Walking Disaster

Walking DisasterWalking Disaster by Jamie Maguire

Series: Beautiful #2

Genre: New-Adult, Contemporary, Romance

The Plot
Walking Disaster for those of you who have read Beautiful Disaster is basically a retelling of that from Travis’ perspective and for those of you who are yet to read Beautiful Disaster (although I would not recommend it), it is a novel recounted from the perspective of the male love interest, a boy with severe issues.  This novel depicts an obsessive, controlling and frankly disturbing tale of ‘romance’ in which violence, possessiveness and drugs, drinking and gambling all appeared to be advocated in young-adults to excessive qualities. Read with caution.

The ReviewWhat was I thinking? Starting Walking Disaster seemed like such a good idea at the time, however after making my way into this book, my opinion descended rapidly, within the first few pages. However I continued the torture of reading and repeating the events of everything that happened in the first book with a painful expression. By 60% I was losing the will to live, but for some reason I continued and skim read largely to the end. I guess part of me would hope Walking Disaster would be able to redeem itself from the first book, however it just made the experience ten times worse. There is absolutely no need for the first book to be rewritten from the perspective of Travis. In fact,  being inside his head just made the whole experience worse. Travis is beyond the worst example for a boyfriend to the young-adult population. He is a controlling, possessive and violent individual who supports the view that it is acceptable to pick up your ex-girlfriend and carry her through a party because some other guy danced with her, after punching him. He has a very negative attitude off the female population that is derogatory and demeaning and when this is written by a female author I frankly find it disgusting. Not only does she continue to promote themes of violence, excessive drinking and gambling, but she presents a very archaic, cave-man approach to man and a very bad relationship ideal. NO girl should aim to find a boyfriend like Travis and the thought of people seeing him as acceptable makes my stomach want to turn.
Pigeon or Abby annoyed the living daylights out of me. She continued to allow herself to be deluded by Travis, fell into all of his traps and basically led him along in an unnecessary string of angst and pain. It was physically frustrating to read. I do not honestly understand her thought patterns even when I read Beautiful Disaster. She is almost certainly not a strong individual or a type of girl anybody should ever aspire to be!

The plot… What plot? There is no direction with this novel. It is fully a teenage angst drama that deals with two individuals breaking up, crying, drinking and going wild and then getting back together, then breaking up again. The two appear to continue to fight and basically hurt each other intentionally because they can.
I will not ever be reading another Jamie McGuire book and I can safely say, I am so utterly sorry for ever starting this series. In this case my curiosity for bad books, this was a very bad decision. I just warn you all away.

The Rating: 1 / 5 Stars

Goodreads ~ Amazon UK / US ~ Author’s Website 

12 Comments

Filed under 1 Book, 2013 Publication, Atria Books, Contemporary, E-book, Jamie McGuire, New-Adult, Romance

12 responses to “Walking Disaster

  1. I’m impressed you read this one at all after not really liking BD. I’m reading McGuire’s latest book (a spinoff this series) and it’s slow-going. Not sure if this author is for me either.

    • Livvy @The Absent Historian

      Yeah, I am surprised at myself really! Oh, well I won’t be picking up that book. But I guess some authors are not for us.

  2. I unlike you enjoyed BD but when i started reading WD i kept rolling my eyes every five minutes. It was the exact same story with the exact same dialogue and two or three bonus scenes, i wasn’t all that impressed but I did end up enjoying the epilogue that went years into the future. THAT was interested! I’m sorry this one wasn’t for you! Heopfully you enjoy your next read more!

    • Livvy @The Absent Historian

      Yeah I think that is what made it so much worse, it was like a bad copy and paste job with like a jump to the future that was interesting, but I did not care for it at that point.

  3. Oh, that’s too bad. I actually had this series on my TBR for a long time now…Hm…I’m not a big fan of NA books but this series is so popular! I have to read it just so I can make my mind about it, you know? It’s such a mystery for me now. Anyway, sorry you didn’t like it and it’s a good thing though that you gave the series a second chance. ^^

    • Livvy @The Absent Historian

      I know exactly what you mean, the first book has very similar dialogue to the second, just adding a different perspective, so whatever you feel for the first one, I do not think your opinion will change much.

  4. I actually loved BD when I read it 3 years ago, but I have no idea what my reaction would be today. I have such a low tolerance for drama nowadays. I made the mistake of reading WD as well and I didn’t much care for it either, Livvy. I disliked Abby immensely after finishing. Sorry this series didn’t work for you. Great honest review. 🙂

    • Livvy @The Absent Historian

      I doubt you would have a favourable reaction Rachel, but I think especially after book blogging, the tolerance for ‘bad books/drama/bad qualities’ has definitely lowered and I have become much more selective about what I like in books.

  5. Oh, that’s such a shame. I hate it when a book has all the potential in the world but really fails in its follow-through. It sounds like this one is a bit too haphazard for me, but I appreciate your honest review!

  6. Marianne @ Boricuan Bookworms

    HA! “At 60% I was losing the will to live” I laughed so hard. Anyways, it’s such a shame you didn’t like this one. I haven’t read BD so I can’t really say anything. I’ll read it one day and tell you how I feel, lol!

Thanks for dropping by, I really appreciate every single view. If you're a fellow blogger I'll return follows/comments. Unfortunately this is an award and tag free zone because of time constraints, but I appreciate the thought.

