What A Boy Wants

What a Boy Wants

What A Boy Wants by Nyrae Dawn

Series: What A Boy Wants #1

Genre: Contemporary, Young-Adult, Romance

Published: April 6th 2012

The Plot.

Courtesy of watching his mom’s relationships, Sebastian Hawkins knows what girls need to do to get a guy. He has what he considers a PHD in hooking up. When he needs extra cash for a car, Sebastian starts up an online venture as The Hook-up Doctor, to anonymously help girls land the guy of their dreams. Of course, his services don’t offer a happily-ever-after guarantee. He’s seen firsthand getting together never means staying together.
And then he falls in love…
With the last girl he would expect…
Totally not in his game plan.

Suddenly, Sebastian finds himself muddled in the game he’s always prided himself on. He can’t even pick up girls at parties anymore! Why would anyone want to be in love when it turns you into a stuttering, screwed-up, mess with really lame stalker tendencies? Stalking? Totally not his gig.

But the Hook-up Doctor won’t let himself go down easily. He’s always known how to give a girl what she wants and now it’s time to figure out what a boy wants… and he definitely plans on getting it.

The Review.

What A Boy Wants was a huge disappointment for me. I expected something light, funny and just an easy read and I got this for the first 40% and could have easily awarded the novel four stars for that without a thought, but then once we got past this the novel began to drag, the plot fell apart and it became exactly why I stay away from contemporary novels. Sebastian who had wormed his way into my heart became a possessive crazed teenage boy that wanted to posses his girlfriend as well as being a huge jerk. He did things that I didn’t like and couldn’t really forgive him for. I didn’t understand his girlfriend all that much and there was very little substance to the novel. It might be light and fluffy but that doesn’t mean the characters should have no background.

Sebastian claims to be the “Hook-up Doctor” and he’s cocky, arrogant and assured in his sexuality and ability to attract girls. He was humorous in his all knowing state even if he was a little annoying, but I could deal and he made me laugh. He was a charmer and a guy that was fairly easy to like and his easy going relationship with Woodstock his best friend was really nice. However, there was no mention to how he become the “Hook-up Doctor” or why which annoyed me, his family history and his mum’s inability to keep a guy was brushed over and his raging possessive attitude that showed him to be pretty misogynist frankly annoyed the hell out of me. I am far from being a feminist, but his objectification of women was blood boiling. He just saw them as disposable and that he was protecting them from himself. I don’t claim to be the worlds expert on the mind of a guy, but it seemed a little extreme.

“Don’t be an asshole.”

“I’m not. I’m just sayin’. You go over there all me-Tarzan-my-woman before she even knows you’re into her and you’re going to look like an ass. You need to chill. They’re just talking.”

Woodstock Sebastian’s best friend was fun enough, but I didn’t feel like we ever got to know her through Sebastian. The novel seemed to assume that because she was Sebastian’s best friend that he knew everything and therefore the reader did and we didn’t need to know anything about her. I liked her enough, but I don’t think there was that much depth to her character or her relationship with Sebastian. I liked the nickname and her supposed family that we never really met and I have to admit, Sebastian did touch me when he made a grand gesture for her, but it still wasn’t enough to redeem himself.

The secondary characters consisted of their two best friends Jaden and Pris who seem to be a couple brewing that are the next novel and this novel seemed to set those two up in the process as well. There was also Bastian’s mother who was a huge influence over his life. It was nice to see a caring parent who clearly loved her son, but there weren’t many secondary characters in the novel that really rounded it that makes up my favourite part of a novel.

Pris: “You’re such a cerdo.” She turned to face Aspen and they started girl talking about clothes and that British guy who sparkled in all those vampire movies.”

The plot was utterly predictable and although the author attempted to make a plot twist, it wasn’t honestly that believable and still didn’t really surprise me. I’m sad to say I didn’t enjoy this novel so much and I think it’s put me off contemporary for a while again.

Overall I wouldn’t really recommend this novel even being so short because of Bastian’s behaviour. However it can be fun and entertaining in parts and I think the author has lots to offer if she draws it all together a little more.

2.5 books

17 Comments

Filed under 2.5 Books, 2012 Publication, Contemporary, E-book, Nyrae Dawn, Romance, Young Adult

17 responses to “What A Boy Wants

  1. Aw man it’s awful watching a book fall apart when it had such a good start! I actually bought this one last week so the fact you’ve pointed out a few things that would drive me crazy too, makes me sigh 😦
    Great review though, Livvy!

  2. I’ve seen this book around and it just popped up a few days ago on my Goodreads recommendations, but I’m not sure it sounds like my type of read. It’s so disappointing when you get quite invested in a novel only to see it go to pieces. I’m finding myself getting more and more impatient with these types of books, so I may skip this one.

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      Ahhh, yes it’s only short, but still if you are becoming impatient, it’s likely that this will only continue with this one!

  3. Ohhh Boo Olivia :(. I’m sad that you didn’t like this book, even I thought it sounded to interesting and I would have picked it up as well. But it sounds like the protagonist falls flat in the second half of the book. Nothing is more annoying than a MC who just fails to deliver throughout the entire book. I’m so glad I read your review before getting this book. I think I’ll stay away from this one. Great Review dear :).

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      I know. I hate it when this happens too especially when the book sounding so promising and somebody said to me they’d thought I’d enjoy it. It’s just annoying really. Thank you, Savindi! 🙂

  4. Aww, it’s a shame this was such a massive disappointment. I was never too keen on reading this, but I hate when an MC fails to have that needed depth or when a novel just takes a turn for the worse! :/ I hope your next read is better, Livvy! 🙂

  5. This was a disappointment for me as well Livvy. Sebastian was sort of a pig for much of the novel. Great review, you hit the nail on the head. 🙂

  6. I had similar issues with this book, too. There was no explanation of when he started his dating advice or how people found out about him and how to contact him. And he turned out to be really annoying and possessive!

  7. The basic idea seems to be taken straight out of that god awful Will Smith movie, I can’t even remember its name. I’m sorry it was so predictable and poorly written, I’m pretty sure I won’t be going anywhere near this. And I see from the comments that all my (other) trusted bloggers were disappointed in this one as well.
    Thanks for saving me some time!
    Great review.

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      No problem, Maja. Awww, I like Will Smith. Still, I have to agree that you are probably better saving time with this one and not reading it! 🙂

  8. This one never really appealed to me in the first place, but I know a few friends have enjoyed it, so I’m sorry to see it didn’t work for you. It’s a shame, too, as it sounds like the start wasn’t too bad at all. It’s frustrating when a book ends up going downhill like that. Anyhow, thanks for taking one for the team, Livvy! I’m happy to avoid this, I think. 🙂

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      Ahh, I did notice a few people enjoyed this one, I just couldn’t keep up the same enthusiasm throughout the whole book. It certainly is frustrating when that happens!

  9. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves (28) | Nerdy Book Reviews

Thanks for dropping by, I really appreciate every single view. If you're a fellow blogger I'll return follows/comments. Unfortunately this is an award and tag free zone because of time constraints, but I appreciate the thought.

