The Auditory and the Aesthetic: Imagine Dragons

The Auditory and the Aesthetic

The Auditory and the Aesthetic is a new meme that I’m launching here at Nerdy Book Reviews where I will be digressing largely from books to focus on other artistic inclinations such as art, theatre and music. Sometimes I may touch on books with book trailers of play lists, but largely it’ll be a step away from the book nerd that’s at the heart of me.

Today I am launching it with my love of music. I have over 900 songs on my Ipod which is really a mind mesh of different things, so hopefully I’ll be able to keep going with my love of music for a while!

Imagine Dragons – Radioactive

This week, I’m taking a look at Imagine Dragons an indie rock band from America. I’m taking a look at Radioactive from their debut album.

The Video

I’m particularly enamoured with this video because of the very awesome pink teddy bear. Pink isn’t particularly my colour, but in terms of kick-ass scale, this teddy bear is certainly rocking up there. I appreciate how Imagine Dragons use something so simplistic and that we can all connect with to make their video original.

It’s honesty refreshing not to see a music video filled with gyrating naked bodies which are namely women. Another reason I tend to veer to the indie bands because they don’t fill their music videos full of them.

I also like all the different camera angles and visuals that make up the music video to make it chop and change between scenes so seamlessly to show all the different elements. It’s creative to see the way the scenes seem separate and eventually glide together to intermingle.

The Band

Apparently their name is an anagram, but the band are keeping it a big secret to what Imagine Dragons is actually an anagram for.

They formed in 2008 and only got signed in 2011, so I definitely think they’ll be an up and coming band in the next couple of years, particularly playing the likes of Leeds fest this year, which my all time favourite band played last year. I’d honestly love to go to a festival, but I just can’t stand all the muck/grime and unhygienic circumstances that ensue.

What do you think to their name Imagine Dragons?

From my first thoughts I was pretty enamoured with it, and it always gets me thinking of fantasy and far off places which I expect music to take me to. So they’re getting full support from me.

The Music

For me, indie rock bands are the epitome of music with bass, drums, guitar and vocals all together I really get into the beat of music.

In some ways I think you can overanalyse music and lyrics. However, I do feel that Imagine Dragons and Radioactive certainly touch on a new age and being different. A changing world. I think this song can touch with quite a few post-apocalyptic/dystopia/science-fiction novels.

imagine dragons

What are your thoughts?

27 Comments

Filed under The Auditory and the Aesthetic

27 responses to “The Auditory and the Aesthetic: Imagine Dragons

  1. I LOVE this new meme Olivia!! And Imagine Dragons are one of my current favourite bands! Radioactive is definitely one of my favourite songs by them. I love the use of the snare drum in the song. The video was quite unusual to be honest. I’m not sure what I was expecting, but it surprised me in a good way. Yay I’m so glad you like them too! They were in Toronto last year and I was a bit disappointed I couldn’t go see them. Lovely post!

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      Thank you!! I have to agree with you there! It was, when I saw it, I was like this is weird… but it’s grown on me! Ahhh that’s really disappointing. I know they are over here this year, but I probably won’t get to see them either! 😦

      • There videos seems to have kind of a fantastical element to them. Even It’s time had a magical/fantasy esque theme to it. Ohh boo 😦 Tickets are so expensive sometimes, especially during the summer.

        • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

          Yup, they most certainly are. And I know they’re doing the festivals which are just a hot bed of anarchy and bad hygiene, so I won’t be going there!
          Their videos do have lots of magical/fantasy elements which I love! 🙂

        • I would assume so lol. If I get a job sometime soon I’m definitely going to save some money and try to drag one of my other friends who is a fan to one of their concerts. I hope they’re good live though…I know some bands are really poor live. That’s when autotune is a failure lol.

        • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

          Yup, that is when autotune is a failure. I’ve seen like one of my favourite English bands, Scouting For Girls live and they were AMAZING. It just really made my day to find a band that really engaged with the audience and could sing live too. Hopefully these guys will be good too! 🙂

        • I can’t imagine them bad lol. I’ve heard Coldplay and Maroon 5 are quite good live. I hope The Script are good live and one One Republic lol.

        • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

          I think the Script are meant to be pretty good. Yeah, I love Coldplay and Maroon 5 too! 🙂

  2. Darnit, I’m at work so I can’t watch the video right now! 😦 But I do love the band name. I wonder what it’s an anagram for! I’m really curious to hear their music now, so hopefully I’ll remember to come back later and watch the video!

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      I hope you do remember to come back and watch the video since it’s really good and I enjoyed it quite a lot! 🙂

      • Yay, I remembered to come back and watch it! Nice song, and really interesting video. I’m liking this new feature of yours! Looking forward to the next one. 🙂

  3. This is one of my best friend’s favorite songs. The day after she told me about it I saw this cool cover by Lindsey Stirling and the Pentatonix. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aE2GCa-_nyU

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      Wow. I like the use of the string instruments in this and vocals it’s very different, but it only adds to the effect. Thanks for sharing! 🙂

  4. Oh I like this new meme Livvy, I adore indie rock bands and Imagine Dragons is one I’ve never head of before, but I think I will be up for more from this group too! Radioactive sounds like a great tune! Thanks for sharing this with us! 🙂

  5. Ooh, I love this new meme, Livvy! It’s an awesome idea. 🙂

    It’s such a coincedence, I actually stumbled onto Imagine Dragons recently, they were a Youtube rec. I’ve completely fallen in love with their song Demons, and I think overall, these guys are really good. And I agree, I’m so happy that this isn’t a video where you see all these gyrating women. Thanks for sharing this with us, I love learning all this information from you. 🙂

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      Thank you! 🙂

      Yeah, I love the random recs you find, I found them the same way after seeing them really on the music channels and it clicked with the youtube rec.

      No problem. I like researching it all! 🙂

  6. They are one of my favorite bands, I found them because of the “The Perks of Being a Wallflower” movie (It’s time) and I absolutely love them, I am over my obsession phase of course (they were all I used to listen to!) but I still love them.

    Great meme!
    p.s. an anagram???? That is such an awesome band name and it turns out be an anagram? can they be more awesome?

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      Thanks. They are a great band, so I can see why you developed the obsession with them! 🙂 Yup, although they refuse to say an anagram of what… Still they’re pretty awesome guys! 🙂

  7. I’m so pleased to see you feature Imagine Dragons! I love them to pieces. Have you listened to On Top of the World by them? It’s one of my favourites. 🙂 I love this song, too, and completely agree that it would be a great match with several post-apocalyptic novels. Indie rock bands are the definitely the epitome of music. Well said. 🙂

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      Yes, I most certainly have. I really like that one too. I thought I’d spotlight their most well known song to start with, but I definitely like that one too. Thanks, Sam! 🙂

  8. Hey Livvy, great new meme! I love Imagine Dragons and I’ve bought several of their songs. I don’t think it was a full-length album (I’d have to go check) but I think they’re off to a good start. I love bands that are not well known because they play at smaller venues and I love seeing someone live and close up. I’m lucky to have quite a few come through close to me being only 40 minutes from Hollywood. I haven’t gone to a show in about a year now though. 🙂

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      Yes, I definitely have to agree with you there and then you don’t feel so small and compressed either! Well aren’t you very lucky indeed! 😉 Prime location there.

  9. Ooh, awesome post! I found Imagine Dragons a few months ago and really am in love with their music now- I find it really inspiring to write to, so I have most of the songs on their Night Visions album on a playlist on youtube to listen to when writing. It’s hard not to have a dance party when one comes on, and I’m playing Radioactive right now! I love their lyrics, the meaning one can find in them, and the Radioactive music video, which I saw for the first time two days ago I think, is one I love- it also has the female lead from the Percy Jackson film in it, which I was surprised and happy to see, because I think, even though I didn’t like PJ, she’s excellent.

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      I didn’t notice that actually and I really like that film. Well that’s always an interesting piece of knowledge to learn about. Thank you and glad to find a fellow fan! 🙂

  10. Love this meme! I’m a huge fan of Imagine Dragons, and this is such a great song. I agree, it would be a great pairing with post-apocalyptic/sci-fi books. The video is fab too. “It’s honesty refreshing not to see a music video filled with gyrating naked bodies which are namely women.” YES! Amen to this.

Thanks for dropping by, I really appreciate every single view. If you're a fellow blogger I'll return follows/comments. Unfortunately this is an award and tag free zone because of time constraints, but I appreciate the thought.

