Stacking the Shelves (28)

Stacking the Shelves

Stacking the Shelves is a meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews.

Movie Reviews posted since last time: Rebecca and Beautiful Creatures. Book Reviews posted since last time: What A Boy Wants and Helen of Troy.

Books For Review.

photo (12)

photo (14)photo (15)

I’m so excited as these are my first two paperback arcs that I’ve ever got. It’s probably because I generally have no clue how people get them otherwise, but thankfully Strange Chemistry love me and I love them too. I did get them a little late, but that’s my own fault for not picking them up sooner from the post office. Emilie and the Hollow World was a nice little extra surprise that I got through my post and the cover is just stunning so I’m excited to read that. The Holders looks really good too and I’ve heard tonnes of great things which is why I requested it in the first place.

Books Bought.

photo (11)

photo (8)photo (9)photo (10)

I also splashed out on a few new books too. I got Abandon by Meg Cabot for 99p. What a bargain! I loved Meg Cabot when I was younger and whilst I’ve heard mixed thoughts on this one, I’m still excited for it. Everbound I’m eager to sink my teeth into since I really enjoyed Everneath and I’m curious to where Miss Ashton is taking the storyline. Now, Gone Girl is a book I’ve heard tonnes about and I know my English teacher was going to pick up this book too, so I definitely can’t wait to get reading that too.

E-books for Review.

The Exemeus

I signed up to the blog tour for this one and forgot completely about it. The cover just looks awesome, so I cannot wait to get into The Exemeus and if you stop back on the 19th March you’ll see my thoughts on it!

E-books Bought.

CoralineLeviathanThe Agincourt BridePoison Princess

I’m also finally working out the kindle daily deal and the sign up email. They gave me a free book for that out of a few, so I picked The Agincourt Bride. Then I spotted these few, Coraline, Leviathan and Poison Princess which all look pretty good, so I’m excited to read those. I’m quite happy at the steals of 99p each too!

40 Comments

Filed under Stacking the Shelves

40 responses to “Stacking the Shelves (28)

  1. Nice haul! All look great. Happy reading! x

  2. Yay for ARCs!(: I’ve heard great things about The Holders, so I’m excited to see your thoughts on that one. Gone Girl and Everbound are books I’ve been meaning to read for awhile, so I really should get around to them soon! Happy Reading, Livvy! 😀

  3. I loved Coraline and I really enjoyed Everbound, too. I can’t wait to see what you think of them! And congrats on your first paper ARCs. 🙂 I’m curious about both of those books, though am waiting for reviews before I decide anything. I really need to hurry up and read Gone Girl one of these days. Everyone seems to love that book!

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      I’m glad you enjoyed those, I can’t wait to read them! 🙂 Thank you, I was curious too, but I thought I might as well dive in and read them since I might have to wait a while for more reviews. They most certainly do seem to love Gone Girl! 🙂

  4. All your books have such pretty covers Olivia!! I’m looking forward to hearing your thoughts on Gone Girl. I unfortunately I had to return Coraline to the library, so I didn’t end up finishing it. Hope you enjoy it though! Happy Reading :).

  5. Yay for Gone Girl Livvy! It was one of my favourites from last year and a book which took me completely by surprise! I can’t wait to see what you think of it. I’ve also bee a huge fan of Meg’s books for as long as I can remember, Abandon is a lot different to her usual writing style, but I still enjoyed it. so i hope you do too! Happy reading! 🙂

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      I know you enjoyed that one so much which is one of the reasons I picked it up! Ahhh, well I’ll be interested to see how it differs from her usual style then. Thanks, Jasprit! 🙂

  6. Yaay, i have Gone Girl on the way too. I’ve heard so many amazing things about it, especially from Jasprit, that I simply couldn’t resist ordering a copy.
    The Holders looks like such an interesting read, I must go find out exactly what it is. I am intrigued.
    Enjoy them all, Livvy!

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      Yup, that’s who definitely sold it to me. I’m going to start reading the Holder soon, so I hope I enjoy it! 🙂

  7. Congrats on getting your first ARCs Livvy 🙂 It’s such an exciting moment that first time! I have your three puchased books as well but the only one I’ve read is Gone Girl and it’s disturbingly fabulous 🙂 Can’t wait to see your review on that one. I love your cover(UK?) of Abandon so much more, it’s gorgeous! I hope you enjoy all your books and look forward to your reviews on them!

    Lauren @ Lose Time Reading

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      Thank you, Lauren! Well that’s fantastic to hear!

      Yes, I believe the Abandon cover will be the UK cover. It is certainly gorgeous. I’m in love with all the covers actually. Thank you! 🙂

  8. I bought Gone Girl a while back but still haven’t gotten around to it. I loved Gillian Flynn’s Dark Places, so I’m hoping Gone Girl will be just as amazing as everyone says it is. The Agincourt Bride looks intriguing, too. I hope you enjoy all of your books!

