Through the Eyes of a Nerd: Warm Bodies

Through the Eyes of a Nerd

Unfortunately I never managed to get in reading Isaac Marion’s novel, however the film has definitely made me want to read it. I can imagine it to be a very quirky read and I can’t wait to get around to it, now I have my hands on it.

warm-bodies-quad-poster

 

Warm Bodies is definitely a film I recommend, if not for it’s originality and star cast, but the one liners that were rather brilliant! Nicholas Hoult who plays R is a terrific actor, he really perfects the art of being a zombie. On one of his interviews, he actually said that he didn’t think zombies would blink, so therefore for the whole film his director suggested he do just that. And no joke, the guy does a darn good job. He doesn’t blink unless he shuts his eyes. It’s rather unnervingNicholas-Hoult-in-Warm-Bodies-2013-470x470, but just a tribute to his brilliant acting! Many of you may be familiar with Nicholas Hoult as the child star from About A Boy but he’s come a long way since then.

I loved his narration since as a zombie, he can’t talk so most of the true narrative comes from his over voice that really punctuated the humour and attitude of his character.

Over the whole film R grew on me and I was shouting for the guy. His zombie run was pretty darn funny. My friends and I actually re-enacted our own zombie run as a laugh because we are utterly crazy like that. The picture above shows the kind of humour that R brings into Warm Zombies giving it a very dry tone, but really comical and cheesy. It’s lot of good fun and some of the movie posters show the lines. A few of my favourites are below.

hdhekimagesCABEXABTwarm-bodies-characters-posters-warm-bodies-movie-33030930-1053-1561

Hoult’s co-star, Teresa Palmer was a really good actress too. She looks really like Kristen Stewart actually, but it’s safe to say she is a much better actress and she can do more than one emotion. Here she’s attempting to mimic zombie motions and R is telling her off for overdoing it. They build up an affectionate repertoire between the two and their little friendship blossomed and really won me over. I have to say, Teresa Palmer really worked the angle well as mixed emotions to a zombie kidnapping you.

 warm-bodies9

The other main guy of the show is John Malkovich. I remember him most clearly from What Happens in Vegas one of my favourite rom-coms and he plays up his role as R’s only zombie friend well in Warm Bodies. I think he’s a hilarious guy and his attitude and humour that he brought along with R had me laughing and smiling. He also managed to show that he can be a serious guy when he needs to be because there was a particularly touching moment when he notices R and Julie holding hands and it’s so cute!

379717_472126809514558_1916575788_n

My one regret is not reading the novel before I went to see the film since I’m getting pretty lapse with that. I know there are a few things that are different between the film and movie such as zombie camps not quite being the same, but overall I think Warm Bodies is a film that can be equally enjoyed without reading the book and I’m looking forward to that experience to see what has changed.

The villains of the film the bones were pretty grim creatures, but not so terrifying that this film became a horror. However I tell you, fast moving skeletons will never be seen quite the same in my eyes again! Not that you tend to see them casually strolling down the street every day…

Warm Bodies is a solid, fun and loveable film that wormed it’s way into my heart and something I would definitely watch again. It’s light-hearted and something that I definitely needed to cheer me up. I recommend the movie without reserve and cannot wait to check out the book after Aa’Ishah’s awesome review here and a comparison of book and movie at Alisa Selene’s Picture Me Reading here.

31 Comments

Filed under Through the Eyes of a Nerd

31 responses to “Through the Eyes of a Nerd: Warm Bodies

  1. :O I seem to be the only one of my friends that really wants to see this movie haha. Love the fact that it’s really funny and definitely need to check the book out. Oh my goodness, Kristen Stewart lookalike but she can show more than one emotion? Finally! Glad you had such a great time at the cinema, Livvy 😀
    Awesome review

  2. Ah, I saw Nicholas Hoult on Jimmy Kimmel (or I’m assuming it was Kimmel — my memory is terrible, but that’s really the only late night show I watch), and he was discussing how he hardly blinked for his character. I very much want to see the film, because it looks like a blast — great combo between zombie-‘horror’ and quirky romcom, it seems? But I’m more interested in the book, so I think I’ll hold off for a while longer.

