Waiting on Wednesday (28)

Waiting on Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday is a meme hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine. This meme highlights some of the books whose releases bloggers are most anticipating this year.

What Am I Waiting On?

Zenn Scarlett

Zenn Scarlett by Christian Schoon

Expected Publication: 2nd May

Zenn Scarlett is a bright, determined, occasionally a-little-too-smart-for-her-own-good 17-year-old girl training hard to become an exoveterinarian. That means she’s specializing in the treatment of exotic alien life forms, mostly large and generally dangerous. Her novice year of training at the Ciscan Cloister Exovet Clinic on Mars will find her working with alien patients from whalehounds the size of a hay barn to a baby Kiran Sunkiller, a colossal floating creature that will grow up to carry a whole sky-city on its back.

But after a series of inexplicable animal escapes from the school and other near-disasters, the Cloister is in real danger of being shut down by a group of alien-hating officials. If that happens, Zenn knows only too well the grim fate awaiting the creatures she loves.

Now, she must unravel the baffling events plaguing her school, before someone is hurt or killed, before everything she cares about is ripped away from her and her family forever. To solve this mystery – and live to tell about it – Zenn will have to put her new exovet skills to work in ways she never imagined, and in the process learn just how powerful compassion and empathy can be.

Why Am I Waiting?

I’ve loved all of the books I’ve read by Strange Chemistry to date and find that they tend to publish really original works that are exciting, engaging and they have some real talent. So when I read about aliens in this one, I was incredibly excited and I cannot wait to get my hands on it!

What Are You Waiting On?

20 Comments

Filed under Waiting on Wednesday

20 responses to “Waiting on Wednesday (28)

  1. Oh, yeah, Phoebe North had such high praise for this book and I really respect her opinion. I have a copy on the way, it should be in the post right now, and I can’t WAIT to read it. It sounds so very original and I agree about SC being a greta publisher.

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      I am equally excited and glad to hear that you’ve heard such praise about the book. And lets hope the copies get here soon! 🙂

  2. Maaghhhh Zenn Scarlettttt! I seriously cannot WAIT to get my copy 😀

    Here’s my WoW 🙂

  3. An alien vet? That sounds so cool! Adding this to my TBR list- it looks like a very unique, very interesting read!

  4. This one’s on NetGalley, and I keep looking at it, but haven’t requested it yet. I’m just really unsure about aliens in general, which is what’s holding me back! (That, and I have too much to read already, ha.)

  5. I just learned about this book yesterday – it sounds so good!! Definitely checking it out when it’s released.

    Nikki @ There were books involved…

  6. Love the cover and hope you get to read it soon.
    Brandi @ Blkosiner’s Book Blog

  7. Wow, this sounds really cool and original! Taking care of alien creatures like some kind of vet is pretty much my sci-fi dream job. 🙂 Great pick!

  8. This sounds so completely original! I’m not usually a fan of alien books, but I’ll definitely be giving this one a try because it sounds brilliant. Thanks for the introduction!

    My WoW

  9. I haven’t had the best luck with this publisher myself (with the exception of The Assassin’s Curse), though I do agree that they publish some of the more original books we see these days. I’ve heard good things about this one already! I may just have to give in and request a copy from NG. I’m definitely curious about it. 🙂

    Great pick, Livvy!

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      They most certainly do, but I think they tend to take the obscure kind of books. I’m sorry to hear you haven’t had some of the best luck, but hopefully you’ll like this one more if you request! 🙂

      Thanks, Sam! 🙂

  10. Woh, this has to be the most unique sounding book I have heard of a in long time! And that cover is amazing!

Thanks for dropping by, I really appreciate every single view. If you're a fellow blogger I'll return follows/comments. Unfortunately this is an award and tag free zone because of time constraints, but I appreciate the thought.

