Through the Eyes of a Nerd: Super 8

Through the Eyes of a Nerd

This week I’m taking a look at the combined efforts of television gods, Stephen Spielberg and J. J. Abrams which is Super 8. A science-fiction, thriller-eque, mystery film that has lots of elements that can appeal to everybody.

super8hdh

The simplicity of the posters is something that surprised me when first looking at the film, but I actually really like the understated look because it puts so much more emphasis on the producer and director. After all, the film doesn’t really have any big stars to draw in the audiences, but the skills of these two fabulous guys for me mean they weren’t needed at all and they manage to produce an exciting, engaging film without blockbuster stars.

Super 8 focuses on a American community with a gang of teen friends wanting to create a movie for a competition. It starts out with them sneaking out at night to film as they get the help of a girl from outside the guy gang to help them and drive.

However things go wrong at the train station and the train crashes when a professor drives his car into the train and an explosion occurs. From then out things begin to change and a military invasion puts the town on alert and the deputy Sherriff in a torn position.

What made Super 8 really spectacular for me was the focus on this group of teenagers who were working together but also managed to show different sides from the rather crazy kid who liked fire and explosions (the boy on the far left) to the bossy, demanding leader who was the film “director” (boy in the yellow left). Then when we throw in the deputy’s son Joe (blue coat, right), and the slightly geeky, but wussy boy (orange coat, far right). Then we add in a girl to the mix to cause more tensions and arguments between friends and family troubles which only spices things up and adds another layer to the story that makes it more than just science-fiction.

image-17-ticket-05-08-11-137193102

One of my favourite relationships was between Joe and Alice who is played by Dakota Fanning’s younger sister. Elle Fanning. Looking on now, I can recognise the similarities between those two which I didn’t think of at the time of watching. However Alice and Joe both lived alone with their fathers whilst Joe’s mother had die08d and Alice’s mother had abandoned her and her father. These two certainly grew on me and they connected with each other. It was a rather cute romance and friendship brewing between the two as you could see the genuine care they held for each other. However their relationship was surrounded with the mystery of their father’s hate for each other which was serving to drive them apart. However the parental dynamic did add yet another layer to relationships and plot twists that rounded the whole plot line off nicely.

In terms of the science-fiction element, I could definitely see the touches on J. J. Abrams on the whole plot super 8 cubeand mystery because he never likes to reveal anything too soon and that certainly occurs here! However it adds to the mystery and builds up the suspense to keep you entertained as there is plenty of action going on in the meantime and nothing to be bored about.

I found that the science-fiction wasn’t too complex and could be appealing to both people who are science-fiction fans and those who are less interested. It does certainly touch on aliens and you do need to follow the plot to keep up, but it’s engaging, and refreshing view on aliens in a slightly different way. In addition to this, the young boy Joe is intelligent and brave and manages to connect with the alien in the story. It reminded me a little bit of a more modern version of E.T.

Super 8 was a fantastic film and lived up and surpassed all my expectations. It was about friendship, forgiveness, romance along with trust, bravery and determination at the centre of the teens life. Finally it wrapped in science-fiction and suspense to build up a great climax and had the good old evil military in there to present the rather suspicious conspiracy theories we all love!

 

14 Comments

Filed under Through the Eyes of a Nerd

14 responses to “Through the Eyes of a Nerd: Super 8

  1. I don’t think I’ve heard of Super 8 before your post Livvy. But I agree with you the poster would definitely have me intrigued too, I like ones that hardly give anything away. I think I will have to check this film out after your wonderful review!

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      Ahhh well I’m glad to bring it up on your radar, Jasprit. I missed it at the cinema, but was glad I managed to get the DVD to watch it because it was well worth it. Hope you enjoy it when you check it out! 🙂

  2. I was thinking that this sounded familiar, and then I remember that I had seen some of it already! I just didn’t catch the last third or so — I’ll definitely have to give it a proper watch now after your review. It sounds like my sort of thing and I’m glad you enjoyed it. Lovely review, Livvy!

  3. I remember first seeing the trailers for this one and saying “Woah”. I don’t know why I never watched the movie though! It sounds seriously fantastic. I’m loving how we get to see the group of kids as a cohesive unit, and then see their separate personalities shine as well. And how neat is it that Dakota Fanning’s little sister is acting as well! I had no idea. 😀 The added depth of relationships with her character seems so fantastic- I love when depth is managed to be added in movies, which is no easy feat. The subtle addition of the sci-fi aspect really sounds amazing as well! I mean ALIENS. How could you go wrong?!

    Overall, lovely movie review, Livvy! I’m definitely going to have to rent this movie soon, I’ve actually been craving a good movie to watch lately… 😉

    -Aneeqah @ My Not So Real Life

    • How in the heck haven’t I seen this one?! Massive Sci Fi fan and JJ Abrams is kinda my celebrity crush. So glad you really liked it and now absolutely must get my hands on a copy.
      Fab review, Livvy!

      • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

        WATCH IT NOW! I think it was rather under the radar because it didn’t have big stars, but I really enjoyed it. Thanks, Rebekah! 🙂

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      I know, I didn’t realise who she was until checking the film up later! Nope, definitely not going wrong with aliens! haha.

      Thank you. And I hope you enjoy watching this one Aneeqah! 🙂

  4. I enjoyed this movie as well!

  5. I can’t believe I haven’t seen this yet, it looks so good! I love Abrams and Spielberg, and from your review and these pics, it has a total Stand By Me vibe, but of course, more sci-fi. Awesome review Livvy! I’ll have to Netflix this one over the weekend. 🙂

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      I hope you enjoy it when you get around to watching it because bringing together those two makes one awesome film! 😀

  6. I actually don’t even think I’ve heard of this one but I’m glad it was so good! I’ll have to check it out for sure! 🙂

Thanks for dropping by, I really appreciate every single view. If you're a fellow blogger I'll return follows/comments. Unfortunately this is an award and tag free zone because of time constraints, but I appreciate the thought.

