St. Ives, Summer Reads and Substantial Books

Morning guys,

So. I know I have just recently returned to blogging and I have only been back for a very short time. However, I am being taken on holiday by my friend to Cornwall, St. Ives only for a week. Therefore I will be back very shortly and I have reviews stacked up for my return anyway.

CornwallStIves_Purch_Crp

This will be my first trip to Cornwall, so I am very excited. It looks incredibly beautiful and I look forward to snapping lots of photos and sharing my pictures with you when I get back. However, I have a long 8 hours in the car to get there, so I thought I’d have a little look at the “big” book and my fear of it as they tend to be the type of thing you read on a long car journey to pass times.

The “Big” Book

The “BIG” book in my view is a book that surpasses around 500 pages. These are the most daunting things you can possibly imagine because I have yet to finish one. Why do I have this ludicrous, inane fear? A question I don’t have an answer for.

Although, I do fear my attention span sometimes is that of a gnat, which is why I tend to read 3 or 4 books at once. I find myself liking to flit between plot lines, worlds and scenarios, in particular when a book is longer than 300 pages.

However, why is still that I never finished a “BIG” book? What do you think to “BIG” books?

E-books are maybe the way forward with “BIG” books I sometimes think. After all, you won’t have all the heavy weight, there won’t be the size to look at (although I will still be guilty of tracking the percentage read – so I don’t think that will help much) and it’s just easier to hold too. After all, trying to balance 700+ pages in your hands to read is never an easy task. Especially when it comes to reading in bed, it’s practically impossible to sustain holding the book above your head!

Elantris and A Game of Thrones are two books I’m dying to read because I’ve heard so much about them and they are both sat on my shelf, weighing in down in their ginormous size.

Elantris UKGame of Thrones

Therefore as part of a personal challenge to myself, I am going to try and push by the psychological constraints that prevent me from finishing a “BIG” book to try and read one of these or both of these over summer.

See you in a week!

7 Comments

Filed under Rambles

7 responses to “St. Ives, Summer Reads and Substantial Books

  1. I hope you have a fantastic holiday! 🙂 I was daunted by the size of A Game of Thrones when I first started reading it, lol. Once I got into it, though, it really didn’t seem that big, and I read all four books that were out at the time consecutively. It took me quite a while, but every one was so worth reading! Good luck!

  2. I admire your resolve to read the BIG books! 🙂 I have a hard time sitting down with the brick books, and often start and stop so I can get back into my TBR pile, but then I lose my place. Hope you’re able to enjoy them this summer. Have a great trip! 🙂

  3. Enjoy the holiday. The weather is going to be amazing 🙂

  4. I know I’m late here, but I hope you had a great vacation! Cornwall looks like a great place to visit. 🙂

    I’m also eager to hear how you fared with the “big” books! I pretty much want to gobble up every Brandon Sanderson book I can find, so I’m curious about Elantris.

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      Cornwall was a wonderful place to visit and I loved every second. I’m doing a big post on Friday about my adventures – a babbly post I must add.

      Yes, well I haven’t started with either of those two yet, but I’m reading Anna Karenina, which is 1000 pages long!

Thanks for dropping by, I really appreciate every single view. If you're a fellow blogger I'll return follows/comments. Unfortunately this is an award and tag free zone because of time constraints, but I appreciate the thought.

