Blood Red Road

Blood Red Road

Blood Red Road by Moria Young

Series: Dust Lands #1

Genre: Dystopia, Young-Adult, Romance

Published: June 2nd 2011 by Scholastic

The Plot.

“I ain’t afeared of nuthin.”

When Saba’s brother is stolen, red rage fills her soul.

She races across the cruel dustlands to find him.

Saba can trust no one. Even the boy who saves her life.

She must silence her heart to survive.

Blood will spill.

The Review.

Blood Red Road is a novel I have seen everywhere! It seems to just keep popping up in the world of YA books and blogging alike and when I saw a copy in my library I just knew I had to get my hands on it. It didn’t disappoint me, although it was entirely not what I expected. I’m not sure what I thought would happen going into the novel but it blew me away on a whirlwind of different, rather brutal scenes that kept a fast-paced, emotional and exciting plot. It touched on friendship, family, trust and a destruction in the world that is the undertone for most dystopia/post-apocalyptic novels.

Firstly I’m going to start with the most distinctive part of Blood Red Road and that being the writing style. I have read a few reviews that rant about grammatical correctness and the language being hard to get into and unreadable, but frankly I adored it. Now I realise it won’t be for everyone, but I immediately fell into the character and style of Saba and it only enabled me to connect so much more to her as a character. I found that it distinguished the novel into a unique light that makes it different from other dystopia novels of its age and I like Young’s daring to step outside the boundaries of grammatically correct fiction because whilst I always appreciate a well-written novel, Blood Red Road brought with it rough edges that really reflected the brutality of the world. Another element to why I enjoyed the language so much is because it reminded me of something rather archaic and old world that I loved. The interesting concept to wrap your mind around is the lack of differentiation between speech and Saba’s thoughts, but it quickly becomes easy to pick up and fall into reading.

It was all set in the stars the moment the world began. The time of yer birthin, the time of yer death. Even what kinda person yer gonna be, good or bad.”

Young brings you in rather steadily I felt to this language style because the further the novel develops, the more Saba seems to slip into the “yer” and “kinda” that truly encapsulate her character. Moving on to Saba’s character she annoyed the hell out of me, she was stubborn, ungrateful and refused to believe she could be wrong, but in a way she reminded me of myself in the fact that I can’t be wrong and I think that’s what made her relatable; her faults. I don’t want to read about a perfect character and she certainly wasn’t, but she developed with her band of friends and family that she acquired (the friends, not the family) over the novel and seeing her character change before you eyes, especially when the novel was narrated through her eyes was really enlightening. I also liked that she was tough and feisty because she wasn’t prepared to let other people fight her battles and whilst this at times could be a flaw to her desire to conquer the world on her own, I did love her for it. Saba has to be one of my favourite heroines because she was smart, feisty, full of faults, but at the heart of her she cared and that was what pushed her forward.

My choice of next character is a crow, Nero. Not just any crow. I have never quite found myself enamoured with a crow and when I see them flying and swooping about their send shivers down my spine with their circling and caws. However Nero was a crow that crept into my heart in his smart behaviour and his loyalty to Saba. The dynamic of their relationship was interesting and I never thought Young would be able to develop a crow in such a manner that he could be almost like a person. He is an integral part to the novel and as such, he appears on the cover I have. I rather like the simplicity and effectiveness of this cover with the stark black of Nero and the red blood splatter that covers the words with the road in yellow to symbolise the dustlands. It’s incredibly effective in portraying the novel.

The next character I’m going to look at is Jack… It took me a while to get my head around this boy and like Saba I was wary. I felt at every moment he was going to break my heart in some way and he was exceedingly complicated. And the fact that I didn’t like his character to start with, or how he treated Saba. I thought he was unfair and he behaved in a way that he had no right to, but then when you really looked, he helped her and I liked that my opinion of him changed by the end of the novel. I could appreciate him as a sexy love interest and a brooding hero, but he didn’t capture my heart. I followed the rather torturous romance between these two and watched it break my heart and I wanted to shake them both, but I didn’t feel invested in loving Jack like I have done with so many previous love interests. There was just something about his character that didn’t settle with me.

“Jack’s voice comes from behind me, makes me jump.

He ain’t got a chance when you smile at him like that.

I turn around. He’s closer’n I thought. My stupid heart skips a beat. He leans against the wall with his hands in his pockets.

The plethora of secondary characters really build to the novel and develop Saba as a character because of her multiple settings she picks up new people along the way. Across all of this, I like how Young builds up the character basis gradually and she doesn’t bombard us with them all at the start. In fact we start with very few characters with Lugh, Emmi, Saba and their father. By the end we have many, many characters we have met from Proctor John, Mercy, Ash, Epona, Helen, Mrs Pinch, Ike, Tommo, DeMalo and just keeps on going and I loved the layers that Young added to the novel with all these characters. And she doesn’t leave us without a little bit of heartbreak, so I warn you, tissues may be needed because indeed Blood Red Road is plenty bloody!

