Summary of 2012

Happy New YEar

The year of 2012 has been a year full of ups and downs for me. Most importantly, it has brought this baby, commonly known as a blog or Nerdy Book Reviews. And I have met soooooo many wonderful people that are so delightful and kind that I couldn’t have asked for a better year.

Onto the book side of things.

Most hated book of the year goes to…

Arthur Miller’s The Crucible

hourglasscastle-big

I read this at the start of the year and I know it’s technically a play, but still I loathed it with the greatest passion. Unfortunately I had to read this for school and then write an essay on it for coursework, luckily how much I loathed it wasn’t in detriment to my grade, but the characters, the plot I wanted to set this book on fire. Usually I’m pretty ambivalent when it comes to not liking a book, but the whiny characters that wouldn’t admit the truth and take responsibility, that wouldn’t save themselves and the context of the play just grated on my nerves. The radical puritans and the behaviour annoyed me and I adore history, but anything Salem related now has me fleeing because I abhorred this novel so much.

Fictional character I fell most deeply in love with goes to..

KANIN!

The Immortal Rules

I think this man might have spoilt me for most other fictional characters out there and I am eagerly awaiting the next instalment of the Blood of Eden series that Kagawa is bringing up and hopefully getting lots more Kanin. There was something so suave and aloof about him in The Immortal Rules and that edge of danger just had me bouncing in my seat and flicking through the pages to find out when he’d appear next. Unlucky for me that he’s not even in the majority of the novel. I WANT MORE PLEASE!

Book that most surprised me…

Pushing the Limits by Katie McGarry

pushing the limits

I never truly expected to like this novel. I mean honestly, it’s contemporary and I thought it would be so cliché with the bad boy and trouble teen girl that I’d be fleeing in the opposite direction. I was most likely deluded my some rave rating I though when first picking up this novel, however I am so pleased to say this book is an honest gem! The development of the characters and their imperfections that don’t make them cliché or typical of so many young-adult novels. They have a genuine development and issues that they deal with makes it all the more entertaining and exciting to read. I feel in love with the romance and got immersed in every minute. If you haven’t picked this one up yet, please do!

Best trip back in time goes to…

Dragon’s Child by M.K. Hume

dragon's child

I adore history, and I can talk about it for hours, but oddly, I don’t read all that many historical novels. I like the tales about Arthur and the whole mythology element about whether he existed or not, but M.K. Hume really dragged me into an alternative world that could have been Arthur’s life and added lots of different elements about him as a serving boy and his trial to grow into a grown man. Compared to Bernard Cornwell’s series about Arthur, this one held an Arthur that I liked a lot more and whilst both felt realistic, the winning character of Arthur in Dragon’s Child makes me pick it as my favourite trip back in time. 

Most unusual book of the year goes to…

Angela Carter’s The Bloody Chamber and Short stories

the bloody chamber

Angela Carter takes a twist to fairy tales and brings a new, modern gothic and rather feminist slant to the stories. I was expecting this stories to be eye-opening and they did not disappoint in that department. If you’re faint-hearted, narrow-minded or just easily queasy, avoid this book like the plague. However if you fancy something that might twist your average red riding hood into a wolf or an alluring figure of sexuality, then open the door to the twisted world of Carter. Ultimately I really enjoyed reading Carter’s short stories because it was a very enlightening. However, be warned she does not shy away from the explicit nature of the world.

Best Indie Authors I’ve encountered this year goes to…

M. Latimer-Ridley

mlatimerridley

These two are just bundles of fun! They’re friendly, humorous and most of all talented. I don’t think my year would have been quite the same without stumbling across their blog and getting swept away in the reading experience. And, I can’t help but love the origin of their name Latimer and Ridley from two bishops back in Tudor England who got burnt at the stake by Mary Tudor for being heretics. They deserve all the support possible and I wish them best of luck for 2013!

Hottest paranormal-romance of the year goes to…

Branded by Fire by Nalini Singh

branded-by-fire1

The pair look like they’re on fire already! Need I say more? Literally, Singh blew me away with this one and she’s not quite managed to hit the nail on the head since with me because these two were so explosive. A cat and wolf. Surely they can’t mix? Well Singh takes on the challenge of integrating two entirely different shapeshifter species and sets the book on fire in the process. If this isn’t a reason to love Singh, then I don’t know what it.

