Paramore

The Auditory and the Aesthetic

This week I’m taking a look at one of my all time favourite bands who first introduced me to the world of rock/indie and got me through my ‘strange’ days of emo-ness during school.

Paramore-paramore-8253970-850-680

So with the release of Paramore’s new album, entitled ‘Paramore’ we have seen a new age of Paramore and whilst I like it, I can safely say that this is the case where I’m missing the old feel of Paramore. Whilst I’m all for bands, diversifying and progressing, I feel like they’ve changed the foundations of Paramore that was more of a rock/indie emo-esque band that introduced me into the rock industry and now they’re bordering the the more mainstream pop rock. Don’t get me wrong, there are still elements of the rock group remaining, but not as much as the old albums.

Its safe to say the departure of brothers Josh and Zac has had an impact on the band, the intensity of the drums and lead guitar that gave a heavy, more rock sound to the music has long gone. Honestly I was pretty gutted when these two decided to leave because I felt that the band couldn’t be the same without them and so far, it’s not been quite the same. That doesn’t mean to say Paramore are bad like many fans have slated, but they are different.

MUS_PopEye_Paramore2_2269

Meet the ‘new’ Paramore consisting of Hayley Williams, Jeremy Davis and Taylor York.

Paramore have taken on something more catchy and funky. They have a wide range of music in their new album from happy and fun to a little slower, and still a little bit of rock in there, but not enough to dominate the album or nearly enough to make it feel like ‘Paramore’.

It’s safe to say that Paramore even borders on a “country” element with ‘Interlude: Moving On’ which is short, but very different. However, I have to admit, Williams’ voice sounds really unique and funky. It adds a lot to the song with the focus on her voice and it was definitely a risk taker, but one that I think pays off.

Then ‘Ain’t it Fun’ reminded me of the old Paramore in places, but then it became a very strong lyrical driven song with collective chorus in the background that made it totally different to the old Paramore. The drums and guitar in the background I felt where more distinct and really good, but not as good as they used to be.  Then ‘Part II’ was very much the strength of old Paramore in their new album, so I definitely don’t think they’ve lost what they were, they’ve just changed and tried some new styles out that shows the versatility of them as a band and the vocal skills of Williams can only be applauded.

I was curious to find out that Hayley Williams is the only signed member of the band to Atlantic Records and that this was in part the reasoning behind the departure of Josh and Zac, the former slating on his blog Hayley and the recording company for manipulating her and seeing Hayley as a solo project. All rather controversial and conspiracy theory filled if you ask me. 

However despite all this, I’m definitely still a Paramore fan and curious to where they will be going in future, I think they still hold a lot of promise and touches of their old self was still present in places. And I am thankful the three remaining have decided to stay together and not disband as the music industry would be a lot different without them. I haven’t lost hopes that we’ll get a spunky, rocky songs yet again from them that’s filled full of angst and has me falling in love all over again if we get a new drummer and guitarist to add back to the ‘Paramore’ that once existed.

I’ll leave you with one of their newest songs, ‘Still Into You’ which is incredibly catchy, but not the rock you may remember which I think I’d like more if I knew the album consisted of more rock!

ParamoreParamore

15 Comments

Filed under The Auditory and the Aesthetic

15 responses to “Paramore

  1. I’m a massive fan of Paramore but they’ve definitely changed and not for the better. Although I really liked the self-titled album, it doesn’t feel like them as you said. I miss the All We Know Is Falling days 😦 Miss the Farro brothers so much because I think they were the ones that kept Paramore as it started out: a rock band. So without them there to bring things back on track, it’s moved over to mainstream pop 😦
    Great post, Livvy!

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      Yes, probably the Farro brothers put up more fight to the industry and record label, whereas Hayley who is the only one signed, won’t… Thanks, Rebekah! 🙂

  2. I love that you’ve done a review of one of your fave bands! I was introduced to Paramore thanks to the Twilight soundtrack and then I went and got the two albums they had out at the time. I really like their sound so now I’m interested to hear what they sound like now

  3. It’s such a shame that Paramore have gone more mainstream, I really liked their old music – Decode was the first song of theirs I listened to thanks to Twilight, and even in just looking at that and Still Into You, there’s such a massive difference. I definitely miss their old-style music. 😦 Fab post, Livvy, thanks for sharing! 🙂

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      It is, yup, Decode was one of the first songs I heard! I do like Still Into You, but not because it’s Paramore. 🙂

  4. I have never heard of this band! I felt that way about Tori Amos..loved her early stuff and her later stuff just went kind of crazy..

  5. I hate when band members leave and the band is never really the same! I haven’t really listend to too much Paramore, but like Mandee, I did love their song on the Twilight soundtrack! I’ll have to check out their older stuff as well as the new and see what I like more. Thanks for sharing, and I love your write up! 🙂

  6. Oh, I adore Paramore! Lately I’ve gone audiobook crazy, so I pretty much stopped listening to music altogether, but Paramore, Linkin Park, System of a Down.. those are my go-to bands. And I do adore Careful. It’s such a beautiful, energetic song.

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      Linkin Park are a fab band too! I don’t listen a lot to them Maja, but they are brill. Ahhh, I couldn’t live without my music! 🙂

  7. I also first became introduced to their music through the Twilight soundtrack, and my cousin was a really big fan of theirs for a while. That’s What You Get was one of the songs included in Rock Band 2, and we used to LOVE playing it, lol.

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      It seems like a great way to bring people to their music from those films. Great song! 🙂 haha.

  8. I used to adore Paramore, but agree that a lot of their material now is bordering on mainstream pop-rock (and I prefer the older feel of the band). My sister, on the other hand, has only just started to like them more now, which makes me wonder if it’s a generational thing. You make some great points Livvy and thanks for sharing the video!

Thanks for dropping by, I really appreciate every single view. If you're a fellow blogger I'll return follows/comments. Unfortunately this is an award and tag free zone because of time constraints, but I appreciate the thought.

