Stacking the Shelves (25)

Stacking the Shelves

Stacking the Shelves is a meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews.

Book for Review.

Vanilla on TopFirebrand

Some more contemporary goodies with Vanilla on Top, it looks interesting… So I’ll leave it at that. Firebrand looks really good, fantasy and historical-ish setting, so this should be right up my street. Can’t wait to start that one!

Books Bought.

photo

So, I haven’t actually gotten around to reading The Iron King yet, but I loved Kagawa’s Immortal Rules series and didn’t want to start this series not having the rest, so when they were 2 for £3 in The Works, I snatched them up. I’m very happy to have them all now and hopefully I’ll be able to start the series this year.

photo (1)photo (2)photo (3)

I do love the covers for these with all the swirls, except “The next Twilight” just puts me off. If it didn’t have that, I’d like the covers much more. So I now have The Iron Daughter, The Iron Queen and The Iron Knight to complete my series.

photo (4)

I finally got around to spending my gift voucher that I got for Christmas. I don’t think it’s ever taken me so long to get around to actually spending a gift voucher for a book store.

photo (5)photo (6)

I got these two babies. Don’t they just look beautiful?! I love the cover of Elantris with the green on. It looks really spooky and eerie and green is my favourite cover. I’ve heard so much about this book and been told to read it countless times, so finally I have my own copy to read.

Anno Dracula is a book I stumbled across and it just sounds incredibly exciting and interesting. I like the idea of it being set during Queen Victoria’s reign and Dracula. I do love my vampires, so I can’t wait to get my teeth into this one.

And in the process you get to see my white/cream bedding. Yes, what was I thinking when I let my mother buy white bedding for me. I attract muck and I have white bedding. Le Sigh. It’s still white though, which is always good or cream. Depends on your colour vision.

And… on my shopping spree of books I stumbled into my favourite high street store and I got a pretty scarf. It’s so nice and warm to snuggle in. So much so that my friend stole it and ran away, luckily I retrieved it. Yay!

photo (2)

What did you get this week?

32 Comments

Filed under Stacking the Shelves

32 responses to “Stacking the Shelves (25)

  1. I still have yet to read anything by Julie Kagawa. Although I keep hearing such good things about her books, that I’m excited for them when I finally have the chance to read them.

  2. I LOVE the Iron Fey series! One of my faves for sure 😀 I really hope you enjoy those!

    Janina
    My Haul!

  3. I plan on reading The Iron King this year, to see if I’ll like the series. I love faerie books, but have heard mixed things about this one.

    Happy Reading! 🙂

    My StS post 🙂

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      Yes, I just bought them all because I didn’t want to start without having the others, and I loved Kagawa’s The Immortal Rules. I have heard mixed things, but I don’t think I’ll hate them! 🙂

  4. Livvy, I know how much you loved The Immortal Rules, so I hope Kagawa’s debut series works out for you too. I wasn’t a huge fan of it at all, but I’m in the minority, so I can’t wait to hear your thoughts! 🙂

  5. Kate

    Great haul, I reallyliked Vanilla on top, enjoy : )

    my Book haul and international giveaway

  6. Ooooo, Vanilla on Top looks YUM!!! And you got some of Julie Kagawa’s books! FUN!!! Happy reading!!!!

    My STS Post

  7. I really liked the ‘Iron’ series, so hopefully you’ll enjoy that too! I’ve also been looking for some good historical fiction. Great haul this week!

  8. I got the Iron Fey series last month for Christmas. I’ve so anxious to FINALLY get to read it!! I’ve been hearing how awesome it is for what seems like forever! 🙂 I hope you enjoy your books!

  9. I love the covers of the Iron Fey series, too. I haven’t read the books though. I don’t usually like books about the fey. They are just too manipulative.

    Enjoy all your goodies. Happy reading 🙂

  10. I’m reading The Iron Knight at the moment, and I’m just not as enthusiastic about the Iron Fey series as I was about The Immortal Rules, which, like you, I loved. I keep hearing such amazing things about Brandon Sanderson’s Mistborn series, and as a fantasy fan, I really need to check out his books. Happy reading, and thanks for stopping by!

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      Oh, that sucks a lot! I hope you get into it more, but I shall still endeavour to try the Iron Fey series since I love Kagawa so much.
      Yes, I’ve heard great things too! 🙂

  11. I also have The Iron Knight in my STS post today! You’ve got a good deal with those Iron Fey series, hope you’ll enjoy them! 🙂

  12. Awesome books! I haven’t read the Iron Fey series yet but I’ve heard a ton of great things… and the covers are gorgeous 🙂 I hope you enjoy all your reads!!

  13. Love the scarf it is super cute! I need to read the Iron King series finally!

  14. trayche

    I just read The Iron Fey series, just week ago! I loved it!!! Wait till you read The Iron Knight!! That one’s the best!!!
    Here’s what I got this week.
    http://iloveteenbooks.blogspot.com/2013/01/in-my-mailbox-16.html

  15. Ohhh, I love the Iron Fey! You’re in for a treat 🙂

    Thanks for stopping by!

  16. OMG The Iron Fey! I totally still need to read that series. *shame*

Thanks for dropping by, I really appreciate every single view. If you're a fellow blogger I'll return follows/comments. Unfortunately this is an award and tag free zone because of time constraints, but I appreciate the thought.

