Waiting on Wednesday (24)

Waiting-on-Wednesday_thumb1

Waiting on Wednesday is a meme hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine. This meme highlights some of the books whose releases bloggers are most anticipating this year.

What Am I Waiting On?

The Falconer

The Falconer by Elizabeth May

Series: The Falconer #1

Expected Publication: September 19th 2013 by Chronicle Books

Edinburgh, Scotland, 1844

18-year-old Lady Aileana Kameron, the only daughter of the Marquess of Douglas, was destined to a life carefully planned around Edinburgh’s social events – right up until a faery kills her mother.

Now it’s the 1844 winter season. Between a seeming endless number of parties, Aileana slaughters faeries in secret. Armed with modified percussion pistols and explosives, every night she sheds her aristocratic facade and goes hunting. She’s determined to track down the faery who murdered her mother, and to destroy any who prey on humans in the city’s many dark alleyways.

But she never even considered that she might become attracted to one. To the magnetic Kiaran MacKay, the faery who trained her to kill his own kind. Nor is she at all prepared for the revelation he’s going to bring. Because Midwinter is approaching, and with it an eclipse that has the ability to unlock a Fae prison and begin the Wild Hunt.

A battle looms, and Aileana is going to have to decide how much she’s willing to lose – and just how far she’ll go to avenge her mother’s murder.

Why Am I Waiting?

Historical. The cover. And Fantasy? What more do I need from a book. This just looks all around awesome and the Scottish setting caught my eye.

What Are You Waiting On?

20 Comments

Filed under Waiting on Wednesday

20 responses to “Waiting on Wednesday (24)

  1. I love when historical mixes with paranormal/fantasy. I hadn’t heard of this one, but I am definitely adding it to my list. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Aww this sounds really good! I have to keep my Goodreads open during meme’s like this because there are so many goodies to be found!

  3. This sounds incredible! I love the fantasy and historical mix that’s going on with it. Great pick!

  4. I haven’t heard of this one, but I like the cover!
    Hope you get to read it soon!
    Brandi @ Blkosiner’s Book Blog

  5. I can’t WAIT for this book either, Livvy! I am so excited to read it and it sounds fantastic! (Let’s just hope it lives up to our expectations, now!) 🙂

  6. This does look like a good one! I saw another blogger compare this book to Buffy which I think sounds about right. Looking forward to hearing what you think of The Falconer 🙂

  7. Oooh! This looks really interesting! I love fae novels.

    Thanks for stopping by my WoW 🙂

  8. I love a strong heroine! She’s armed with pistols and explosives?!! What’s not to love? Great pick Livvy. Can’t wait to see what you think of it. 🙂

  9. The cover IS gorgeous, I have to admit it, and I’m enjoying more and more historical fantasy these days. This sounds wonderful. Great pick!

  10. Livvy this book sounds fantastic!!! I too adore books which mix up genres but also make them work so well, I have a good feeling about this book! 🙂

Thanks for dropping by, I really appreciate every single view. If you're a fellow blogger I'll return follows/comments. Unfortunately this is an award and tag free zone because of time constraints, but I appreciate the thought.

