Waiting on Wednesday (26)

Waiting on Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday is a meme hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine. This meme highlights some of the books whose releases bloggers are most anticipating this year.

What Am I Waiting On?

The Ward

The Ward by Jordana Frankel

Expected Publication: April 30th 2013 by Katherine Tegen Books

Sixteen-year-old Ren is a daredevil mobile racer who will risk everything to survive in the Ward, what remains of a water-logged Manhattan. To save her sister, who is suffering from a deadly illness thought to be caused by years of pollution, Ren accepts a secret mission from the government: to search for a freshwater source in the Ward, with the hope of it leading to a cure.

However, she never expects that her search will lead to dangerous encounters with a passionate young scientist; a web of deceit and lies; and an earth-shattering mystery that’s lurking deep beneath the water’s rippling surface.

 

Why Am I Waiting?

This is the author’s debut book and it just sounds awesome. A little bit of dystopia and science-fiction mixed together and the talk of the “passionate young scientist” caught my attention. I like the idea of Manhattan being entirely swamped by water. And mystery? Count me in. The cover also kind of just does it for me too with the impact of the gold lettering and the blue water. And the girl in the A just looks great.

What Are You Waiting On?

14 Comments

Filed under Waiting on Wednesday

14 responses to “Waiting on Wednesday (26)

  1. Livvy this is another great find, I think I would have been tempted to pick it up because of the gorgeous cover alone too, but the premise sounds utterly fascinating too. And yes I was even more curious when I read passionate young scientist! 😉 Thanks for putting this on my radar! 🙂

  2. I’m waiting on this one, too! Don’t you just LOVE the cover?

  3. I can’t wait for this book, either! And that cover is SO awesome! Great pick!

  4. Yes, I am definitely interested in this book, too! I didn’t realize it was a debut. Sooo tempting!

  5. Oh the passionate young scientist caught my attention, too. 😉 I love the sound of this book! A daredevil racer sounds like someone who has the potential to be an exciting protagonist. The premise definitely sounds interesting too.

    Great pick, Livvy! 🙂

  6. I’m looking forward to this one, too! It sounds really great.

  7. Oh the poor little sister. I’d be on edge hoping they’d find a cure. This sounds like an exciting read. Great choice Livvy. 🙂

Thanks for dropping by, I really appreciate every single view. If you're a fellow blogger I'll return follows/comments. Unfortunately this is an award and tag free zone because of time constraints, but I appreciate the thought.

