Return to Blogging

PREVIOUSLY NERDY BOOK REVIEWS.

Dear friends,

I am so abysmally sorry for my disappearance over the past year. Things have been incredibly hectic, with starting my first year of University, making new friends, a new home and an all new set of studying. However, hopefully now, I am intending to try and balance my life out more successfully and return to blogging because having returned to actually reading much more lately, I realise how much I love and have missed talking about books.

Although, you may be realising something different, my blog has changed names. I am no longer blogging under the title Nerdy Book Reviews, but in fact ‘The Absent Historian’. The name change came about in terms of a change in myself upon my entering University, where, coincidentally I am studying History! So I will hope you realise that me, Liv, the book nerd is still about, just under a new title!

Thirdly, I am going to do a brief overview, of what I have been doing in the past year! I have managed to be very lucky and have visited some absolutely beautiful places recently. I managed to make a trip to both Iceland, and Barcelona over Summer which were both very different, but fun experiences. I’ll be doing a brief overview of some of the new books I have, some books I am looking forward to reading, and I would like to state, I have quite a few book reviews in the back log that I have been preparing ready to post. So hopefully I will not be leaving you guys waiting for long!

Summer Holidays

Barcelona

photo 1

I managed to visit quite a few of the big sights in Barcelona, taking a trip to Camp Nou, the football stadium (an interesting, but very valuable experience and one I would recommend as it was really interesting!). Gaudi’s Sagrada Familia, the Zoo, the Olympic Stadium and pool, alongside the Magic Fountain where there is a grand palace that is now an art museum.

Barcelona itself was an incredibly beautiful city, and had some gorgeous architecture when it came to just buildings on the street. I definitely fell in love with the city and its style.

photo 2Inside Gaudi's Church.

In addition to this, I was quite adventurous in terms of trying the local delicacies and had paella for the first time, with both seafood and chicken, where I tried squid, calamari, prawns, and muscles which was quite the experience for me. Personally, I have discovered squid tentacles are disgustingly chewy and rubbery and I will be staying away! Although prawns have definitely won me over, and I think I’d be able to cope with the occasional muscle.

Overall, the trip to Barcelona was lots of new experiences and lots of fun! It also happened to be my first trip abroad without my parents, so it was certainly a lesson in self-responsibility!

Iceland

photo 3

Secondly this year, I got to visit Iceland with my family, where I stayed in the capital Reykjavik for 4 days. I managed to wander around the city in one afternoon, visit the blue lagoon, a small volcanic island of the south coast of Iceland, and visited waterfalls, national parks, geysers and craters. In terms of the natural landscape, some areas of Iceland were absolutely stunning, and I fell in love with the natural beauty of the island, and I definitely recommend it for a trip to anyone!

photo 2

Also, it was genuinely a very relaxing place, and easy way of life that resulted in me coming back incredibly stress free and chilled which was excellent.

photo 5

I did not try any Icelandic delicacies whilst I was there because shark, different types of fish and cute little puffins are not the type of food I want to eat! However, I had some lovely meals, and tried my first ever Thai food, at a lovely little Thai restaurant just in the capital. So again, a holiday of new experiences.

New Books

photo 3photo 5

Being a poor student, I have not really been able to afford buying as many books, and getting a kindle, I have switched to getting a few more e-books just because of the sheer amount of books I own and lack of space. However, I have managed to get my hands on these goodies lately.

I have finally picked up George R. R. Martin’s series A Song of Ice and Fire and currently I am reading A Clash of Kings so I am super excited to get further into this series! Then I managed to pick up the next three really cheaply, with all three only costing £5 in one of the local bargain book stores! After seeing Wicked as a musical at the theatre I am incredibly excited to get stuck into it, because I literally fell in love with the storyline. Hopefully I’ll enjoy the next couple of Mortal Instrument books too!

Summary

So, I have very little left to say, except I am looking forward to my return into the blogging sphere, which hopefully I will be enjoying much more after my lengthy break, and I thank all my friends for sticking with me! Hope you are all well.

Much love,

Liv.

16 Comments

Filed under Rambles

16 responses to “Return to Blogging

  1. Inge @ Bookshelf Reflections

    Great to have you back, Olivia!

  2. Wow! I envious of all your travels! It took me a minute btw to figure out who you were LOL Welcome back! I love Game of Thrones, the books are amazing!

    • Livvy @The Absent Historian

      Haha, I should probably make it clearer somewhere, oppsie! And thanks. Yeah, I am really enjoying them so far! 🙂

  3. So glad to see you back blogging! 😀 Your travel photos are amazing; Barcelona and Iceland look like such beautiful places to visit! And a big yay for A Song of Ice and Fire! I absolutely LOVE those books (and the T show!)- enjoy reading the rest of them!

    • Livvy @The Absent Historian

      Thanks Lee! They really are, and I recommend a visit if you ever get the chance. Yes, I’m starting on the TV show too, but I want to get ahead with the books first, thank you! 🙂

  4. Hey, good to see you back again! What a lovely summer of travels. I read Wicked and was not as in to it as I had hoped, I’m not sure how closely the play resembles it either. But perhaps you will love it. 🙂

    • Livvy @The Absent Historian

      Hey, thank you! And oh dear, that is disappointing, hopefully I will enjoy it, but I have heard a few mixed reviews on it!

  5. Welcome back to blogging, Liv! It’s like you have a whole new persona! I’m envious of all the great places you’ve visited this summer. Thanks for sharing your awesome photos- traveling is the best. I’ve always wanted to visit Reykjavik, and Barcelona looks lovely.
    Happy reading! I need to catch up on the last two Mortal Instruments books myself 🙂

    • Livvy @The Absent Historian

      Thank you Lucy! Ahh, well hopefully I won’t be too different, I just fancied a bit of a change with the relaunch. Travelling is definitely lots of fun! And thanks again, I still need to catch up with the third Mortal Instruments book so that should be fun! 🙂

  6. I just met you haha but I’m glad you seem to be back again. 😛 Also, what carrer do you want to perform after university? (I hope my question makes sense because somehow I have difficulty with structuring work related sentences!!)

    • Livvy @The Absent Historian

      haha, thank you! And hmm difficult question really. Possibly something in government, I don’t really know exactly, I’m studying History so there are a few possible avenues for me to go down! And you make perfect sense.

      • Governement? Wow, that’s great! I remember wanting to be a lawyer but in Canada the studies are so difficult and we have TWO laws, in French AND in English–it’s complicated actually. I hope you find your way and something you will love. ^^

        • Livvy @The Absent Historian

          Ahh law was definitely something I wanted to do, but coming to Uni has changed that. I imagine two laws would have been ridiculously complicated! And awww thank you! 😀

  7. Yey welcome back to the blogosphere! I definitely get school getting in the way, but I feel like reading and blogging is such a good stress relief too so hopefully you can find balance and fun times in both 😉

    • Livvy @The Absent Historian

      Yes, I hope I certainly can because I enjoy blogging and talking to people and I have another outlet to talk and converse about things I love! 🙂

Thanks for dropping by, I really appreciate every single view. If you're a fellow blogger I'll return follows/comments. Unfortunately this is an award and tag free zone because of time constraints, but I appreciate the thought.

