sloane can be herself with is James. He’s promised to keep them both safe and out of treatment, and Sloane knows their love is strong enough to withstand anything. But despite the promises they made to each other, it’s getting harder to hide the truth. They are both growing weaker. Depression is setting in. And The Program is coming for them.

Why Am I Waiting?

It sounds really cool, more dystopia which I’ve only begun to broach into and the cover looks cool. Yeah, I got attracted by the pretty yellow colour on the cover. Shhhhh.

What Are You Waiting On?

19 Comments

Filed under Waiting on Wednesday

19 responses to “Waiting on Wednesday (19)

  1. This sounds like a really good book!

    Here’s my WoW 🙂

    P.S I just saw that you’re reading ‘Rebecca’, I hope you love it as much as I did! 😀

  2. Oh, wow, The Program sounds really interesting! I’m kind of surprised how many dystopian books have similar themes but still manage to intrigue me. Great choice this week. I’m definitely adding it to my to-read list!

  3. This one sounds so good. I love its concept. Great pick!

    My WoW

  4. I’m not a huge fan of the cover, but I agree – it sounds REALLY good. I can’t wait to read it! 🙂

  5. This sounds really interesting, looking forward to your review!

  6. The yellow coveralls look like they came from geeks-r-us! Lol! This idea is frightening to me. A world without feelings wouldn’t be worth living in. Great pick Livvy. 🙂

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      haha. I see what you mean! It wouldn’t, but I want to see if they manage to pull this one off because in some others it hasn’t really worked!

  7. This is something quite attractive about that yellow on the cover. 😉

    I’m really looking forward to this too! A whole concept of a suicide epidemic is pretty original. I’m curious to see how that is tackled, and I can’t wait to meet the characters too. Lovely pick!

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      There is. I agree with you there.

      Yes, it’s definitely original, but a rather controversial topic to tackle. So I can’t wait to see how it’s done! 🙂

  8. Oh I love the look and sound of this one too Livvy, I too have been reading much more dystopian books lately and having a great time! Only a few more months to go for the release of this one! yay! 🙂

  9. This looks so good! I’ll add it to my TBR list! 🙂

    Alice @ Alice in Readerland

  10. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves (20) | Nerdy Book Reviews

Thanks for dropping by, I really appreciate every single view. If you're a fellow blogger I'll return follows/comments. Unfortunately this is an award and tag free zone because of time constraints, but I appreciate the thought.

