Through the Eyes of a Nerd: Life of Pi

Through the Eyes of a Nerd

Through the Eyes of a Nerd is a new little ‘meme’ I’ll be running on my blog about films I have recently watched at the cinema/films on TV/I own or TV series. It will be anything visual really with a little analysis from me on my thoughts etc…

Life-of-Pi-3D-poster

This week I’m going to take a look at Life of Pi. I went to see this between Christmas and New Year and I have to stay, the visuals were absolutely stunning. The only problem I had was I had to watch it in 3D and frankly sitting for 2 hours hurt my head by the end of things.

Life of Pi is definitely a movie with meaning. It is not something that you can simply overlook, it really makes you look inside yourself and think ‘what do I really believe?’ but it doesn’t force it down your throat like I quite expected, it’s so subtle. Pi is struggling to decide his faith and thereby associate himself with an identity and what this faith means and to who he should worship and the Life of Pi definitely focuses on him testing this to its limits. However it does it in an innovative, engaging and insightful way that didn’t make the 2 hours boring for me. I was moved by the visual, the emotion and the heart-wrenching performance by Surja Sharma who is pretty much our main focus on the film is pretty astounding. He does incredibly well to play his solo performance on the boat without it becoming mind-numbingly boring.

lifeofpi

The tiger in the film is simply stunning and I loved all the animals and how they got incorporated into the film because the CGI was pretty astounding.

The other animals seemed really realistic with the zebras and hyenas. They even had my mum asking me if they were real or fake by the end because she couldn’t tell.

I think Life of Pi excelled itself on the levels of CGI because it managed to hold realism whilst still clearly exploring points of faith and the unbelievable and whether such things could truly exist.

This has to be one of my favourite scenes in the movie where Pi is sat upon the rafter surrounded by jellyfish beneath him that light up the sea and the stars are in the sky. It looks really incredible and it’s so sedate and immersing that you just relax and think. There are very few movies that enable you to feel in a state of bliss and calm and stiLife-of-Pi1ll manages to keep you awake and engaged at every stage in my opinion. Life of Pi seems to be a rare exception.

Visually on a widescreen you couldn’t get anything more impacting and profound. I think on an aesthetic level the elements of Life of Pi added to the meaning beneath the surface with how bold and emphasised they were. Everything seemed to be in the extremes and rather slow and drawn out, but far from making the plot cumbersome, I think this only added to the pace and allowing the meaning to sink in and you to really get drawn into the film.

There are time jumps within Life of Pi, so we don’t spend the whole story focused on Pi on a boat. We originally look at his time in India and are introduced to his adult self who looks back to tell the story. I particularly like the time jumps in the narrative to chop and change things and make it all a little unpredictable because we were slowly drawn from the world of the present into the past. Although the past felt incredibly realistic in how absorbing it was that once again it felt like the present, so the narrative jumps serve to wrench you from one place to another, but there was sufficient time between each jump to allow you to become immersed in the tale and not feel like you were a ping-pong ball.

Obviously I can’t determine how true a reflection Life of Pi is off the book, but I do believe it has been made a little more children friendly with the rating of a PG (Parental Guidance) meaning a few of the more gory scenes and nakedness is removed or toned down to make for more wider viewing audience. However, I’ve heard that it is a fairly accurate representation of the book and not too much is changed, which is always a positive thing. I think Life of Pi on the big screen is simply something worth seeing. Either way, the meaning of Life of Pi isn’t really a kiddie film even with the animals, I would recommend this to people who are looking for a little more in life’s meaning or some simply stunning cinematography.

Life-of-Pi-Ending-Explained

Overall Life of Pi surprised me immensely and apart from hurting my eyes with the silly 3D glasses, I’d recommend everybody goes see this film if not just to watch all the amazing cinematic visuals and CGI scenes that are totally awesome and not terrible fake like some films. Through the eyes of a nerd, they looked pretty seamless. For a film that stepped out of my comfort zone and that didn’t have a lot of action, it kept me riveted and it really challenged my thoughts on faith and the end was pretty poignant. After seeing the film, it made me want to try the book which one of my friends has read several times, so hopefully I shall find the book equally as thought-provoking if not more than the film.

