Waiting on Wednesday (21)

Waiting on Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday is a meme hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine. This meme highlights some of the books whose releases bloggers are most anticipating this year.

What Am I Waiting On?

Ink

Ink by Amanda Sun

Expected Publication: June 25th 2013 by Harlequin Teen

I looked down at the paper, still touching the tip of my shoe. I reached for it, flipping the page over to look.

Scrawls of ink outlined a drawing of a girl lying on a bench.

A sick feeling started to twist in my stomach, like motion sickness.

And then the girl in the drawing turned her head, and her inky eyes glared straight into mine.

On the heels of a family tragedy, the last thing Katie Greene wants to do is move halfway across the world. Stuck with her aunt in Shizuoka, Japan, Katie feels lost. Alone. She doesn’t know the language, she can barely hold a pair of chopsticks, and she can’t seem to get the hang of taking her shoes off whenever she enters a building.

Then there’s gorgeous but aloof Tomohiro, star of the school’s kendo team. How did he really get the scar on his arm? Katie isn’t prepared for the answer. But when she sees the things he draws start moving, there’s no denying the truth: Tomo has a connection to the ancient gods of Japan, and being near Katie is causing his abilities to spiral out of control. If the wrong people notice, they’ll both be targets.

Katie never wanted to move to Japan—now she may not make it out of the country alive.

Why Am I Waiting?

It sounds different and touching that we work in something rather fantasy with this ability and connection to the ancient gods and deal with an emotional aspect too. I like the setting of Japan and hopefully after my failure to like Stormdancer, something with a different cultural take will still manage to engage me and it’s just the one book that I couldn’t get along with. And the cover looks rather gorgeous with the dripping ink and flower blossoms.

What Are You Waiting On?

22 Comments

Filed under Waiting on Wednesday

22 responses to “Waiting on Wednesday (21)

  1. Oh I agree the cover to this book and premise sounds so gorgeous. I love books which bring something different and this definitely sounds like it does. I hope you end up enjoying this a lot more than Stormdancer! Great pick Livvy! 🙂

  2. YES! I can’t wait for this book! The cover is so gorgeous; I’m such a sucker for watercolor.

  3. This is an interesting pick, for the setting alone. I don’t think I’ve ever read anything set in Japan. Great pick Livvy. 🙂

  4. Great choice. Ink does look fantastic. The premise is so creative and I love books set in Japan too. Hope you enjoy it!

  5. Ohh this sounds really different. It sounds really good! Great choice :).
    My WoW for this week 🙂

  6. Oh I have this book on my TBR! I can’t wait to read it. It sounds so good! Great pick!

    Check out my WoW

    Happy reading!

  7. beautiful cover!
    Hope you love it when you finally get the chance to read it.

    My Waiting on Wednesday Pick

  8. I think it’s great that this book has a different cultural take to the norm. I love all things Japanese, and can’t wait to see what the author does with the story here. The premise is fantastic, too! Great pick, Livvy. 🙂

  9. I’ve heard nothing but good things about this book so far, Livvy! It does have a gorgeous cover and I love the unique setting. Great pick! 🙂

  10. Wow, this sounds original! I’ve seen the cover here and there, but I knew very little about it until now. I definitely want to read it as soon as I can. A breath of originality is always a good thing.

  11. Love the cover, this sounds intriguing! 🙂

Thanks for dropping by, I really appreciate every single view. If you're a fellow blogger I'll return follows/comments. Unfortunately this is an award and tag free zone because of time constraints, but I appreciate the thought.