The biggest problem I probably have with Blood Red Road is the lack of knowledge about the world. Why is it in this state? What happened? Why is everything dustlands? Why is the mystery? Since this is only the first novel in what I believe to be a trilogy, I hope Young will go on to answer my questions that give actual depth to the setting of Blood Red Road. However, I think for a first novel she has sufficiently  set the environment and has got me hooked enough that I am dying to get my hands on the next book in the series!

Overall, I really enjoyed the novel and found that I’ll be eager to get my hands on a copy. I’ll be interested to see more of Lugh, the twin brother that Saba definitely placed on a pedestal in this novel because obviously he occurred very little in this one and I’ll be looking out for the development between Saba and Jack. I think Young has a fantastic idea going and I’m excited to read more from her in her unique style and bravery to not shy away from brutality of the world.

4 books

Extra Nerdy

Moria Young originally developed Blood Red Road when thinking about climate change, the limited resources of our environment and the change in human civilizations. She planned to set the world in an ice district and still in the future, however the only remains of that novel are the futuristic setting and the names, Saba, Lugh and Emmi so we can certainly see she’s come an awful long way! And one of her biggest influences being one of my favourite musical films, The Wizard of Oz. How awesome?! More information about the origins can be found here.

19 Comments

Filed under 2011 Publication, 4 Books, Dystopia, Moira Young, Paperback, Romance, Scholastic, Young Adult

19 responses to “Blood Red Road

  1. This is a brilliant review Livvy, Blood Red Road has been sitting on my shelf for ages! I never knew whether it would be my type of read, but your enthusiasm has given me the encouragement to pick this book up soon.

  2. Blood Red Road bowled me over with its intensity that never really let up throughout the book. I loved Saba precisely because she was flawed; it made her seem like a more realistic heroine to me. I’m glad you enjoyed reading this, too!

  3. YES. I Adore. This. Review. And yes, that was meant to be a capital ‘A’. I completely agree with your points here. I absolutely LOVED the language, and the way Young took that step and broke the boundaries of language. In a society that is so far in the future, that is much more backward than ours today, can we really expect people to be using language in exactly the same way? I also loved how Saba was completely focused on getting her brother back, and the kind of relationship she had with Nero was really endearing; he was, as you say, almost like an actual person. I liked Jack, but I also wanted to see more of DeMalo, oddly enough. I still haven’t read the sequel, so I’m kind of hoping we get to see more of him there. Stellar review, Livvy! 🙂

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      Awww, thanks, Aa’Ishah!

      Exactly, I mean why would people expect everybody to speak exactly the same way today as they do in the future as things change and evolve or in this case move backwards in some part.

      I wanted more DeMalo too, but I think we’ll get him in the sequel. I hope. Thank you, dearest!

  4. I’m so glad you enjoyed this, Livvy! I did too, and while that kind of language is often a turnoff for me, I didn’t mind it here–the author did a great job with it. I like that you single out Nero as a fave character, too. 😉 ALSO–I hadn’t seen this UK cover–it’s so eye-catching!

    Still need to read the sequel…and now you do, too.

    Wendy @ The Midnight Garden

  5. Glad you enjoyed the writing style, even if world building wasn’t perfect. Jack sounds very mysterious, and Ilike the sound of Saba.
    Happy reading,
    Brandi @ Blkosiner’s Book Blog

  6. I’m so glad you enjoyed this, Livvy! It took me by surprise as well, but the characters are so flawed and lively and Saba is such a fantastic protagonist. Plus, Jack totally stole my heart!<3 I can't wait to see your thoughts on the sequel! 😀

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      Thanks. They certainly are. Saba grew on me by the end of the novel. Ahh, I’m still wary about Jack, but I hope he grows more on me. I’m excited to get my hands on the sequel! 🙂

  7. This one really sounds intriguing! I am listing it! 🙂

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      I definitely think you’ll like this one. And I’d look forward to how you’d review it because I see it as quite a visual book! 🙂

  8. OMG I loved this book. I definitely need to catch up with the sequel soon. Glad you enjoyed it!

  9. I have to admit that I liked book two much, much more because it was more personal, it focused on Saba’s internal struggles. As a linguist, I’m always thrilled when an author dares to experiment with language so that’s obviously my favorite part of the series. I love what Young has done in that department.
    Fantastic review!

  10. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves (27) | Nerdy Book Reviews

Thanks for dropping by, I really appreciate every single view. If you're a fellow blogger I'll return follows/comments. Unfortunately this is an award and tag free zone because of time constraints, but I appreciate the thought.

