Through the Eyes of a Nerd: The Vow

Through the Eyes of a Nerd

This week I’m taking a look at The Vow and let me tell you know, that is one emotional, heart-breaking and adorable films I’ve seen. I don’t think it quite gets up there with the likes of The Notebook, but it’s a pretty lovely film and one that certainly brought a tear to my eye.

The Vow

The Vow is based on a true life event that in a car accident, Paige (Rachel McAdams) looses all her recent memories so she remembers nothing of her marriage to her husband, Channing Tatum.

It certainly makes for an interesting and emotional journey between these two.

Honestly, I don’t think Channing Tatum will be winning academy awards for his acting any time soon, however, in this I really felt him and his emotion. I think he works well in this role as the love interest and he plays it well.

He’s sexy, rather adorable and a man that makes it easy to like him. Beyond the superficial elements I don’t see a lot to Channing Tatum as an actor, but in this film I was genuinely sold on his acting and character Leo.

Rachel McAdams is safely an actress I really like. I remember her days in Mean Girls as Regina George and I was determined I would never like her, but her recent roles in Sherlock Holmes and The Time Traveller’s Wife have proved her to be a diverse, sassy actress that has quite a lot to offer.

She definitely plays the role of reserved, confused and rather lost Paige perfectly here. She captures the character and Vowadamswhat it means to have lost her memory. It’s honestly heart-breaking to see that she wakes up and doesn’t recognise Leo as her husband. However I totally believed every moment of her acting.

I cannot say that she didn’t frustrate me, but that’s because my heart was out for Leo and she was trying to come to terms with the fact that her memories no longer existed of any of their time and it was interesting and humorous at times to see the reaction.

Don’t get me wrong, the film is not all doom and gloom and one of my favourite moments is Channing Tatum strutting naked through their apartment and her squealing in her underwear because he’s practically a random stranger. It was rather sad to see in a way since he was relegated in his own home, but I think the humour managed to balance the sadness.

THE VOW

Personally, what made the loss of her memory so upsetting was the flashbacks we witness as the pairing as a couple before their accident.

This is them on their wedding day and it was clear they were totally in love and it was incredibly endearing.

They also wrote their own wedding vows for each other. The fact that Leo remembered all of this and Paige was sSteph-TheVow-Quote2struggling to cope really made me a little teary eyed. So this film does hold the cute balance of an emotional and fun relationship that makes up a chick-flick as well as it having a serious undertone too.

Another aspect of this film was how Paige changed. You could clearly see two different sides to her character before the crash and after and it was hard to piece those two people together.

However across the film she slowly started to unravel pieces of her life and I really liked the twists in it that were uncovered and changed things because I didn’t expect them.

I definitely liked her more pre-crash and after the unveiling at the end.

Overall I really enjoyed this film, I had a few laughs, a few tears and definitely think it’s a moving story especially based on real life. I’d be interested to read the book to see how it differs to the film. However it’s not all doom and gloom I will inform you so there is a happy ending for you guys!

cute

18 Comments

Filed under Through the Eyes of a Nerd

18 responses to “Through the Eyes of a Nerd: The Vow

  1. The Vow definitely sounds like something that I would enjoy Livvy, I can’t believe that I hadn’t heard of it before your post! I haven’t watched another film with Rachel McAdams since Mean Girls, so I can’t wait to see how different her acting maybe now. Thanks for putting this film on my radar with your post Livvy! 🙂

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      I cannot believe you haven’t heard of it either! She is definitely a whole other character and whilst I see touches of her early years, I think she’s come a long way and is much more likeable now. I hope you enjoy this when you get to see it! 🙂

  2. I remember really wanting to see this at the cinemas but time just got away from me. I’ll definitely have to check it out – if only to see the gorgeous Channing Tatum!! 😉

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      I never got to see it either since my cinema didn’t have it on, luckily I know own it and I’m very happy to say so! 🙂 Yes, if only for him! 😉

  3. I haven’t seen this movie, but the plots with memory loss are always interesting to me. Maybe I’ll watch this one after all! I do really like Rachel McAdams (but also agree with you about Channing Tatum).

  4. Laughs and tears in good proportions sounds great. And Tatum is good to look at

  5. For some reason, I wasn’t overly impressed by this one. It was very romantic and very bittersweet, but I couldn’t get into it the way I do for other romances. It was still really good, though, and I’m glad you enjoyed it! 🙂

  6. I want to see this one, as I like the actors in it..great review!

  7. I missed the boat on seeing this with my girlfriends in the theater and now no one wants to see it. Tempted to bribe the BF into watching it with me. I think I’d really enjoy this, and I love the premise. Plus Rachel McAdams is amazing, and Channing Tatum isn’t too hard on the eyes. 🙂 I’d be interested to read the book too. If you do end up reading it I’m curious to hear what you think. Great review!

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      Yes, I missed seeing it too since they didn’t bring it to my cinema, but I got it on DVD so that was good enough.

      Yes, Rachel McAdams is fab, I just watched her in Time Traveller’s Wife again at the weekend and fell in love all over again! 🙂

  8. I loved Rachel McAdams in Red Eye. It was a really suspenseful movie and the villain was charismatic as well. Channing Tatum is just wonderful eye candy so who cares if his acting is not Oscar worthy?! Lol. Glad to see you enjoyed this, Livvy. I’ll have to watch it when it comes to DVD. 🙂

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      Yes, who cares if it’s not particularly when we get to see that body, but I think he does a good job in this one at least. I hope you enjoy it when you get your hands on a copy. I haven’t seen that film, but I may have to check it out now! 🙂

  9. I really like Rachel McAdams, too! You’re right, she’s a very flexible and talented actress. I haven’t paid this movie much attention recently, but I think I’d like to give it a try now. Great review, Livvy! I’m glad you enjoyed this overall. 🙂

Thanks for dropping by, I really appreciate every single view. If you're a fellow blogger I'll return follows/comments. Unfortunately this is an award and tag free zone because of time constraints, but I appreciate the thought.