15 Comments

Filed under Through the Eyes of a Nerd

15 responses to “Through the Eyes of a Nerd: Life of Pi

  1. I’m glad you enjoyed the movie, Olivia! I saw it on New Year’s and while I appreciated the messages, the visuals, and the acting, I was quite bored. I feel like it would have been much more powerful as a book than a movie, which is why I intend to pick up the novel sometime this year for sure. Still, I’m thrilled you liked the movie so much! 🙂

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      I can see why you say that. My mum fell asleep at one point! haha. There were a couple of points that bored me and whilst I wouldn’t rush to see it again that I was pleasantly surprised allowed me to enjoy it much more. We shall have to do a read along with it!

  2. This sounds like a really good movie and I am not tempted to run out and see it! Are you planning to review Warm Bodies? If you are then we could link up our reviews along with Hopeful Heroine’s 🙂

    • not=now! LOL Sorry for the typo..completely changes my meaning o.O

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      Ahh, I was a little confused with your first comment. Well I hope you do enjoy the film if you see it.

      Warm Bodies? Link to what?

      • I see I am completely confusing people this evening LOL Sorry..post work brain.. I am coordinating with The Hopeful Heroine on my book to movie posts..the plan is to post around the same day with links to each others reviews to give a different point of view on the same movie (ones that are based on books). If you are interested we could all three link to each other, so that would be three different points of view! You could join in on just one or none of them if you aren’t interested in any! :)These are the ones we discussed!

        Warm Bodies – February 1, 2013
        Beautiful Creatures – February 13, 2013
        Oz The Great and Powerful- March 8, 2013
        The Host- March 29,2013
        The Great Gatsby- May 10,2013
        The Mortal Instruments August 23, 2013
        Percy Jackson: Sea of Monsters August 16, 2013
        Ender’s Game- November 1, 2013
        Catching Fire- November 22, 2013
        The Hobbit: Desolation of Smaug -December 13, 2013

        • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

          Ahh right. Well obviously I’m not sure if I’ll have read all the books for these… And it depends if/when I get to the cinema to see them. However that would be fun, I’d love to co-ordinate. And it depends what my cinema decides they’ll put on because the darn place can be temperamental.
          Right, I know my cinema is showing, Warm Bodies (out on the 8th for me), Beautiful Creatures, Oz and The Host for definite.
          So hopefully one of those if not a couple I’d love to take part in. The others are a way off so I shall have to get back to you, but most likely Catching Fire and The Mortal Instruments I’d like to see too.
          Sounds like a fab plan.

        • I had forgotten that you are in the UK so the dates are different..in that case just tell me when your reviews are up and I will put the link in then since the days don’t always line up! I think it would be fun and great way to get different points of view on movies!

        • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

          Okie kokie. I think most are similar, but obviously I won’t get to every one on release dates. However, I shall let you know! 🙂

  3. Life of Pi looks so visually stunning that I’m curious about it even if it’s nothing like the movies I usually see. And I’ve heard great things about the book too. Glad it exceeded your expectations!

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      Yes, that’s definitely the same with me, but it’s a film that surprised me so I’m glad I saw it. I’ve heard good things too about the book! 🙂

  4. Wow, this movie sounds stunning! I’m going to admit- I wasn’t very fond about seeing it when I first saw the trailer, but I think you’ve convinced me that I’ll have to see this one Livvy! At the very minimum, I’ll rent it out from Redbox. I love how this book can make you relax and ponder, while still keeping you engaged. That’s such a difficult balance to achieve, especially in movies, when your attention starts to wander. But it definitely seems like the movie did a great job of slowly pulling you into the flashbacks, yet not making anything jarring. The scene you described with the jellyfish looks fantastic, and I can’t wait to see it for myself!

    Fantastic review Livvy, thank you so much for sharing! ❤ I'll have to see this one soon. =)

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      I’m glad I could convince you to give this one a shot because I think it has a lot of surprises up it’s sleeve. It might not be a fast moving film, but it has a lot of beautiful scenes and interesting scenes that keep things moving and I did really enjoy it.
      I hope you enjoy it as much as I did! 🙂

  5. Fab post! I really wanted to see this one, but I wasn’t sure if it might be too scary for my 7 year old. Loved the book.

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      Hmm, yeah, it’s not quite a kiddy friendly film whilst it’s a PG it could be a little boring in places and there are a couple of jumpy moments. I’d still recommend the film, but maybe your 7 year old wouldn’t quite appreciate it! 🙂

Thanks for dropping by, I really appreciate every single view. If you're a fellow blogger I'll return follows/comments. Unfortunately this is an award and tag free zone because of time constraints, but I appreciate the thought.