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      It certainly is a great blast between horror and romcom. I’d call it a zombie romcom. Yes, I’m definitely interested in the book now too! 🙂

  3. John Malkovich is in this? I didn’t know that! I’m planning to see this eventually, though I hope I can read the book first. I’m usually terrible at picking up a book after the movie. And if I do, I find I enjoy it less. I’ve heard it’s very witty though and it sounds like that comes across in the movie. 🙂 I’m glad you liked it, Livvy!

  4. I just saw the movie for this too and while I really liked it, I was hoping for a little more depth which I think I’ll find in the book. It really was such a fun film, though, so great review, Livvy!(:

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      Yes, I can see why you said that, but I liked the lack of depth in the film since I enjoy more light hearted films! 🙂

  5. Yay, I’m glad you enjoyed the movie! Every time I find out a book I love has been made into a movie I always get nervous, especially after the Twilight debacle. But it sounds like the cast here did a terrific job, and I’m really hoping I’ll get to watch this at some point. And thank you for linking in my review, I’m so touched. ❤ Fantastic post, Livvy! 🙂

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      No problem! 🙂 Yes, I know how you feel, but I think the movie is pretty good. Nothing like the Twilight debacle! Thank you! 🙂

  6. This is a great review and I love all the images you used and how you did your post!! 🙂 I totally agree and I think in fact in a lot of ways I prefer the movie to the book!

  7. I prefer the movie to the book surprisingly and went to see it twice. Glad you enjoyed the movie too. The marketing is so well done and it’s nice to see all the images in your post. I ❤ M, he had some great one-liners.

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      Ahhh well I’m glad you enjoyed the movie so much. It certainly is well marketed. Yes, he most certainly did! 😀

  8. The one liners sound great. I have been intrigued by the premise and trailers I’ve seen.
    Brandi @ Blkosiner’s Book Blog

  9. I love this movie! I even watched it twice!!

  10. I really enjoyed this movie too! I thought Nicholas Hoult and Teresa Palmer did an amazing job, and I really loved the one-liners too. Even though I enjoyed it, the book is much better than the movie. Wonderful review! I hope you enjoy the book when you read it 🙂

  11. I loved the book so I’m so thrilled to hear the movie is good too. I’ve been a fan of Nicholas Hoult since About a Boy a favorite film of mine, but he was such a nerdy child. He really came into his own in Skins. Teresa Palmer was excellent as Six in I Am Number Four. I liked her better than the female lead. Thanks for the film feature, Livvy. I’m even more excited to see it now. 🙂

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      I never watched Skins so I didn’t realise he was in it. Teresa Palmer is a great actress. I hope you enjoy the film, Rachel! 🙂

  12. I was so tempted to go and watch the film before reading the book. But I finally picked it up the other day and I am absolutely loving it, I so happy that you loved this film Livvy, it sounds like so much fun, so I can’t wait to see how it comes across on the big screen. And I’m glad that Teresa is a much better actress than Kristen! That’s like the biggest bonus for me! Thanks for sharing this wonderful film review with us Livvy! 🙂

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      Thanks, Jasprit. I’m glad to hear you’re enjoying the book. I know I need to find the motivation to read Warm Bodies somehow now…

  13. I saw the movie in the middle of me reading it – I read it out loud to my co-worker on our slow nights. We highly enjoy the novel and the movie just made us want to read the book even more and the book I think is so much more then the Movie.

  14. Haha, those posters are just perfect Livvy! I haven’t seen the movie yet, but I quite liked the book and it seems I have something to look forward to. I’m not sure when I’ll get to see it, but I’m very much looking forward to it.

  15. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves (27) | Nerdy Book Reviews

  16. Great review! I’m quite excited for this, although I know I won’t get the chance to read the book before I see it. Those posters cracked me up too! 🙂

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      I didn’t get the chance to read the book either, but I hope to read it after and still enjoy it just as much! 🙂

Thanks for dropping by, I really appreciate every single view. If you're a fellow blogger I'll return follows/comments. Unfortunately this is an award and tag free zone because of time constraints, but I appreciate the thought.

