Waiting on Wednesday (30)

Waiting on Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday is a meme hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine. This meme highlights some of the books whose releases bloggers are most anticipating this year.

What Am I Waiting On?

Bronze Gods

Bronze Gods by A. A. Aguirre

Expected publication: April 30th 2013 by Ace

Hy Breasil is grimmer than it used to be.
Before the Architect closed the door, there were regular crossings, and a great war decimated both humans and Ferishers. The native fae who refused to treat with the invaders faded; their bodies withered and died, stranding them as hungry, angry spirits that haunt the countryside.
That means there’s always trouble brewing in Dorstaad.

Janus Mikani and Celeste Ritsuko work for the Criminal Investigation Department, keeping citizens safe from things that go bump in the night. He’s a hardboiled cynic with an uncanny sixth sense; she’s determined to justify her promotion as the first female detective in her division. Together, they’re trying to keep a black tide from drowning the city.

But when the second body surfaces, murdered with the same type of infernal device, the entire CID must face the truth. There’s a madman on the loose, twining magic and blood… and only Mikani and Ritsuko can unravel the intricate, lethal conspiracy before the Royale killer completes his macabre plan, unleashing old, forbidden magic on an unsuspecting populace. If the maniac succeeds, it could mean the end of everything…

Why Am I Waiting?

Well, again I saw this book spotlighted on a blog, Maja’s The Nocturnal Library here although I recall seeing a more recent post. Still, it sounds like a fabulous stempunk book that definitely has elements of Watson/Holmes for me.

What Are You Waiting On?

22 Comments

Filed under Waiting on Wednesday

22 responses to “Waiting on Wednesday (30)

  1. Yaaaay! I can’t WAIT for people to read this! You’re right, it does have a Holmes/watson feel in the best possible way. She’s a lot like Holmes, and he’s… wow, I have no words for him, he’s just Mikani, and he’s AWESOME!
    One of my blog friends just finished it a few days ago and loved it. I really hope everyone else will too. 🙂

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      I have heard lots of good things from you, so I am most definitely excited now. I hope I enjoy and Mikani sounds great! 🙂

  2. Ohhh this one looks/feels like it’ll be a great book Olivia. The guy in the cover looks a like Matt Smith don’t you think? I also have to ask, is it kind of like a Steampunk book? It gives off that vibe :). Anyways I hope you enjoy it when you read it!

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      Yes, I can definitely see that. Speaking of Matt Smith, Doctor Who is back on Saturday. WOOOO. I take it you’re a fan? Yes, I think it’s a steampunk novel with other elements too. Thanks, dearest! 🙂

      • Ahahha I’m glad that you thought I was a Dr. Who fan, but please don’t hate me when I say I haven’t watched the show. I have a lot of friends who are Dr. Who fans hence why I know about the show. But if I were to get into it do I have to start from the beginning or can I just jump right into a season? Enjoy the show tonight Olivia!!

        • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

          I’d suggest the beginning of a season to jump straight into it really, since they don’t follow on really from previous seasons as such. I’m sure you’d be able to pick it up and get hooked with the new season. I haven’t had time to watch it yet since my parents went out and we usually watch it together, so we tend to always record it. Damn shame!

  3. Ooh, this does sound pretty awesome. I love a good steampunk novel!

  4. I agree – this one looks and sounds fantastic! I want to check out some of Ann Aguirre’s other work first, though, but I’m sure this will just as good as her other novels. 🙂

  5. Bronze Gods sounds like an amazing book Livvy, it’s not something that I would normally read, but ever since Maja spotlighted it, I’ve been eager to get my hands on a copy! Great pick Livvy! 🙂

  6. This does look fantastic! Ann Aguirre is always changing it up, and I’m curious to read her take on steampunk. Great choice 🙂

  7. Okay I WANT this now..AWESOME cover!

  8. Um, this one sounds awesome! I am definitely going to have to check it out. 🙂

    My WoW pick 🙂

  9. I think you’ve made Maja’s day by making this your Wow, lol! She does have splendid taste though. Great pick Livvy. 🙂

  10. I know how much Maja loved this book, and I’ve been curious about it since! It does sound fantastic. And it’s out very soon! At least the wait isn’t too long at all. 🙂

    Brilliant pick, Livvy.

Thanks for dropping by, I really appreciate every single view. If you're a fellow blogger I'll return follows/comments. Unfortunately this is an award and tag free zone because of time constraints, but I appreciate the thought.