  9. Livvy, I’m truly surprised that you’re only now getting your first paperback ARCs! Your blog is so wonderful that I just assumed you’d been getting paperback ARCs for a while now. Nonetheless, congrats!! Physical review books are always so exciting. 😀 I’ve heard such great things about Gone Girl, and am interested to see what you think about it. I also need to get my hands on a copy of Everbound, just to see what happens with the story next. And I can’t believe you snagged Poison Princess for such a cheap price! I’m crossing my fingers that it’s still on sale.

    Lovely haul, Livvy, and enjoy all your amazing new books! ❤

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      Ahhh thanks, Aneeqah. Yeah, I just don’t really know the how with most of the publishers so I just prefer to read what I have and if something drops by I snatch up my chance.

      I know, I think I’ve had a fabulous couple of weeks with some really awesome books. Hopefully they will get me in the mood to blog.

      Thank you! 🙂

  10. That’s awesome Strange Chemistry sent you some ARCs!

    Hope you like Leviathan. I know I was a bit worried to read it because it was SO different than what I normally read. It ended up being pretty good!

    Have a great week!

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      I know. I’m so excited.

      That’s definitely great to hear, I’m open to most different things so I’m excited to read it.

      Thanks! 🙂

  11. Strange Chemistry are such a fantastic publisher! The Holders was a lot of fun and quite original and Emilie is sat on my shelf too 🙂
    Fab haul, Livvy!

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      They most certainly are fantastic publishers, definitely have to be one of my favourites. I’m enjoying The Holders at the moment. Thanks, Rebekah! 🙂

  12. I have heard good things about Poison Princess. Hope you enjoy.

    Brandi @ Blkosiner’s Book Blog

  13. YAY! EVERBOUND! I loved that book! Coraline is great..hmms I am intrigued by the Meg Cabot book!

  14. I love Meg Cabot, but I haven’t read Abandon yet. She’s such a fun writer. Hope you enjoy all your goodies.

    Happy reading 🙂

  15. Hmm, The Holders sounds intriguing, and is getting mostly positive reviews. Thanks for bringing it to my attention! Have you read Gillian Flynn’s earlier books? The Kindle sample of Dark Places gave me the heebie jeebies and makes me want to read it!

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      I haven’t actually read any of Gillian Flynn’s other books, but I definitely need to read them if I like Gone Girl. I’m enjoying The Holders so far as I’ve just started reading it! 🙂

  16. Great haul! I can’t wait to read Everbound, because I really loved Everneath 🙂 Poison princess is on my wish list. It’s great that you got your first ARC’s. Happy reading :D!

    Mel@thedailyprophecy.

  17. Congratulations on your first arcs!!! 😀
    I still haven’t got a clue as to where to get them from. Maybe I’ll figure it out.
    Also.. I spy a Scott Westerfeld book and as a fan… I hope you love Leviathan!!! 😀
    I tried reading the Poison Princess but I didn’t like it so much, I wish you better luck.
    Great Haul and HAPPY READING! 🙂

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      Thank you! Yes, I don’t really know that well myself, but I know Strange Chemistry do a newsletter where they let you know… Everywhere else I’m clueless too. Still, there is NetGalley etc that you can get ebooks from.
      I’m glad you are a fan of him! Oh dear, well hopefully I will like it better! 🙂
      Thank you! And I have commented on your blog, but I don’t know if my comments have gone into spam? They have a terrible habit of doing that? 😦

      • Well I’ll check that out. Thanks. Hehe Netgalley is fun… but then again they don’t always approve your requests. 😛
        Yeah because it has a really cool concept.. tarot cards are always awesome. 😀

        • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

          No they don’t. haha. Unfortunate, but the way of things. Yes they most certainly are! 🙂

  18. artsymusingsofabibliophile

    Gone Girl is an amazing, amazing book and yay for Poison Princess. I have Abandon but I never got around reading it. Coraline is a good book.

    Here’s my Book Haul post.

    Sana @ artsy musings of a bibliophile

  19. Ooh can’t wait to hear what you think of Gone Girl! That book is so polarizing. I still need to read it myself. Those Strange Chemistry arcs look amazing! They really are doing some cool stuff, aren’t they? 🙂

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      I know, I’ve heard so much about it, so I can’t wait to read.

      They do certainly. The Holders was pretty good and I can’t wait to start Emilie and the Hollow World. Strange Chemistry are slowly becoming one of my favourite publishers! 🙂

Thanks for dropping by, I really appreciate every single view. If you're a fellow blogger I'll return follows/comments. Unfortunately this is an award and tag free zone because of time constraints, but I appreciate the thought.

