St. Ives.

Hey Guys,

So holiday was fantastic! I was so busy every day, so unfortunately I hardly had time to read at all because I was visiting lots of different sites and then soaking up the sun on the beach. Unfortunately soaking up the sun had little effect on my skin and I remain as pasty as ever and just more ginger!

However, I visited some great places for my first trip to Cornwall and thoroughly enjoyed it.

P7061122

On the first day we visited Cheddar Gorge which is a very quaint village that is utterly beautiful! There was lots of cheese places for the famous Cheddar cheese made there and there were some caves. Unfortunately we didn’t go in the caves because of time and it was daylight extortion!

However, we did have icecream whilst we were there, which was very yummy!

P7061123

I had quite a few icecreams whilst I was in Cornwall and I enjoyed every one of them! I have a huge sweet spot for icecream and it’s even better to eat it when the weather is sooooo warm!

We had 22 degrees Celsius upwards everyday! That might not sound very warm to some of you, but when our summer last year was 14 degrees, it was bliss this year along with hitting 35!

P7071138

 

We stayed in a caravan site in Hayle, but regularly on an evening drove into St. Ives which had an absolutely gorgeous bay and beach. It was bustling with lots of bars, restaurants and shops and we had a few really fabulous meals whilst we were there!

While we were there we visited Flambards the mini-theme park where one of the spiny rides really didn’t agree with me! But it’s also cross with a museum that has a WWII exhibition that has a plane that has lots of buttons to push and seats to sit in so my friend and me had a fabulous time! Then there was a Victorian street that was fabulous when you walked around and saw all the styles and things of the era!

P7081154

 

Lands End was a site we visited too. Only 3147 miles from New York!

After Lands End we went to visit an open air theatre called Minack Theatre which one woman on her own managed to build with a little bit of help from a friend and it was absolutely stunning!

P7081160

 

 

 

We visited St. Michael’s Mount which is a castle on top of a hill and was beautiful! Although trekking up the hill really was a hard visit.

P7091179

 

Finally for the end of the week we visited Newquay where we went to the sealife centre and I saw Dory, a turtle, Nemo and lots of other fabulous creatures.

I had my first ever pasty in Cornwall – which was absolutely delicious. I definitely recommend eating a pasty if you ever go to Cornwall because they are their delicacies!

And I bought a hoodie for £5 which was an absolute steal and hopefully will keep me lovely and warm in summer.

Finally on the way home, we visited Paignton Zoo which was huge and had fantastic enclosures for their animals that were realistic and spacious. They had lions and monkeys which are my two favourite animals! They also had tonnes of peacocks and peahens. They had Mandy and Randy the two red Pandas (below) – that made me laugh a lot. Amongst lots of other fabulous creatures!

P7131277P7131276

Mandy and Randy.

Overall, it was a fabulous week, with great weather, yummy food and lots of sightseeing. I definitely recommend taking a trip to Cornwall if you ever visit England or ever fancy a holiday at home!

11 Comments

Filed under Rambles

11 responses to “St. Ives.

  1. Glad you had a great vacation! The beach looks absolutely beautiful! And I love the sign that tells you how many miles it is to NY. 🙂

  2. This was really fun to read! I’m glad you had a great time; I also enjoyed all of the pictures, and the red pandas look adorable! 🙂

    Alice @ Alice in Readerland

  3. The view from St Michael’s Mount looks stunning! I haven’t been to Cornwall before, but know that I think about it, it would be a great place to visit without having to go abroad. I’m glad you had such a great time! Thanks for sharing the great photographs. 🙂

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      It was beautiful. You should definitely take the chance to visit Cornwall because it is such a beautiful part of the country! 🙂

  4. What a fabulous holiday, Livvy!! I love your pictures by the sea. That outdoor theater view is breathtaking! Randy and Mandy are sooo cute! Their names crack me up. 🙂

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      It certainly is and was a fabulous holiday! Yes, they cracked me up too which is why I had to mention it! 🙂

  5. Glad you’re having a great vacation – all of the sites you posted in your pictures look fabulous! Also, peacocks are pulchritudinous; those pandas are quite perfect too.

  6. Wow, what beautiful pictures! Glad you had such a lovely holiday. And don’t worry, you’re not the only one the sun skips over. I can’t seem to get a tan no matter how long I’m in the sun. 🙂

Thanks for dropping by, I really appreciate every single view. If you're a fellow blogger I'll return follows/comments. Unfortunately this is an award and tag free zone because of time constraints, but I appreciate the thought.