Biggest disappointment of the year goes to…

One Grave at a Time by Jeaniene Frost

one-grave-at-a-time

I adore Jeaniene Frost on all counts, and I was so excited for this book that I ordered this book online instead of waiting for my library to get the book in. Only with hindsight, I wished I hadn’t. This book wasn’t a bad book at all, it just disappointed me a lot because I was expecting such high things from Jeaniene Frost and she’d been so marvellous with all her previous books. However in this one, I felt like she was dragging out the series too much and that it was all a little far-fetched and I didn’t really like some of the characters, so it didn’t bode well for me reading this one. Really unfortunate for me to be honest because I was very excited about it.

Book that got the biggest blub of the year goes to…

Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein

code name verity

Get the tissues. Stock the tissues. Prepare for the most amazing, heart-breaking friendship of all times that changes all meaning of things and be prepared to cry. This novel is astounding.

20 Comments

Filed under Rambles

20 responses to “Summary of 2012

  1. I love Kanin too! I don’t see what’s so great about Zeke…gimme a Kanin any day! 😉 I also really enjoyed CNV and PtL definitely surprised me as well. I haven’t read a lot of these, though, so I’ll definitely need to check them out. Amazing list, Olivia! 😀

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      Exactly. I didn’t see this either. Zeke was just boring… You will have to check them out. I’m glad I could point some good books out to you! 🙂
      Thanks.

  2. Oh these are some great picks Livvy, I agree I definitely need more Kanin in the next book too, I always hoped that he would make a re-appearance in The Immortal Rules. Code Name Verity definitely too my by surprise too! I hope you get to read many more awesome books next year too! 🙂

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      So did I. I hoped very much so, but sadly he didn’t/

      I think it did a lot of people.

      So do I. Thanks for dropping by!

  3. I still haven’t read The Immortal Rules! I’ll have to pick it up in 2013 🙂

  4. Thank you, you’re part of my blog’s top 5 most active commenters!:)

  5. Oh yes, I defo cried the most during Code Name Verity!

    And I have plans to read some of Nalini’s books, I’m glad you like her writing 🙂

    Happy New Year!

  6. Pushing the Limits surprised me so much as well! I’m not really a contemp person, and thought that this would be just another stereotypical romance. But it wasn’t at all. It was actually raw and emotional, and the characters AND romance were fantastic. I fell in love! I also really loved Kanin from The Immortal Rules, surprisingly. The Immortal Rules was my first Julie Kagawa book, and I think I surprised myself a little with that one as well by liking it so much.

    Fantastic post Livvy! I hope 2013 brings you a ton of fabulous new books. ❤

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      Exactly how I felt about Pushing the Limits.

      Have to agree with you about Kagawa!

      Thank you. Hope it does the same for you too! 🙂

  7. Happy New Year! Great list! Looking forward to reading more of your reviews in 2013!

  8. Great post Livvy. I’ll be sure to steer clear of The Crucible this year 🙂 but I’ll have to check out Pushing the Limits. Happy reading in 2013 🙂

  9. Haha, I love Kanin too, and you know I adore Pushing the Limits. 😉 I’m sorry about One Grave at a Time, though, the Night Huntress series is one of my ultimate favourites. Fantastic list, Livvy! 🙂

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      Yes, it’s one of my favourites too, which is why I was so disappointed with it. Annoying really. Hopefully the next one will be better!
      🙂

  10. I loved Pushing the Limits too! Kanin was definitely an interesting character in Immortal Rules. Can’t wait to get more on him. Sorry you had to suffer through The Crucible. I don’t think I’d ever want to watch the movie or play or read that dreary story. At least you got to bitch about it in your essay, lol! 🙂

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      Yeah, I did get to do that! haha. I had to suffer through the movie too. Don’t watch that either, it’s terrible!

      Have to agree with you on PtL and Kanin though! 🙂

Thanks for dropping by, I really appreciate every single view. If you're a fellow blogger I'll return follows/comments. Unfortunately this is an award and tag free zone because of time constraints, but I appreciate the thought.

